We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beachview
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphins View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 4 Beachview B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Guest House”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I have just returned to Scotland following a fabulous week staying at Dolphins View Guest House. My room (apartment 1) was spotless, spacious and beautifully decorated with the added personal touch of a teddy bear on my bed. The room, complete with it's own large balcony, bathroom, kitchen and living area, had a stunning view of the Indian ocean and, like other reviewers, I witnessed dolphins playing in the waves daily. The bed was extremely comfortable and waking up to gentle sounds of the waves was bliss!

You will not find a better hostess than the wonderful Elaine who warmly welcomes all into Dolphins View. Her friendly nature and massive heart makes the place feel like a home away from home and you will be planning your next visit before you even leave!

Located around 20 minutes by car from Port Elizabeth city centre, Dolphins View is easily accessible to the city but a peaceful retreat for those wishing for a quick escape from its hustle and bustle. The guest house is also a short drive away from fabulous local attractions including Seaview Lion Park, SAMREC (African Penguin rehab centre) and Kragga Kamma Game Reserve.

Thank you Dolphins View Guest House for making my South African adventure so special!

Room Tip: I got a look at all the rooms - all are beautiful! If in doubt ask Elaine when booking and she'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheenabee_x90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    5
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
33
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plochingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The guesthouse is placed in a wondeful village outside of Port Elisabeth - quiet and direct at the oceanside. A sand beach 25km long is close to the b+b. The name is well done - we have seen more than 50 dolphins from our room!
The rooms are very clean and Elaine gives you from the very first minute the feeling, that you are at home... wounderful, we will come back!

A German couple
Brigitte and Harald

Room Tip: no. 1 and 3 are the giggest rooms, but all rooms have the seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

After spending a week traveling in the southern part of South Africa we found our way to Dolphins View Guesthouse and were welcomed by a wonderful hostess - Elaine - she was so warm and friendly. Our room was spacious , clean, and had a wonderful ocean view. That evening Elaine prepared a diner for us which was quite tastey. We spent the entire evening visiting and sharing stories with much laughter. We would recomend this guesthouse to anyone. Thanks Elaine!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugratOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This guest house is home away from home,peaceful beautiful views of the ocean and viewed lots of dolphins from our balcony.Elaine makes you feel at home and the platters are a tasty treat every day i highly recommend this guest house
Eugene & Ina

Room Tip: Check the virtual tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ina-eugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This is our 3rd year staying at Dolphin View which is testament to Elaine's high standards. Accommodation is spotless and Elaine goes the extra mile to ensure a great memorable experience. Fantastic dolphin sighting. The view is breathtaking and rejuvenating. We highly recommend Dolphin's View.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I travel all over the country for work and staying at Dolphins View is always an enjoyable experience. Beautiful, clean rooms with fantastic ocean views and the soft sound of the sea filling the room makes falling asleep a dream. I always enjoy lighting a fire and having a drink while gazing out over the ocean with the sun setting behind it. I will always return again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I visited this guesthouse again on my trip to South Africa and I wasn't disappointed. Elaine has kept up the same standards as I found on my previous visit. Dolphinsview is situated on the beachfront and is certainly aptly named as we saw dophins frolicking in the sea everyday, we also saw whales. The rooms are very clean and comfortable furnished with all the amenities that you need for a pleasant stay. Elaine is very friendly and makes sure that you have everything that you need. I will certainly stay here again on my next holiday in SA,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dolphins View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins View Guest House

Property: Dolphins View Guest House
Address: 4 Seestrand Way, Beachview, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Beachview
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beachview
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering suites with the option of meals (with notice). All accommodation is sea facing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing