We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Peach of a Pomegranate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Il Melograno
Ranked #1 of 1 Pianello B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DARDAGO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Peach of a Pomegranate!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a wonderful find, though placing it in Perugia is incorrect. It is quite a ways out, in Pianello. You will not soon be climbing the hills of Perugia after walking out the door of the hotel. That said, it is a wonderful place, with beautiful views from its hilltop location. We love "rustic" and this place has it in spades - although all the necessary things - bathroom, etc. - are quite modern. The boss is simply extraordinary. The kitchen was closed our first night there and we opted to make a picnic. He graciously laid out a cutting board, plates, knives, napkins and glasses for us. What class! The 25 Euro meal is a steal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    90
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
220
220
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Weekend of January 19-21, 2013 stayed at Il Melograno. Though this is actually low season and the restaurant was closed, the Manager went out of his way to take care of us. They had a wonderful wood pellet stove in the closed restaurant which he opened to us for the evening and allowed us to stay and read, drink some wine and have some amazing desserts Italian style. Their house wine named after the Hotel was scrumptious. Rooms were very comfortable, fabulous pressure in the shower and an amaging view looking out over the valley. Great location in order to see surrounding areas with Gubbio, Assisi, Norcia, Perugia very close by. Summertime would be wonderful there with their pool, outdoor seating areas and hilltop view. Highly recommend and cant wait to go back and try the restaurant in season! Would return even in low season for the wonderful staff, pleasant rooms and the fireplace wood stove!

Room Tip: I didnt spend alot of time in the room but recommend the second floor for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have lived in Italy for nearly 3 years, and when we want to escape to paradise, this is where we go. We've been at least 8-10 times. It's the best food we've ever had - you must eat dinner here every night if you come! 5 course spectacular dinner for 25 Euro! The apetizer plate alone can fill you up with 10 different and creative items to taste! The same meal in the US would easily be $100. Spectacular views. Right between Assisi & Perugia. It's like a dream walking through the beautiful grounds. The kids love visiting the different animals, swimming in the pool, playing on the playground, and of course, riding the pony! The family speaks no English, but they are lovely, and patient, and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but really, we spend very little time in them because being outside here is what's really special. I hate to give away my secret paradise, but these guys deserve as much business as they can take on. We've enjoyed our visits in every season, but our favorite is between November and February when truffles are in season!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyProTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Il Melograno in July. The place is beutifully situated at the top of a hill overlooking the valley below. The buildings are all nicely renovated and are very well kept. The rooms are adequate even though the bathrooms are small (classic room). They are spotless and were cleaned everyday, with new towels in the bathroom also. In fact it was the service and willingness of all the staff to make our stay very enjoyable that made the holiday for us. The food is another aspect. We read good things about the food, here on TA, but it exceeded our hopes. Our five year old daughter was made very welcome and she enjoyed herself a lot, especially with the waiters Fabio and Fillipe, who made it memorable for us all. The new pool is a great addition even though the landscaping was not completed. We hope to return again and enjoy all the facilities and meet all the people at Il Melograno again sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerHOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Il Melograno is well positioned, between Perugia and Assisi (20 min) and can easily be reached by car. There is even a smaller airport near by which was until recently only used for national flights. The place is idyllic up on a hill overlooking the valley. There is a beautiful playground for children which must have only recently been built as everything looked very new. Our children loved it. In addition it’s like being on a little farm. There are chicken, sheep and a pony to ride on. A swimming pool should be built in a near future as they are waiting permissions for building it. The owners are absolutly fantastic people, warm and welcoming. It’s a family run business were everyone has its tasks and everyone is just very friendly and always trying to help. The rooms are just fine from a size perspective, always very clean and there are always fresh bottles of waters when the rooms are cleaned. The dinner at the Melograno is a culinary experience and probably a highlight. Food is very good and portions are rich and big. The place is well known around the area and many locals go there for dinner as it is always full. The waiters were absolutly adorable. They played with our kids despite being constantly busy. Breakfast could be improved. Its very basic and is limited to several freshly made pies, cakes and dry bread. All in all however it was a great experience. Thank you Marco and all the staff for the great experience!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MasterMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pianello
6.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
3.5 mi away
Relais San Clemente
Relais San Clemente
#1 of 1 in Bosco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
10.7 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
17.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ripa Relais
Ripa Relais
#2 of 112 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Melograno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Melograno

Property: Agriturismo Il Melograno
Address: Strada Colle Palazzone n. 4, 06134 Pianello, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > Pianello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pianello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agriturism Il Melograno is an ancient and charming farmhouse in the green Umbrian countryside, where hospitality, authenticity and nature mix to create a unique atmosphere for our Guests. From the ancient structure 11 rooms have been created, with a refined taste and comfort, perfectly consistent with its way of being. The Farmhouse Il Melograno will allow you to live a unique experience also for services, recreational activities, aspects of farming life, cooking classes, horse riding for children, panoramic pool and our Wellness Area. Strategically situated among the city of St. Francis Assisi in 15 Kms away, the historic center of Perugia, rich of art and culture or the medieval Gubbio in 20 minutes by car as well as the fascinating Spoleto in 30 ones. For all a chance to share with friends and family any sort of interesting experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Il Melograno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing