We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last . . . Incredible India”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jhaltola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Misty Mountains
Ranked #1 of 1 Jhaltola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At last . . . Incredible India”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have just had the the most fantastic 15 day stay at Misty Mountains. Madhur and his wife Ambika were the perfect hosts and wonderfully interesting and fun people. Their staff gave us non-stop five star service. When we weren't eating great meals, we were hiking all the trails in the oak and rhodo forest. The area is teeming with birds and wildlife and the views of the mountains are stunning. It is a rare gem in India - quiet, very comfortable and lovely cottages. This unspoilt area is incredible India! Thank you, thank you.

Room Tip: We loved the small cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themistymountains, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Dianne and Ray,

"life is a river" :) Absolutely loved having you guys around. Especially the conversations and the endless anecdotes from your travel all around the world. Really value your feedback and look forward to seeing you here next year.

cheers!

madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This place has the best views of the Himalayan ranges of gharwal & Kumaon( Have been to Ranikhet, Kausani, Binsar, Roopkund, and areas in Gharwal.
Excellent location, great cottages & facilities, homely food, and well so much to do around. One can take a trip to Patal Bhuvneshwar caves, or the Birhti Falls enroute to Munsiyari or well the Jungle trek to Lamkeshwar Mahadev that start just behind the resort. If nothing just take a book laze on a hammock with a grand view of the himalayas. Highly recommended if you are going out in a group. One can take the morning train and halt at Binsar and reach the resort the next day. Alternatively take the overnight train and drive 7-8 hours to reach the resort in the day.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Rosevilla Suites that are new and the best of the lot for couples with children( We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themistymountains, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback Sir. I hope we would have the pleasure of hosting you again sometime.

regards,

madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This trip was planned to be with nature.....and it turned out to be the perfect place. Those who want to be away from the rat race of life wiLL find complete solitude here....no internet connectivity....no phones....no TV....just the brilliant sun...the hammocks...the chilled wind...the glowing angeethis.....just bliss!

From the cook who made the wonderful home food...to the driver who went up- down with ease and got the guests up that grueling dirt track :) ....to the house boys who ran about the resort with the hot water bottles...to Ambika and Madhur, the wonderful hosts....the warmth and friendliness oozed from them all. For the team each guest is important and special and everyones special needs are catered for.

Not to miss points....the masala maggie and the night treks- nothing to beat them both!!!

But one disappointment....we didnt get to see the Leopard....he didnt show his spots!!! But we will be back soon to catch him some day....lazing on that rock that he so likes.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themistymountains, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Sharan ,

Thank you for your kind words :)

We saw pug marks of a female leopard and two cubs in the snow up at Lamkeshwar. Hopefully we will get to see them soon. May be with you around!

warm regards,

madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This place has got some amazing reviews..but to be honest I got a bit scared when I read one of the reviewers comment that this place is not worth the distance..thankfully that did not make us cancel the trip otherwise we would have missed this unforgettable experience..

We were a group of 3 couples and we wanted to go to a place which was away from the hustle bustle of city..It couldn’t get any better for us. We stayed in a group cottage where each of us had a separate bedroom and a big common living room..the rooms are very cozy and comfortable with an amazing view of the Himalayas.

Me and my husband were travelling from Mumbai..so it was a really long journey for us..my advice to anyone visiting Misty Mountains is do not plan a rushed vacation..make a plan to stay there for at least 4-5 days..

They have so much to offer that you can plan your holiday the way you want..Adventures, picnics, birding or if you are like us, you can spend all days happily doing nothing :)

We were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality, cleanliness and the maintenance of the place. The staff is very helpful. A special mention to the lovely hosts – Madhur and Ambika…they have set-up a beautiful home there and it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy_J_IR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Nancy,

Thank you for a positive feedback on your stay with us. And a especial thanks to all of you for making the New year celebrations colorful and lively!

Hope to see you call here again sometime.:)

regards,

madhur and ambika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have traveled quite a bit in Garhwal and Himachal. But this was my first extensive trip to Kumaon (apart from Nainital and nearby areas where I have been quite a few times). We decided to stay at Misty as this place was suggested by a friend.
We decided on three destinations on our 9 day trip by road from Delhi. We chose to stay at Misty as 2nd destination as driving straight from Delhi can be a bit too much (unless you take a train to Kathgodam and then taxi). But then, I guess that is the usp of this place, if this had been easy drive from Delhi, it would have lost its serenity.
We reached misty via a interesting last 3 km stretch which can test your driving skills because there is very little margin to err. Once we reached Misty, I would have to say that, it was one of the most beautiful locations I have stayed at (apart from my trekking trips). Room was neat and service is very good. Food is buffet style but cooking is excellent so you actually enjoy the limited palate. There are quite a few things you can do once you are at Misty, easy day hikes, play some TT, carrom, Badminton with friends or one can just sit and relax and gaze at mighty peaks all day.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax, do some photography and spend some quite and quality time with family and/or friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moradabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Savor nature’s beauty at its soothing best… @ The Misty Mountains, Jhaltola.
Imagine an intimate resort that lets you get away from it all. You can have everything here.. dreamy, lazy days, basking in the soothing gentleness of nature, gazing at the changing hues of the Himalayas swaying gently on the hammocks, total rejuvenation, a feast on sumptuous cuisine, simple yet incredible entertainment in Pant ji’s melodious voice et al.
I was at the Misty Mountains to ring in the New Year with family and friends where we were pampered with the finest indulgences by the owner of the resort, Mr. Madhur Chabra. Missed the expected snowfall but had a gr8 time. I have no words to describe the majestic , breathtaking and ever changing views of the Himalayas that you get right from the comfort of your cozy bed in the elegantly designed Rosevilla suites. Seeing is believing…
Power supply was a big problem during our stay and something needs to be done about the risky approach road but overall it was like being in Paradise. A never before, total holiday experience.
And to top it all the biggest bonanza was the very reasonable and modest tariff.
Vineet Anand
Moradabad

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VineetMalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Mr. Anand,

Thank you for your kind words. Its heartening to know that you had a good time here with us. :)

You are right about the road and we are improving it by and by with every season. Since it is a jungle road of 3 kms, there is only so much we can do though. However, we do make it a point to send an escort vehicle to Ram Mandir from where the dirt road starts to neutralize any problems.

As for power backup, we do provide it for lighting purposes though not for heating. Since, electricity supply is rarely a problem except during inclement weather, we provide hot water bottles to keep everyone warm during the winters.

I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again sometime soon.

warm regards,

madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uttarakhand,india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Peaceful, beautiful and a great holiday spot for nature lovers…….

As soon as we reached The Misty Mountains & moved out of our car, the whole view
before us was simply wonderful. The breathtaking, beautiful scenery was
seen all around .The refreshing surroundings, the white Himalayan
peaks and the beautiful weather; everything was so much pleasing & appealing that all the tiredness & aches of long journey vanished immediately.
Thereafter we moved to our booked suite; and of course these well designed suites made our stay very comfortable.Long, large windows make it a pleasure to view the beautiful
sceneries while sitting in the room. Outside the room, easy chairs were
placed where one could relax & feel at pace with the nature.
In the evening we enjoyed the bonfire near the Recreation area. All the
visitors formed two groups & we played antakhshari.Solo singing was
also organised.We enjoyed a lot there.
In the morning we woke up at 6.30 to capture the sunrise moments. The
sunrays falling on the mountain peaks covered with snow were looking so
stunning, beautiful & enchanting. When the sunrays fell on them, the snow on the peeks was looking yellow, as bathed in pure gold, being blessed by the
warmth of Mother Nature. One by one, on each peak this yellow effect was
seen, and we felt strangely exhilarated by this extra ordinarily refreshing morning sight.
Then with the guide we went for a trek to Lambkeshwar, a temple nearby. Through the dense forests it was a trek of about 4 kms.The guide also told us a lot about that place. Also, from the temple the 360 degree view of the Himalayas was mesmerizing.
In the afternoon we spent hours lying on the hammocks, reading books & looking at the beautiful blue sky & the clouds, appearing so near to us.
Then in the evening, we played badminton, TT, carrom etc in the
Recreation room & had a lot of fun there. Quality family time was actually enjoyed there.
Dining area is in the midst of resort having a well ventilated hygienic open
place. The food was very yummy & delicious. Just home made fresh food in a
mouth-watering variety of textures & taste, served with lot of care &
concern made it tastier. The taste of some special dishes, the pomegranate chutney, the bhaang
chutney, home made rhododendron squash, Apple Jam & Lemon pickles prepared by the lovely wife of the owner, Mr Madhur Chhabra, is still alive on our tongue. Both the owner & his
wife were so courteous & caring that it was really a pleasure to communicate with them.
Overall the trip was a wonderful escapade for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upmasethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Mrs. Sethi,

It was fun having all of you here. Thank you so much for a positive feedback. It means a lot to us and motivates to provide better and better services to our guests.

Look forward to seeing you here again sometime.

regards,

madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jhaltola
16.9 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
100 reviews
22.5 mi away
AyurVAID Kalmatia
AyurVAID Kalmatia
#3 of 16 in Almora
169 reviews
22.4 mi away
Imperial Heights
Imperial Heights
#1 of 16 in Almora
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ojaswi Resort
Ojaswi Resort
#1 of 1 in Chaukori
93 reviews
4.5 mi away
Parwati Resort
Parwati Resort
#1 of 1 in Kumaon
36 reviews
22.7 mi away
Kasaar Jungle Resort
Kasaar Jungle Resort
#2 of 16 in Almora
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Misty Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Misty Mountains

Property: The Misty Mountains
Address: Jhaltola Estate | Kumaon, Jhaltola 262534, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Pithoragarh District > Jhaltola
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jhaltola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Misty Mountains is an Offbeat Destination in Kumaon (near Chaukori and Patal Bhuvaneshwar). It has a unique location and stunning himalayan views. Its surrounded by thousands of acres of untouched forests and the nearest neighbour is a kilometer away. Its owned and managed by my wife Ambika, and I. It should be your choice -1) If you are looking for an Offbeat Destination in Kumaon that is untouched by commercial tourism. Its a destination where you can spend quality time with your friends and family.2) If you are looking for an extended stay at a complete destination in itself. It offers great location, clean and comfortable stay, peace, activities and home like food.3) If you are looking to explore the remoter parts of offbeat kumaon like Munsyari Abbot Mount, Binsar, Chaukori or Kausani. It can be part of your kumaon tour.4) If you are looking for something like an extended homestay where you can be yourself and stay comfortably for 4-5 days. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing