We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for vacation.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jhaltola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Misty Mountains
Ranked #1 of 1 Jhaltola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New delhi
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A perfect place for vacation.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Misty Mountains is located in wide spread dense forest of Jhalota estate.
Away from hustle and bustle of crowded hill stations , Its a wonderful holiday destination to relax and unwind yourself. The resort is well maintained with spacious and clean rooms and ample space for trekking and nature walks.
The buffet not only caters to your taste but also your health. Specially the Kumaon lunch we had was very delicious.
One can enjoy the forest trek which has rich variety of flora and fauna. The fresh breeze, sounds of birds, scenic views and the greenery around make u feel that you are really in a different place.
The adventure activities like rappling , rope climbing and valley crossing also keep you busy.
The Host Madhur and Ambika were very friendly and they make you feel at home.
Special thanks to them for sharing their experiences with us and making this trip memorable.
This place is a real 'Jangal mein Mangal'

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjubharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear mam,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our place and your encouraging words. It means a lot to us that we successfully hosted a memorable vacation for you and your loved ones.

Hope to see you here again sometime soon.

regards,

ambika and madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Misty Mountain Resort in Jhaltola Estate is a lovely holiday destination. We spent about a week there - in the loving company and care of the hosts Madhur and Ambika and acres of untouched nature! The views of the Himalayas and the jungle rejuvenated oursenses. We took a break from the routine life style and enjoyed natural activities like rapelling, valley crossing, rope walking, ladder climbing, etc. The treks are awesome and challenging - the walks in wild which habitats leopards, barking deer, and hundreds of birds. One is brought back to the roots of existence - I was mesmerized by how humans and animals learn to live and accommodate with each-other. The resort is surrounded by oak, rhododendron, pine trees and some orchards. As a group of 7 people (4 adults and 3 children upto 10 years), we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and learned a lot from the trip. Will definitely visit Misty Mountains again!

Room Tip: All the cottages are equally good and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Anni,

Thank you so much for your generous review and kind words. The core of our life here is living in harmony with nature and we appreciate that it touched you in some way.

Look forward to hosting you here again sometime.

regards,

Ambika and madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This place is nestled deep in the forest away from all the hum drum. It has something to offer for everyone.

If you are looking from adventure activities in a natural environment this is the place to be, easy to challenging treks, rapelling, valley crossing, Burma bridge.... handled by qualified professionals

If you are looking for a relaxed vacation just relax in the lawns or the activity center which has a good collection of books, mags , TT, carom , in door badminton etc..

The rooms are good, spacious, excellent garden with flowers in boom

Food is great and serve a variety, service is great!

Hosted by Madhur you will always find him around to check on your needs and comfort

Plan for 3 - 4 days if you are looking for doing the activities...

Room Tip: If you are planning to drive plan on a 4* 4 else the resort provides a pick up from a certain point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Ashwin,

It was great fun having you around. Thank you for taking time to review our place and services and the many ideas that you shared with us while you were here. We should be implementing some in the near future.

Look forward to seeing you here sometime soon again.

regards,

Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Could not resist returning to The Misty Mountains again. Spent the last two weeks of February there with our hosts Madhur and Ambika. MAGICAL people, place, scenery, wildlife, birds and non stop divine meals. We hiked all the trails, nibbled on the Rhododendron blooms, read books, relaxed, sipped tea, chatted and laughed a lot, did yoga, snoozed in the Himalayan sun and gasped at the mountain views. Hard to express our thanks.

Room Tip: We like the small cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Dianne,

Thank you for taking time to write this. It is truly rewarding to share the place with someone who enjoys being one with nature as much as we do and having you here was our pleasure.

Look forward to seeing you here again on your next visit to India.

regards,

Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I'm going to begin this review by stating that the whole experience that is 'The Misty Mountains' will far surpass any and all your expectations. As a hardcore city girl, I wasn't sure how I was going to spend my time at Misty Mountains. Thankfully, I was traveling with a bunch of great friends and knew that they would keep me entertained. But let me tell you something, I enjoyed all the stolen moments spend alone just as much, because such is the magic of this gorgeous place.

It's an Eden encircled by lush green forests; the breathtaking views of snow capped mountains visible from every nook and corner of this humongous property are almost surreal. And I believe, almost addictive too. You WANT to sit outdoors with your cup of morning tea to soak up some sun and mentally capture that mesmerizing view.

We were there for 2 days and both the mornings were spent sitting outdoors with a cup of steaming hot tea, waiting for an uninterrupted view of the gorgeous mountains. No conversation; we simply wanted to feast our eyes on the natural beauty we were witnessing.

What adds to the whole beauty is the materials used for the construction of the cottages at Misty Mountains. Wood has been used extensively and intelligently to add a certain sense of warmth to the décor, literally blending the interiors with the exteriors. You almost feel like the outdoor spaces with all that green are an extension to the living spaces within. I personally loved the decking outside the cottages with their cozy sitting area!

Misty Mountains will uplift your spirits and do wonders for your figure too. You see, the pathways that connect the cottages, suites, community center and dining area within the resort are intelligently designed to give all us city folks a good workout! But while you walk up and down those meandering walkways, your gaze is inevitably drawn to the ethereal views all around and you'll find yourself looking for more excuses to stay outdoors and walk some more!
And that's not all, the most beautiful flowers I have ever seen grow everywhere around the property. Their fresh fragrance caught me by surprise a zillion times as I was enjoying the picturesque views. I have to say that adds an impactful punch to the whole experience of being at 'Misty Mountains'.

At Misty Mountains, the icing on the cake is the personalized service you get. The staff is ever smiling, ever helpful and very efficient. Madhur and his team go that extra mile to ensure your comfort and to meet your expectations as best as they can (and then some more). And this review wouldn't be complete without mentioning the food! It's homely but delicious and I found myself looking forward to meal times more than I would like to! (Or rather, my waistline would like me to)! Thankfully, you know at the back of your head that you can hog all you want because you will be burning away those calories simply by walking around. Just walking from your room to the common dining area and back can be quite a workout!

Unfortunately Ambika was traveling when we visited the resort, but the staff is so well trained that they can almost anticipate your needs - be it hot water for a refreshing shower or an extra cup of tea to take the edge off your tiredness after the long drive up! It's these people who make Misty Mountains the wonderful oasis it is.

If you want to spend a few days surrounded by nature in a quiet, peaceful, scenic location that is far, far away from the hustle bustle of the city life, nothing can be better than the Misty Mountains. There is a lot to do there – trekking, rappelling, outdoor picnics, bird watching and much more. The community center is well equipped too. We spent half a day playing table tennis and badminton; things you keep saying you want to do but never end up doing otherwise when you live in a big city.

Keep in mind, it's a tough ride to the resort but every bump on the way is well worth it! I highly recommend you visit Misty Mountains.

Maneera

Room Tip: Please talk to Madhur well in advance and book a room that best caters to your needs. The beauty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManeeraSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Maneera,

Thank you for taking time to write this most endearing review. This one is a tough one to live upto. But we welcome the challenge. :)

It is most gratifying when people who travel all this way say that it was worth it. It was fun having you all around. Look forward to hosting you here again this october.

cheers!

Madhur (with a proxy for ambika:) )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent some lovely days, in midst of the Himalyas, taking in the breathtaking views, sitting on the lawns and feel the time pass by. We have been to several offbeat places, but this stands as the best with lots of fond memories. The best bit of Misty Mountains is that they tend to under commit, but over-deliver, giving the guest loads of reasons to smile!

Misty was a treat to all senses - lovely chirping of birds, a feast for the eyes with the the eclectic range of plants/trees, definitely a treat for the stomach (the yum Kumaoni meal), the very warm and hospitable service of Madhur, Ambika, and every person in their small "family".

The rates are nothing in comparison to what one gets in return, we highly recommend every adventurous, and nature loving person to visit The Misty Mountains. One stay is clearly not enough, and hence will be regular guests/friends at Misty.

Room Tip: The Rosebank Cottage is nice and cozy, offers a splendid view from the ground floor as well as from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheenaa_amin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Sheena,

It was great having you two around. Your enthusiasm and energy is infectious and left us elated. Thank you for taking time to write this. It gives as much needed motivation just before the busy tourist season.

See you around :)

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It was a long haul to Jhaltola from Vanghat which is along the river Ramganga in Corbett. it did not help that our driver had not come here before. we left Vanghat at 9.30 am and reached Jhaltola at 8 pm!! Anil was swearing by the GPS for routing and Madhur who is the owner of the misty mountain was dismissive of the GPS map and gave us the lay of the land as he knew it. Once we reached a tiny hamlet called Rayi Agar, we were supposed to call him but we had no connectivity. Finally we reached Ram Mandir from where Madhur was supposed to pick us up for the last 3 kms. we transferred to his sedan from our innova and as we saw the steep climb on a dirt track i asked Madhur how much he spends on replacing axles!. He was good natured about my sarcasm and i must say he is an awesome driver.

it was pitch dark when we were ushered into our little suite. all we had on our minds was hot shower, hotter dinner and mind-numbing sleep!

at 5.45 am the next morning, Anil woke me up to watch the sunrise. that was our first view of the Nanda Devi range. and boy was it worth all the hardship we had gone through the previous day. Haathi Parbat, Nanda Ghunti, Trishul, Mrigathuni, Nanda Devi, Nanda Devii east, Nada Khot and Panchchuli, were literally at touching distance and the amazing thing is there is nothing, absolutely nothing that stands between our window and the magnificent Himalayas! we watched mesmerized as the sun played hide and seek, mountain by mountain till the whole horizon was beautifully framed in orange. nd to top it all on our right was a huge river of mist, so white, so pristine for a minute i thought is was fresh snow! this is what gives the property its name.Misty Mountains.no words to describe the feeling except to say it was a goose bumpy sight!

Madhur and his wife Ambika are passionate entrepreneurs, they have hung their heart on every tree and flower on the property!. the accomodation is just functional, the woodwork shoddy, but the bed is warm and they are an amazingly warm couple.lovely food, and Anil freaked out on Ambika's Kumaoni cuisine. i think by the end of our four-night stay Anil and I had adopted Ambika and Madhur as family!

this is a property which is all heart. leave your head behind, go there to find yours!

Room Tip: it is remote so go prepared for the long haul. it is also cold and the cold does sneak into your bon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Mam,

Thank you for writing a heart-warming review of our place. It was a pleasure hosting you here and we have taken your feedback on "little things" seriously. Hopefully, when you here next, you would find it even better.

Look forward to see you here again soon!

Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jhaltola
23.7 mi away
Hotel Shikhar
Hotel Shikhar
#4 of 17 in Almora
75 reviews
16.9 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
100 reviews
22.5 mi away
AyurVAID Kalmatia
AyurVAID Kalmatia
#3 of 17 in Almora
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Imperial Heights binsar
8.0 mi away
Ojaswi Resort
Ojaswi Resort
#1 of 1 in Chaukori
93 reviews
4.5 mi away
Parwati Resort
Parwati Resort
#1 of 1 in Kumaon
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Misty Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Misty Mountains

Property: The Misty Mountains
Address: Jhaltola Estate | Kumaon, Jhaltola 262534, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Pithoragarh District > Jhaltola
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jhaltola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Misty Mountains is an Offbeat Destination in Kumaon (near Chaukori and Patal Bhuvaneshwar). It has a unique location and stunning himalayan views. Its surrounded by thousands of acres of untouched forests and the nearest neighbour is a kilometer away. Its owned and managed by my wife Ambika, and I. It should be your choice -1) If you are looking for an Offbeat Destination in Kumaon that is untouched by commercial tourism. Its a destination where you can spend quality time with your friends and family.2) If you are looking for an extended stay at a complete destination in itself. It offers great location, clean and comfortable stay, peace, activities and home like food.3) If you are looking to explore the remoter parts of offbeat kumaon like Munsyari Abbot Mount, Binsar, Chaukori or Kausani. It can be part of your kumaon tour.4) If you are looking for something like an extended homestay where you can be yourself and stay comfortably for 4-5 days. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing