We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for a Lazy Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jhaltola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Misty Mountains
Ranked #1 of 1 Jhaltola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place for a Lazy Retreat”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The place to have a wonderful retreat from the hectic schedule we live in. Lush green lawns with wooden benches and easy-chairs, beautiful flowers and wonderful scenes of the Himalayas right in front of you provides the kind of rest one is always looking for. The resort provides one with the kind of food you get at home, delicious and yet simple, especially the Kumayuni delicacies that were served out "bhaang ki chatni".

It was misty when we reached there, but a little shower cleared up the sky and the white Himalayas was revealed right in front. The view one would always adore.

Madhur, had been a wonderful host providing you with the guidance and many stories, never we felt that we met him for the first time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0itreyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhur C, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Moitreyee,

Thank you for writing a heart warming review of our place. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we could provide a memorable experience.

We hope that we would get to host you here again sometime soon.

regards,

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater Noida, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent place for people who enjoy solitude, their own company or looking forward to have some quality family time. Artists, Writers, Readers, Nature lovers this is an ideal place for you to be. The place is maintained by a lovely and wonderfully hospitable couple which actually is the highlight of this place other than then peace and scenic beauty of the place. And the review can't be completed without mentioning the food. Home-made style food with home made pickles, chatnis and jams (Thanks Ambika). Overall if you want to have a quite and peaceful vacation in a homely environment then this is place to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakshyaGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Lakshya,

It was great fun hosting all of you here at Misty.

Your review is special since one of the most important reasons for choosing this place was to create an oasis where artists, writers and nature lovers can be one with nature and find their voice. Thank you for appreciating that. Hopefully, after reading your review, someone would be inspired to avail of the opportunity. :)

Look forward to seeing you around.

regards,

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Felt too energized once reached Misty Mountains, by finding self in between of pure nature followed by a very warm welcome by owner Ambika and Madhur - both assured that all guest are treated like family members.
A must visit place for nature loving perfect family vacation with no hustle bustle of crowded city. Nothing can be explained in words about our experience - you can only feel it.
All natural and pure (be it nature or food or human)- nothing artificial. Excellent like home cooked food - you can get cooked any specific dish if you like (we enjoyed local kumaon cuisine) - special thanks to Madhur for getting food cooked without onion for one member, excellent treatment by staff (as you are in your own home).
As no TV signal in resort kids and adults can enjoy lots of adventure activities under expert guidance. Enjoyed nature while doing trek in morning and evening trek in himalyan forest, sun rise and sun set at its best from cottage. Got wake call by chirping of birds in morning. Good cottage (we took family cottage with 8 beds in 4 diff rooms - attached baths). We group of 8 went for 4 days and no one was willing to come back from there. Lots to write but again one should go there to experience the best holidays. Finally thanks Madhur and staff for giving us best like family treatment. Special thanks to Ambika for treating us with her own made garlic and chilly pickles. Recommended for all those nature lovers who wants relaxing holidays like in own home.

Room Tip: For a family go for family cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulAlka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Rahul Ji,

Thank you for taking time to write such an endearing review of our place. Will never forget your cherubic smile. Had good fun hosting you all here.

Look forward to seeing you here sometime.

regards,

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Wat a place! This place is unique and almost perfect for people who seek peace away from the daily rigours of life. The journey may be a bit tiring and tough but its worth everything. The food is as good as one gets in his/ her home. Adventure activities are very well organized , suited to kids as well as adults.Rooms are spacious , decently furnished and very clean. The indoor activiy centre Kalrav is very nice too. The staff was fantastic and Madhur was a person I will cherish that I got to meet. The views are awesome. The property is flanked by greenery and I was told that the Jhaltola forest is larger than Binsar. Lots of places/ treks around to keep one engaged ; though; I will recommend just enjoy the resort at peace in the lap of nature.

I was not inclined to post a review for this, since, I thought words can not describe our experience at the place. Already people have written so much and every word of praise is worth. However I have decided to write this as there are properties in Kumaon who by their cheap publicity gimmics n fake reviews attract tourists who later feel cheated when they dont get the services/ satisfaction promised/ expected.
Misty Mountains delivers what it promises. Recommended for nature lovers seeking some adventure and relaxation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vipnesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words. It is our constant endeavour to deliver what we promise and keep pushing for better and better guest experience. Your words renew our energy :)

Hope to see you here again sometime.

regards,

Ambika and madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New delhi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Misty Mountains is located in wide spread dense forest of Jhalota estate.
Away from hustle and bustle of crowded hill stations , Its a wonderful holiday destination to relax and unwind yourself. The resort is well maintained with spacious and clean rooms and ample space for trekking and nature walks.
The buffet not only caters to your taste but also your health. Specially the Kumaon lunch we had was very delicious.
One can enjoy the forest trek which has rich variety of flora and fauna. The fresh breeze, sounds of birds, scenic views and the greenery around make u feel that you are really in a different place.
The adventure activities like rappling , rope climbing and valley crossing also keep you busy.
The Host Madhur and Ambika were very friendly and they make you feel at home.
Special thanks to them for sharing their experiences with us and making this trip memorable.
This place is a real 'Jangal mein Mangal'

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjubharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear mam,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our place and your encouraging words. It means a lot to us that we successfully hosted a memorable vacation for you and your loved ones.

Hope to see you here again sometime soon.

regards,

ambika and madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Misty Mountain Resort in Jhaltola Estate is a lovely holiday destination. We spent about a week there - in the loving company and care of the hosts Madhur and Ambika and acres of untouched nature! The views of the Himalayas and the jungle rejuvenated oursenses. We took a break from the routine life style and enjoyed natural activities like rapelling, valley crossing, rope walking, ladder climbing, etc. The treks are awesome and challenging - the walks in wild which habitats leopards, barking deer, and hundreds of birds. One is brought back to the roots of existence - I was mesmerized by how humans and animals learn to live and accommodate with each-other. The resort is surrounded by oak, rhododendron, pine trees and some orchards. As a group of 7 people (4 adults and 3 children upto 10 years), we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and learned a lot from the trip. Will definitely visit Misty Mountains again!

Room Tip: All the cottages are equally good and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Anni,

Thank you so much for your generous review and kind words. The core of our life here is living in harmony with nature and we appreciate that it touched you in some way.

Look forward to hosting you here again sometime.

regards,

Ambika and madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This place is nestled deep in the forest away from all the hum drum. It has something to offer for everyone.

If you are looking from adventure activities in a natural environment this is the place to be, easy to challenging treks, rapelling, valley crossing, Burma bridge.... handled by qualified professionals

If you are looking for a relaxed vacation just relax in the lawns or the activity center which has a good collection of books, mags , TT, carom , in door badminton etc..

The rooms are good, spacious, excellent garden with flowers in boom

Food is great and serve a variety, service is great!

Hosted by Madhur you will always find him around to check on your needs and comfort

Plan for 3 - 4 days if you are looking for doing the activities...

Room Tip: If you are planning to drive plan on a 4* 4 else the resort provides a pick up from a certain point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Ashwin,

It was great fun having you around. Thank you for taking time to review our place and services and the many ideas that you shared with us while you were here. We should be implementing some in the near future.

Look forward to seeing you here sometime soon again.

regards,

Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jhaltola
16.9 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
100 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel Shikhar
Hotel Shikhar
#4 of 16 in Almora
74 reviews
22.4 mi away
Imperial Heights
Imperial Heights
#2 of 16 in Almora
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ojaswi Resort
Ojaswi Resort
#1 of 1 in Chaukori
93 reviews
4.5 mi away
Parwati Resort
Parwati Resort
#1 of 1 in Kumaon
36 reviews
22.5 mi away
Binsar Eco Resort
Binsar Eco Resort
#4 of 5 in Binsar
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Misty Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Misty Mountains

Property: The Misty Mountains
Address: Jhaltola Estate | Kumaon, Jhaltola 262534, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Pithoragarh District > Jhaltola
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jhaltola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Misty Mountains is an Offbeat Destination in Kumaon (near Chaukori and Patal Bhuvaneshwar). It has a unique location and stunning himalayan views. Its surrounded by thousands of acres of untouched forests and the nearest neighbour is a kilometer away. Its owned and managed by my wife Ambika, and I. It should be your choice -1) If you are looking for an Offbeat Destination in Kumaon that is untouched by commercial tourism. Its a destination where you can spend quality time with your friends and family.2) If you are looking for an extended stay at a complete destination in itself. It offers great location, clean and comfortable stay, peace, activities and home like food.3) If you are looking to explore the remoter parts of offbeat kumaon like Munsyari Abbot Mount, Binsar, Chaukori or Kausani. It can be part of your kumaon tour.4) If you are looking for something like an extended homestay where you can be yourself and stay comfortably for 4-5 days. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing