We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful 100% traditional English Pub”
Review of The Peacock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelsworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peacock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chelsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delightful 100% traditional English Pub”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived for mid-week lunch (this having been recommended to us many times). It was a cold day, and the effect of stepping into the front door with the open fires being lit was delightful. Being such a centuries old building it certainly needs those fires to keep it warm and cosy. The menu was perfect, with a fairly small number of options for the three courses, which I love. The Broccoli and Stilton soup could not have been more tasty. The nice chunk of seedy/grainy bread was of excellent quality. I chose the slow cooked pork with apples and mustard cream sauce. It was a 4.5 out of 5, as there was too much sauce (although it was very good) and the potato cake was a little below par (perhaps not fresh on the day?). My husband had roast partridge with a red wine sauce, and he said that this was also 4.5 out of 5 (perhaps a slower cooking and a bit of resting would have made it more tender). We loved the traditional 'bowl of fresh vegetables', super mashed swede and carrot, garden runner beans and cauliflower. My husband then had the Trifle - a bit mundane compared to the starter and main courses. However, we will surely return. The service was excellent. It is so refreshing to find a proper pub with good beer and good honest home-cooking. Perhaps paring down the menu even more could help chef achieve that 'fresh on the day' perfection that we all crave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifebeginsatfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    24
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

lovely room,very comfortable beds,great menu,with excellent food, the sunday roast dinner and the steak pie are very yummy, the owner couldnt do enough, the breakfast was great, location fabulous, well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Sunday lunch at this attractive village Pub was an absolute delight. Perhaps, slightly on the expensive side, the Sunday roast was superb with plenty of fresh veg. American cheesecake dessert was to die for ! A pleasure to dine at this Pub where intelligent, bright staff were also an asset.

Peter Cloke

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for one night and could not have asked for more. The meals were delicious and service excellent. Rachel was a gracious host, who made sure we did not lack for anything. Chelsworth is a beautiful village tucked away in the Suffolk countryside. Would love to return

Room Tip: Try the delicious luncheon soups
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank194289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

..being from the area before but our overnight stay and meal at the Peacock was just sheer magic, we were pinching ourselves at finding such a gem. Very friendly village pub, lovely food the best of Suffolk ale and charismatic ancient building made the overnight stay a perfect treat. Met the resident greyhounds as well as a bonus. Definite return visit to be advised.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Along with 4 friends we enjoyed an excellent meal, with excellent service. Meals were clearly produced locally - fish pies were superb, friends had mussels (loved them), suet pudding (to die for) and liver and bacon (still drooling - wife will not cook it for him at home!).

Shared puddings were equally as good.

Outstanding value for money.

Certainly a restaurant that we will not be hesitant in going back to very quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaysie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were leisurely driving along the B1115 and luckily it was around lunch time when we saw The peacock Inn. Would it have been the owner Rachel that served us? We have not been served so wonderfully in such a long time.
We had 2 specials: beef with melted Stilton and pork pie ploughmans, both were delicious.
We were very impressed with the antiques and they gave the inn a wonderful atmosphere without it being too cluttered.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsworth
4.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
6.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
7.3 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
7.3 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 2 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holbecks House B&B
Holbecks House B&B
#1 of 6 in Hadleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Inn

Property: The Peacock Inn
Address: 37 The Street | Chelsworth, Chelsworth, Babergh District, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Chelsworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chelsworth
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Peacock Inn Chelsworth, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing