We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mansion San Antonio
Ranked #2 of 5 Tlalpujahua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent a few days here while down in Tlalpujahau for the Monarch butterfly migration. The location is about an hour away from both sanctuaries we visited.

The entrance to the hotel could use some MAJOR work, but generally speaking, the rooms and the grounds are very clean. The food is authentic and tasty. No one in our group had any issues with sanitation.

Whatever you do, don't get room 22 or any other rooms under the restaurant. The staff starts to work, including shuffling the dining room chairs, starting at about 4:30. And there is no insulation on the ceiling.

Now, one benefit of being near the restaurant is that you get your hot water fast. Further rooms are not so lucky. Also, remember that the rooms have no heater, so during the winter it does get cold. But they do provide extra blankets, which worked out great. No one speaks a word of english, which is great if you want to practice your Spanish... otherwise it is challenging. Wifi is anemic and pretty spotty, but at least they did have it, and it was free. There is a pool, but it was empty during our stay.

A few other random issues:
1) The water heater broke and we had no hot water for a whole day
2) On one occasion we didn't have any towels in our room

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't get room 22 or any other rooms under the restaurant. The staff starts to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a very nice, clean, well maintained hotel. Great setting and beautiful grounds and views. There are a few minor inconveniences, but none really worth writing about. In the US it probably would be considered a 3-star hotel in a 5-star setting. The staff members are all very very pleasant and well trained. Unfortunately no one in the hotel speaks any English. Wifi works well in some places and not in others.
The restaurant is really excellent led by a wonderful chef. In addition to great food it is spotless. We had four breakfasts and dinners all of which were far above average.
Tialpujahua is a charming town and is close to the Monarch butterfly migration.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dw4345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hotel Mansion San Antonio is a big hotel for such a small town as Tlapujahua. The rest of the hotels do not look as nice, but most are cheaper. Rooms have a fair size, clean and modern (unlike the rest of Tlapujahua). Wooden floors and good comforters on the bed.
Bathroom is modern, clean and new.
Many children and families.
The restaurant has a nice view and the menu is small but good. Do not expect fast food service, it is slow food. If you like your coffee strong, ask for "café de la máquina" and it will be a good strong coffee with a taste of hazelnut and vanilla. Closes early.
Some areas have WiFi.
Swimming pool is empty; no water in it. Surrounded by woods, it has a beautiful view.
No American Express.

Room Tip: No elevator, if you mind stairs ask for a room on the first floor. The restaurant is on the third fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

It’s a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. Everything is new, clean, and inviting. The grounds and views are gorgeous. It’s also easy to find and has ample free parking. The desk clerks were extremely helpful, providing maps and directions to restaurants and to the Santuario de la Mariposa Monarca. The rooms are spacious and it would have been nice to have a reading chair or loveseat, rather than just the desk chair and the bed to sit on. We were disappointed to discover that the restaurant was not open. It looked lovely and we would very much liked to have had a meal at sunset enjoying the spectacular view.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: No se hospede entre semana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nedarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si la habitación está en el segundo piso, mucho mejor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Xavierzinho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Maricarmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlalpujahua
7.1 mi away
Hacienda Cantalagua
Hacienda Cantalagua
#1 of 2 in Contepec
235 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hacienda de la Luz Boutique & Mountain Park Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#77 of 140 in Michoacan
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada del Carmen
Hotel Posada del Carmen
#2 of 7 in Tlalpujahua
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel de la Parroquia
#3 of 5 in Tlalpujahua
7 reviews
15.1 mi away
Plaza Don Gabino Hotel
Plaza Don Gabino Hotel
#2 of 3 in Angangueo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion San Antonio

Address: Del Carmen No. 3 | Col. Cerro de la Colot, Tlalpujahua 61060, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Tlalpujahua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tlalpujahua
Price Range: £76 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mansion San Antonio 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion San Antonio this located in a place surrounded by a natural landscape, where is intended to provide a service of quality and warmth, so that pleasure and business travellers have an exquisite experience. Without doubt a unique place in the picturesque village of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Mansion San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing