We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Fun Beach Getaway off the radar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in General Luna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenhouse
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in General Luna
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Fun Beach Getaway off the radar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Two years ago, my family (myself, my husband, and my 2 children then ages 1 and 2) went with another family (3 adults and children ages 2 and 4) to enjoy the amazing Greenhouse. The waves were stellar, the sunsets were stupendous, the houses were island like, the motorbike trips were adventurous, the national park was amazing, and the 2 weeks went by in the blink of an eye. The owners are great hosts who make sure your needs are taken care of. Overall, a great time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnefeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
42
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I've stayed at the Greenhouse twice. I'll surely stay there again.

The location is fantastic, but that goes without saying as Siargao and especially GL is not somewhere tourists go. There s a small and very friendly surf community there, and the local people are fantastic and very good fun to be around.

The Greenhouse has some of the best food in GL. The new chef there does a great job. And he's your chef. He's there for you. He'll cook what you want, when you want it. If you go lobster fishing and bring back some beasties he'll cook them up for you. There is always fresh fruit, vegetables and fresh seafood, so the food is very, very healthy.

The portions are big enough to accommodate those who have been charging all day on the waves.

The beach huts are clean and beautiful, and very well taken care of. They are serviced every single day.

There is always a boat for you. Therefore you can go wherever you want every single day. And you never get stuck on a busier break because June the guide will always have an alternative for you. June is incredibly knowledgeable as well as a top class surfer.

Walk up and down the beach, everyone there is friendly and welcoming.

I had great times with Keiko, Andrew, James, Agnes and the whole Greenhouse crew. I'd rather stay there than anywhere else.

"You don't know it mate. You've never been there."

안녕

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normskis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vissnz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Andrew, James and Keiko have an awesome little set-up in a unique spot on Siargao Island. Good boat access to surf spots on and off the map, places that they're sure you've never been there.
Food and lodging is also awesome, fresh tasty meals and comfortable rooms for either couples of mates. Can't go wrong in terms of relaxation.
It's Paradise - not much more to be said!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vissnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The Greenhouse has a great location to just relax and hangout in your own little retreat, while also being perfectly located to surf all the best spots in and around Cloud9. James and the crew there know all the best spots and with their two boats and knowledgable boatmen, if there are waves to be had, they will find them. There location in the at the reef break, is also a perfect location for the boat trips. They re building something great here. Jamie.

Room Tip: All are great. Just work out your travel dates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Fantastic facilities. Fantastic warm staff. Awesome waves with a boat on-call. Delicious food and a quiet location on a beautiful and largely untouched island. James was our host and did a brilliant job at taking us around the island, showing us great surf spots and generally being great company. Need I say more...

I'm going back and I've convinced my friends to go too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed at Greenhouse for 5 days in October 2011. Our cottage was recently renovated and very comfortable. It had a great covered porch that we spent most of our time hanging out on when we weren't surfing. We also ate all our meals at a picnic table on the porch which was quite nice. The food was really cheap and fantastic. No exaggeration, fantastic. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all hearty and delicious.

Service was also good, both the local staff and owners were more than accommodating.

Surfing was great. We went out in a group every morning and afternoon. Very few spots were had any significant amount of other surfers. A few times we had to compete some for waves but 95% of the time it wasn't an issue. Greenhouse's boat took us to wherever the surf was breaking that session. Really fun way of getting to know the other guests, the staff and the owners (I came with a friend but wouldn't hesitate to return by myself).

Siargao is really unspoiled as many tourists don't know about it. It's more difficult to get to than the more popular spots in the Philippines but (in my opinion) totally worth it. If possible, I would strongly recommend flying directly to Siargao as opposed to flying elsewhere and taking the ferry (which we did and proved difficult).

Overall, the place was amazing. The slightly cheaper options on the island didn't look nearly as nice and the more expensive options were much, much more expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I have stayed in Siargao on numerous occasions with the last 3 at Greenhouse. The location is great for relaxing on the luxurious lawn, swimming in the lagoon, or taking boats surfing, snorkeling, or exploring. Andrew and James are gracious hosts and the staff is very accommodating. This is the perfect place for total relaxation or hardcore surf trips (or both). There are a variety of activities on offer at Greenhouse such as surfing, boating, SUP, snorkeling, exploring on the boat or motobikes (available for rent) and some small but eclectic nightlife. The menu at Greenhouse has a variety of international and local items that are healthy and delicious. Be sure to get the banana coffee milkshake (or something along those lines)! Accommodations are super comfortable and the design and decor of the buildings are warm and inviting. I truly could live here! Thanks for all of the good times Greenhouse, I will see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near General Luna
0.1 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in General Luna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
4.2 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.1 mi away
Siargao Paraiso Resort
Siargao Paraiso Resort
#5 of 6 in General Luna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#3 of 6 in General Luna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buddha's Surf Resort
Buddha's Surf Resort
#3 of 9 in Siargao Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siargao Inn
Siargao Inn
#2 of 14 in General Luna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhouse

Property: Greenhouse
Address: Catangnan, Siargao, General Luna, Mindanao 8419, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island > General Luna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in General Luna
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest house in a beachfront setting with world class waves and delicious food on tap! We pride ourselves on providing market fresh and organic meals. We can cater to any food needs or restrictions. Private boats and drivers with Santa Cruz Surfboards available for rent. Siargao caters to all types of travelers and plenty of activity locally, not just limited to surf out here. Let the kids run and play in our private gardens and lounge on your private balcony and take in the spectacular views on offer : We look forward to meeting you out here and showing you around the town : Come join us at Greenhouse : Siargao, Philippines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenhouse Siargao Island, Philippines - General Luna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing