We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
245
42
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
42
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fly fishing fire pit fairy lights shepherds hut wood burner trout sand pit yurt village catch and release underfloor heating cooking facilities communal kitchen south downs piping hot water cows being milked clay pigeon shooting shower and toilet
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Montana Shepherds Hut for four nights with my 9 year old daughter. It was lovely, twin bed, with a day bed as a sofa. The kitchenette was adjacent, with everything you could need, just not an oven, but there is a hob and microwave. The shower and toilet is next door. It is great value and very comfortable. The setting is very picturesque, situated on a dairy farm and on the South Downs, so lots of walks and we hired bikes. It’s also on a fly fishing lake. The people that work there are so friendly, Jim, Greg and Tim, that run the lake, Will the farm owner is the nicest, kindest man you could wish to meet. He took us on his tractor and the guys in the dairy let my daughter milk the cows. Also Anne, the lady that looks after the accommodation was lovely too. They also have the yurt village down the country lane, which looked great. Just be prepared for tiny country lanes and lots of insects

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank taran618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim R, Meon Springs Team at Meon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

'tiny country lanes and lots of insects ' - love it. We've a group of children down today and identifying all the different bugs was part of their fishing lesson. :) Glad you had such a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We love this place the yurts and yurtery are just lovely you have all your basic needs and the yurt has power and is very clean my children and husband loved the hammock we did the fishing and my children loved catching and then putting on bbq for dinner we enjoyed watching the cows being milked although felt abit unwelcome at first the young man was very helpful so much so my son wants to now milk cows and be a farmer. The staff are lovely so helpful and friendly the showers are ok but get dirty quickly plenty on logs and matches fire starters etc.. the area is lovely and lovely for a relaxing the children loved the toys and sand pit. The fridges power did die spoiling allot of our food but they were quick to fix them so can’t fault there speed. Only issue we really had was the bed it was to uncomfortable me and my husband really struggled to sleep on them if the mattress was comfortable we would go for longer as that really is the only negative other than that amazing We would like to go back but would have to take a mattress topper or something

Room tip: Best views, relaxing , all yurts the same
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kerryt503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim R, Meon Springs Team at Meon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for this - and I will pass on your comments about the beds to housekeeping. But delighted you had such a good overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

I booked a two night break as part of my daughter's birthday celebrations. It was so relaxing we really didn't want to re-join the real world afterwards. Only 50 mins from home, we had all the facilities and equipment we needed without any of the usual effort associated with camping. We loved the traditional Mongolian painting on and inside our Yurt, we loved the firepit outside which we used for a BBQ and the log burner inside which we lit in the evening and watched the glowing embers die down from our very comfortable beds.

Room tip: All the Yurts are in a tranquil setting with lovely views
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Athorpe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim R, Meon Springs Team at Meon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Sounds like a perfect birthday treat. Congrats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

We have stayed in the shepherds huts at Meon Springs several times and can't wait to go back. The area is beautiful and the huts are supplies with everything you could possibly need.
The fishing is good, my husband has always manages to catch at least a couple. The surrounding are is good for walks and the are a couple of lovely pubs only a short drive away... tournament

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim R, Meon Springs Team at Meon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Lovely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Booked a 4 night stay in one of the shepherd huts. Beautiful surroundings and pleasant helpful staff made me feel welcome.fantastic countryside and local pubs. The hut had everything you needed and the bed was comfy too ! Will be back

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank garyross99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim R, Meon Springs Team at Meon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Great to hear you had such a relaxing time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews