We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls nite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Girls nite”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Enjoyed a girls only nite ..we had booked a zenith room but was.located at rear of resort which was in residential area .. Not to our liking.. Staff assisted us with an upgrade & minimal cost to a Penthouse at front of resort in whitesands section .. Much better .. Great view..excellent accomadation & many drinks at resort pub .. Enjoyed using spa also .. Staff very friendly ..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bindi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    293
    223
    130
    111
See reviews for
309
426
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We recently stayed for six nights in a two bedroomed apartment. The size of the apartment was great and had everything we needed. All the staff at the resort were very friendly and helpful and the location is fantastic - right across from the beach and close to a few restaurants and cafes.
We enjoyed the pool area and it was never too busy while we were there. The food in any of the various outlets was consistently good.
Overall we had a great stay with a lovely atmosphere in a great location

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our room, which was a one bedroom pool room was dated, had no windows which opened and the air conditioner sounded like a truck moving through the room, the bathroom had a shower over the bath with a very small glass petition, no anti slip mat in the bath and no grab rail to help you get out of the bath and the entire bathroom flooded. As we were going to a lunch the next day we had our do not disturb sign on until lunchtime so we could shower and dress and therefore did not get our towels changed and bins emptied and after complaining at 7 pm some towels delivered to the room but that was it, no removal of the extremely wet towels (which were wet from sponging up the floor water) and no emptying of the dirty bins.
I have to say I will never stay there again. R & D Parker

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a great resort just next to the beach. I've been here 3 times since they first renovated completely in the early 2000. The place is still going great and not too worn down yet.

Try to avoid peak periods since the hotel can get quite full and the room rates are on the steep end.

Overall a great hotel in Shoal Bay area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This resort is opposite Shoal Bay and the Ocean Front rooms have amazing views. We stayed in an Ocean Front 2 bedroom apartment and it was very large with 2 bathrooms (one with a spa bath) and a fully equipped kitchen, it had a a massive wrap around balcony. The rooms were very clean and the daily breakfast (which is included if you book online) was great. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babymunchkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were travelling along the coast, booking accommodation online as we went. We managed to book a room here online for a bargain price and were able to check in 30mins later. The location is lovely and resort has it's own cafe, shop and restaurant. All were very nice. The spa facility had 3 different temperature mineral spa pools and a gym and sauna. The outdoor pool was very nice and central to all the rooms. The staff were very friendly & happily (& honestly, not just to bring in more business) advised us on where to eat etc. Our room was nice and the kitchenette was tiny but well equipped. The room was very clean and nicely styled. We certainly got a bargain. I wish we could have stayed more nights. We would recommend this resort to anyone, singles, couples, family, anyone. It's lovely.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CJOLLY8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Felt had to make a review of this resort, as travelling from Sydney by car was reading some of the comments on Trip Advisor, and was wondering what we had let ourselves in for, as most recent comments were not very positive.
Well our reception at arrival was extremely friendly, in fact we did not meet or speak with any staff that were not friendly, always a smile and an enquirey if they could do anything to help.
Our room was on the 8th floor of the Barrington complex, very clean, and comfortable, the only thing was the bedroom had no window and it felt a bit airless, but you cannot change the structure, and did not impact dramatically on our stay. The bed fairly comfortable, but I am very used to my bed nothing is as good as home. The view from the verandah was great especially at night with all the lights.

The pool area is great, as we were not there in a peak period it was not crowded at all.
We did not try any of the resturants and breakfasted ourselves so can make no comment on the food venues, but they looked very nice. Overall we were very happy with our stay, and that some comments made previously maybe from people with extremely high expectations.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing