We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are still staying here and are waiting for something to wow us..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We are still staying here and are waiting for something to wow us..”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My boyfriend and I have been here the past two nights and have one more night to stay. The room is nice although I called up the day before check in to ask what our 'kitchen' would be exactly so I knew whether to bring an electric fry pan etc.. When I rang reception she said it was a kitchenette so it would have a microwave and a mini bar fridge. Well we got there and I had packed quite a bit as I was told we would not have a stove top, good sized fridge etc.. Obviously it was better but frustrating as I went to quite a bit of effort to organise myself before arriving. Our room is definitely nice, although we have not had anybody come and make up our room regardless of the 'please make up my room' sign we put on the door two days ago now. We also enquired about wifi as it is 2014 and Internet is so readily available in so many places- reception informed us of how to do it online but did not mention it had a cost- we went back down stairs to ask and it was not cheap! Considering there's no free wifi, no included breakfast, no house keeping we are still waiting for something special to wow us for the '4 star resort'. Our bathroom also has a broken shower head holder but we don't believe we should have to inform them, no one has called or visited us to ask how our stay has been or if there's anything we might like.. The shower also does not have a door therefore the water floods out the opening and it lets in cold air.. It is enjoyable but to be honest I was expecting it to be more of a resort especially with the service..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sian1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada S, Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Sian1111,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issue's you experienced in your apartment during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and we take on board your comments as this helps us not only to meet, but exceed our guests expectations for all future guests.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    295
    224
    131
    113
See reviews for
311
428
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed over this weekend, disappointed with changes since new ownership with Ramada. Hubby had ordered a surprise strawberries,wine & cheese which was not there and needed a phone call reminder.. Which still arrived wrong!
Our room was located opposite the beach views were gorgeous, but for a Penthouse Suite.. The name certainly does not meet the expectation!! Room was small and bathroom was tiny and no ensuite in the 2 bedroom, I found that really surprising considering it is classified a Penthouse suite! The room was freezing cold air con did not work properly.. Previously we have stayed here and pretty much we have tried all rooms.. And they really have little if no difference in decor, yet their price does change..
No breakfast included anymore, which used to be our kids favourite in the promenade room, now it's go find your own, and sandy foot cafe (part of the resort)was no great find.. $16.90 for a poached egg on toast ??? Which was not cooked fresh at all! Oh well

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay.
I am saddened to hear that your stay was not what you had expected and that you were not satisfied with your stay.
To all our guests that book direct, we do provide the option of a breakfast inclusion in their rate should they wish to have breakfast included during their stay. Unfortunately at the time of your stay here with us, our Promenade was not available due to winter trading hours.
With regard to the air conditioner unit in your apartment, we have maintenance contractors onsite 24/7 should any maintenance issues arise. We aim to resolve any maintenance issues in a timely manner and to have all concerns resolved and rectified for the guest as soon as it is humanly possible.
Whilst some maintenance issues are out of our control and need further investigation, we certainly offer all our guests an alternative room to enjoy for the remainder of their stay if the matter is brought to our attention.
Again, I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We do hope you visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed in a room with a side view, would highly recommend as we had a spacious terrace which offered great views of the bay. Room was clean & spacious with a great kitchenette.

Furniture was basic however we were only there to sleep. Situated vey close to Nelson bay where there are great restaurant's if you are looking for something else outside of hotel food.

Great nature & bush walking experiences close to hand, recommend a trip to fingal bay

Experienced dolphins & whales, the experience was great for the sole,

No free internet, however not concerned as the total experience was great and left feeing totally relaxed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The accommodation was comfortable, the " kitchenette" was more a kitchen with everything you could need!
Two negatives the sofa was not the most comfortable to sit on and the pillows were too soft.
A great view of the bay with good size balcony and secure undercover parking. I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: only ask for a beach view room or room with a side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family and I stayed here over the Easter - Anzac Day week and had a wonderful time. We were concerned after reading negative reviews (in my opinion inaccurate) but were pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay here again. The location is perfect - directly across the road from a beach and gorgeous views. Plenty of options for dining in the resort and close by. The buffet breakfast had everything possible and the entire staff were friendly and polite. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean with big balconies. Housekeeping was done daily. Allocated car parking made everything hassle free. The pool was kid friendly and my toddler loved the attached sandpit which is shaded. The only thing which could have improved our stay was to have the pool bar opened for drinks and munchies. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife, 2 year old son and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during the Easter holidays in April. The stay was wonderful and we found the hotel to be a great place to stay in the Port Stephens area. The location is right across from the beach and has a nice sized swimming pool that is kid friendly. We had one bedroom apartment type hotel with a kitchenette. The room was clean, a good size, and a nice balcony overlooking the pool. The resort itself had plenty of dining options for the location and was within walking distance of many other restaurants. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We found none of the issues noted by other reviews, and are actually puzzled that there are so many complaints. Anyway, my family and I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigjohn998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a wedding package while this hotel was still Shoal Bay Resort & Spa, and it changed hands several weeks before our big day. The change in management didn't bother us at the time as we anticipated there would be a high standard of hospitality from new management as Ramada Resort. Unfortunately our experience staying at this hotel was to be very disappointing. We had booked online, what we believed was the the resorts finest heritage suites, to indulge on our wedding night. But room was not made up to the standard expected of a 4.5 star rating. It was musty on entering as though it had not been aired for some time, there was a child's dummy beside the couch & the bed had been made but whoever did it hadn't bothered to put the decorative sash on, it was just sitting folded on the luggage rack...the room was clean enough but certainly nothing special - it just didn't feel like we were at the 'luxury' resort we had anticipated spending our first night as man & wife at. There were limited gratuities on offer, 3 or 4 tea & coffee bags, a few capsules of uht milk ..certainly no mini bar! Many other (cheaper) hotels offer champagne on arrival, or something similar, as a token of goodwill for newlyweds, but there was no such thing to welcome us at Ramada...owned by Wyndham estates I believe...
Also they don't supply bathrobes! The previous resort supplied them so we opted not to bring our own based on this. My husband called reception to enquire why there were none and was told guests no longer get robes since Ramada took over. Robes are available at the Latouff salon but not in rooms. So too bad for us! It really seemed that no-one could be bothered help make our wedding night as pleasant as possible, or memorable for the right reasons. Bottom line: don't expect much from these guys.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SarahTTP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
84 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
316 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing