We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great views and friendly service with style.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Dunes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lesconil
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, great views and friendly service with style.”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

First impresions are good as the reception area is new and this extends through to the adjacent large and attractive dining room and the new bar area facing the sea on the south side. The reception was friendly and efficient and we were given a sea-facing room.

The room was clean and spacious, with separate toilet and en suite bathroom. The bathroom had a proper bath with a free flowing shower over it, although the lack of a shower screen made it difficult to avoid unintentionally turning it into a wet room. The wardrobes were showing their age a bit and the decoration could do with freshening up. However, the proprietor assured us that the renovation started in the public areas is being rolled out in the bedrooms - indeed a decorator turned up to discuss the work while we were there.

There is a choice of two table d'hote menus and an a la carte. We stayed for three nights and had a different selection on each night, all very good French cooking. Lesconil is famous in France for crustaceans and the plateau au fruit de mer served on an adjacent table was amazing. The wines by the bottle are quite expensive, but the house wines by the carafe are excellent and good value.

If you want somewhere quiet, with good food and great coastal views, then this place should give you what you want.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, there's lots of sea just across a short stretch of natural grassland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger14_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kp29, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel des Dunes, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Madame and Mister


Thank you for your stay and your advice about our hotel. I am really happy that you enjoy your stay at the hotel and the restaurant. As you wrote we renovate each year something in the rooms or in the public area but we do the choice to pull out shower screen (in the bath not in the shower) to prevent of accidents as many other hotels. Our wine list is long so we have different price for carafe or bottle, so you have choice for every wishes. The staff and I will happy to receive again in Lesconil and I hope that the next stay will satisfy you again for the room (I will book a “new” room for you I promise) as for the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    49
    12
    15
    3
See reviews for
27
63
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Since a long time, I was asking me "how to open the entrance with a sea view ?". It's done, you enter the hotel and you have now a direct view on the ocean, the bar has been moved to the sea side and it changes completely the atmosphere, very very nice !

The food also evolved a bit to more diversity, still high quality and positive evolution.

Staff remains at your disposal, cool and prof.

Waiting next year !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francois J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kp29, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel des Dunes, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your advice and your visit in ou hotel. I am really happy that you appreciate our new bar and reception area, it is pleasant to see that our guests like it. Many thanks for the restaurant too, it is also important for us that our choise of products enjoy you.
I hope seeing you next years always with sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 2010 and 2011 the staff where very kind and helpful its a great hotel for guys on motorbikes secure parking and it was free The food was of a very high standard the lobster was well magic the wine even better it was wonderful that you felt part of the family the sea views again beautiful. A stone throw away from costal walks very peaceful We left the hotel to continue our journey refreshed with a smile and a few bottles of the local cidre compliments of the owner. We will be visiting again in sept and it we look forward to meeting everyone again.

Room Tip: be pleasant they will always try to accommodate your needs they got us sorted at the very last minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kp29, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel des Dunes, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Mister
Thank you for your message. I am really happy that you appreciate our hotel and restaurant and I enjoy to receive you again. We take care of the products we choose for the meal and for the wine list too, it takes time to select good wine for the best price and contented our guests.
The staff and I hope to you will have the same pleasure for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Lesconil is wonderful. I have visited this village many times over the past 20 years and stayed on many camp sites in the area. This week we decided to stay at Les Dunes for our final night, what a disappointment. The bar and dining room looked hopeful, the bedroom was very disappointing. The bed, toilet and shower were clean, but the rest of the room grubby, tired and reminiscent of a 1970's railway hotel, wall paper peeling, second hand furniture covered with odd bits of cloth, odd light bulbs in light fitting with no shades. I would not stay here again; it’s a real shame because it could be something very special with its location.

Room Tip: sea side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kp29, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel des Dunes, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for your advice. I would have appreciated if you told us your disappointment when you arrived, we could offer you another room. I am sorry but this room is only 3 years but I understand that “goûts et couleurs” as we say in French, are different, some rooms are yellow, some are blue, other are pink. You had a standard room of 17 squared meters but if you had the idea to book earlier we have bigger room.
Our hotel is from the 30s, full of is own history and the history of Lesconil that you seem like so much. One part of our room is overlooking the sea and the second part overlooking the village, because it was the way to build the hotel at this time but maybe it would be better to destroy it for something more modern and soulless.
For the problem of lighting, we follow the new hospitality classification 2012 which prescribe us to use only bulb with energy saving, I am agree that this light is not really warm but we have not the choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I’m going in this hotel for more than 20 years, there are a lot of good reasons for that. Waking up with a great sea-view is absolutely wonderful, the breakfast buffet has everything you want, especially the typical Brittany cakes. Very nice long beaches close to the hotel, ideal to make sport and prepare yourself for the evening dinner…langoustines, grilled lobsters from “Des Dunes” (so nice !), coquilles Saint-Jacques etc. Each time friends are going to Brittany, I give the address and each time, I have the same question “how can you resist during two weeks !?”. Quite simple, I really like it !

Room Tip: take a room with sea-view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francois J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, North UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were here for three nights, unbooked but relying on the fact that this was a Logis de France chain hotel.

It's an old (30's?) hotel that has had a recent renovation. Our third floor room had a great sea-view, looking out over a dune-y meadow to the beautiful granite rock sculptures that bound the Big and Little coves with their sandy beaches - chilly swimming though! Bed, shower, loos and storage was fine. The price was good, breakfast extensive and with little Breton extras like Far cake. The town is a five minute walk along the coast path.

The restaurant is stylish, spacious and the meal we had was good quality, if a tad on the pricy side. Free parking was extensive, and even shaded if you picked the right spot.

We only had two problems - we wanted somewhere to dry (discreetly) our wet bathing kit and wetsuits. I asked at reception, and was told in no uncertain terms that there was "nowhere".

I understand that hotels do not want their public areas littered with drying clothes, but the enclosed "working area" at the side of the hotel had plenty of space to do this in privacy. I was astonished that a hotel "pieds dan l'eau" - literally a minute's walk from swimming, could not provide this service.

We were also overcharged a hundred euros - an error that we failed to notice till a few hours later. When we returned, our money was returned without quibble, but a little recognition of the trouble we had gone to - a thirty mile round trip - might have been recognised?

So - four stars rather than five, but we would recommend, and return, for the situation and accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkieTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

very expensive petit de jeuner (10 euros in 2010), very basic rooms. Great location, very nice seawalks

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank RWRocksOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lesconil
3.1 mi away
Le Poisson d'Avril
Le Poisson d'Avril
#1 of 2 in Guilvinec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Sterenn
3.6 mi away
Hotel la porte des glenan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Le Goyen
Le Goyen
#1 of 5 in Audierne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
7.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Abbatiale Benodet
7.2 mi away
Villa Tri Men
Villa Tri Men
#1 of 3 in Combrit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Dunes

Property: Grand Hotel des Dunes
Address: 17 rue Laennec, 29740 Lesconil, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Lesconil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lesconil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel des Dunes 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing