We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable hotel but beware the road noise”
Review of Rusland Pool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rusland Pool Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Haverthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at Rusland Pool on a Saturday evening after being at a wedding a few miles down the road. We weren't there for that long (arrived at 2300 on the Saturday evening and left at 0930 the next morning) so I didn't have a huge amount of time to experience the hotel but the one thing I would say is that with it being situated next to a busy road it is VERY noisy. The road in question is very heavily used at all hours and we struggled to get any sleep due to the noise of cars whizzing past, particularly from about 0500 onwards. The fact that it was a very hot weekend, coupled with the lack of a/c, meant we needed to have the window open which exacerbated the problem. If you want a peaceful night's sleep I am afraid that this hotel probably isn't the one for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We brought a coach party of 50 people for an evening meal on our way home to Manchester from Bowness on Windermere. Everyone thought the qualityof the food and choice of our set menu was excellent and excellent value for money. The service we received was real quality, all 50 meals were served to the tables with no waiting or problems. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The dining room we had was beautifully set out with tables of 2/4/6 and we didnt have to sit a long tables as is often the case with coach parties. It is good to hear that they source as much of their food as possible locally.
We are now looking to arrange another trip based around having a meal at the hotel!
Joan, Afternoon Club, Northenden & Wythenshawe

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here to attend a celebration at a nearby hotel, we booked an executive room and it was really lovely, comfortable king size bed, and fab walk in shower. The bar area was lovely with wooden beams, the breakfast was cooked to order and was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazza111884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely service, friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere.
The food was nice and tasty, only thing I would say is the curry was more rice than anything else, and the pavlova sauce from the berries was extremely tart. But all the other meals we got were thoroughly enjoyed.
Would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PopcornLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife had a long days driving and she was struggling to get home and we stopped here on the off chance. What a stroke of luck food,room,staff and ambience absolutely fantastic.
The room was of a high standard and quiet. Tea , coffee and bathroom toiletries very well presented.
We will definitely be staying again thank you so much.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank wassock13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Rusland gets better every time you visit. Highly recommended attention to detail is exemplary. The food is excellent with a varied choice and a specials board. Retaining its coaching house atmosphere a drink in the bar is highly recommended too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank lesliebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have stayed here twice now and have just booked our third stay for this weekend as we absolutely love the hotel.

Location:
The hotel is situated in an ideal location for exploring the lakes, without the annoyance of having to deal with lots of traffic / noise that comes with being in a town center. Two minutes walk away from the hotel is a lovely riverside walk which is ideal for a pre-sunset stroll.At first glance it may seem like the hotel isn't in a brilliant location as it isn't in a town center and is 10 minutes drive from Ulverston but please do not let this put you off - it really is a fantastic location.

Food:
One of the reasons we like this hotel so much is the food. The menu is fantastic and the pub / hotel is obviously geared towards serving food rather than being just a pub. The menu is varied, local and seasonal and everything has always been cooked brilliantly (try the venison!) and I can't wait to try my T-Bone steak (pre-order the day before) this weekend. I would advise booking a table as the restaurant is always busy. Breakfast is also brilliant, there is a wide selection of fruit and cereal, plenty of toast and everything is cooked to order, the serving is plentiful - perfect for setting you up for a day of walking / sightseeing.

Service
The staff at Rusland Pool are excellent, friendly, knowledgeable and they really cannot do enough for you. Service in the restaurant both in the evening and at breakfast cannot be faulted.

Rooms
We have stayed in two different rooms and by far our favorite was room 2 - lovely size room, tastefully decorated, spotless and it has a corner bath and a wonderful view. The room is at the front of the house and if you are a light sleeper the traffic may bother you - however this is minimal and the hotel provide free earplugs.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rusland Pool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusland Pool Hotel

Address: | Beside the main road between Newby Bridge and Ulverston, Haverthwaite LA12 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Haverthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haverthwaite
Price Range: £49 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rusland Pool Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rusland Pool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing