We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel”
Review of Embleton Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embleton Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Spent two nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed our short break - the hotel is set amongst stunning scenery the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The swimming pool and steam room was very welcome after a walk. The bar area and restaurant is very welcoming.
The owners were only into their 3rd week but were very hospitable and we wish them all success
Thanks Anne H

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 506 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

As I was stressed my boyfriend thought it would be a nice idea to take me away for the weekend, to the lake district. Upon this, he chose The Embleton Spa Hotel, which in mine and his opinion was lovely. We relaxed most of the time as this is what the intention was. It was very clean and tidy (loved the bath towels, like ones you get a posh hotel!) as we are only young we found this hotel such a lovely, peaceful place to be. With our own kitchen and living area so we could literally use the facilities as though we were at home, which we found lovely as all we wanted to do was chill away from all the madness of a city.

The only downfall would be that the pool is only open for a number of ours through the day, and we thought it would be nice to have a swim before we got a shower and watched a film, although it is closed earlier on a weekend than it is on the weekdays? Also the breakfast finishing at 10am we found a little early as we were to check out for half past 10 and therefore by the time we had got up packed and gone down we had already missed breakfast, despite the fact of paying for it.

The staff were lovely and we are hoping to return in the summer.

OH and the jacuzzi bath was deffo my highlight!!

Room Tip: The room with the Jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just returned from staying at this lovely family friendly hotel during the October half term. We were greeted with a warm welcome by the hotel staff on arrival and we were made to feel relaxed from beginning to end, throughout our stay .

Our apartment (Whinlatter) was perfect for us, not only for our two teenage boys but for the fantastic views. With two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a spacious lounge and a fully fitted kitchen, all of which decorated to a home from home standard.

Breakfast and and evening meals were of fresh local produce and extremely satisfying. Local Real ales were even available at the bar along with a log fuelled fire to sit round after a walk across the fells or nearby lakes

During our stay we were able to use the Spa facilities (pool, steam room, hot tub and gym) freely, as hotel guests. A much needed treatment after a walk on the hills or around Buttermere lake, of which is extremely recommended. The walk around Buttermere is suited for families with young children or teenagers who are not highly keen on walking!

Thank you to Alistair, Jo, Nicki and Maggs for making our stay such an enjoyable one. We will be back.

The Mullin family

Room Tip: For the amazing views and a spacious family lounge, pick Whinlatter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mullin934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Have just returned from a lovely holiday here. We stayed in the Skidaw apartment. The views were stunning, the food and ambiance superb and the staff could not do enough for you. Will certainly be staying again. Thank you Ali and all your team - wish we were back there now.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had an evening meal at the Bistro as we were self catering near by. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Good choice of food, large meals, reasonably priced and well presented. Would go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivanhoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
21 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embleton Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embleton Spa Hotel

Address: Embleton, Embleton, Cockermouth CA13 9XU, England (Formerly Derwent Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range: £91 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embleton Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an 18th-century Lakeland farmhouse, Embleton Spa Hotel is a relaxed, informal hotel with delightful en-suite rooms, suites and apartments. The Embleton Spa Hotel boasts on site swimming pool, steam room and gym. Each contemporary room/apartment features en suite bathrooms. Most have stunning fell views across the valley. All rooms offer high quality 100% Egyptian cotton linen and large, soft towels. Free Wifi, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, Hair Dryer and Iron are also provided. A laundry service is available.We can accommodate a cot or an extra bed for children in most of our rooms. Many of our rooms also accept dogs. Please inform us when you booking and we will do our best to accommodate you.Using ingredients from local farms, our expert chefs serve traditional Cumbrian food. Enjoy your meal in front of an open fire, or on the terrace looking out over the fells. All rooms include full Cumbrian breakfast. Ideal for exploring the beautiful Lake District, Bassenthwaite Lake is just 3 miles away. Keswick and Cockermouth are just 10 minutes away by car.Leisure facilities include a pool, steam room and gym. Use of the pool, steam room and gym are included in room rates. The pool and steam room are available subject to a timetable, as they are also used for members and classes at certain times during the day. The gym is available all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Embleton Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embleton Hotel Embleton
Embleton Spa Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing