We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL WITH STUNNING VIEWS”
Review of Embleton Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embleton Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady called Margaret, who said we were being given an upgrade to an apartment. This Turned out to be very spacious. Lounge, with two windows overlooking the amazing view. Modern fittedkitchen, luxurious bathroom with jacuzzi bath and state of the art shower, spacious double bedroom. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner each night at the hotel and the food was good. The pool is run by a separate company, and the hotel are allocated a couple of hours morning, lunch and evening. It is a good size, a little cool but bigger than a lot of hotel pools. All in all this was a relaxing break in a lovely informal hotel. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and come back again ourselves. We did feel a little left out as we were the only ones without a dog, in a dog friendly hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jackandshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Embleton Spa is a warm and welcoming hotel, situated in a stunning location. On arrival we were treated to coffee and cake, in the lounge by the log burner. Perfect!
Alistair, the owner and the team are warm, polite also knowledgeable about the area. The team went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.
It would be difficult to find a fault with this hotel or it's management. Everything from towels to food was perfect. The view from our room was stunning.
Additionally there's a gym with a pool attached that guests can use.
Thank you for a wonderfully relaxing stay.
I heartily recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone who needs to de-stress and recharge.
I look forward to returning for a longer break in the near future.

Room Tip: The Thirlmere room, facing the front was excellent and has a stunning view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerNW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

On arrival at the hotel, Ali made us very welcome, as we sat and had complimentary coffee & cake, the hotel and staff were both excellent, I would find it very hard for anyone to find a fault, and I have stayed in many hotels and I give this hotel 100%, on arrival at home I have told both friends& family how fantastic this hotel was and great value for money.we will definitely be staying here again.
Thank you Ali and staff for 3 enjoyable days
Regards Mr and Mrs deakin.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank townson1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Found this holiday deal through Wowcher and I'm so happy we did. We had a lovely relaxing stay with such a friendly and informal atmosphere. Alistair the owner is always there to help and is knowledgeable about local places to go and walks etc. The food was first class too. Lovely sheets and towels, hand wash hand lotion and shower gel from a local supplier. The pool and sauna were welcome extras, as was the gym if you're into keeping fit.

A couple of points I'd mention - there really should be a mattress protector on a hotel bed, plus it was disappointing that there are no twin rooms as my friend and I had to ask for a camp bed in our room, not ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWLadyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just returned from a brilliant long weekend at the Embleton Spa Hotel where we were really well looked after by the team there. The venue is absolutely stunning and in an excellent location – not only to access some fantastic hill and lake walks, but also close enough to some beautiful little towns and other sights to warrant a longer trip than we had had time for. The hotel itself is well equipped with a great restaurant/cafe, cosy bar with wood fire, pool, spa etc, and the staff couldn’t have been more welcoming and eager to look after us. Some thoughtful little touches too that I loved – from the coffee and cake to welcome us when we arrived, to the lighting remote by the bed and aqua jets in the shower in our Skiddaw apartment – to ensure we could truly relax. Good quality food available in the restaurant with some proper home-cooked fare (ginger sponge pudding particularly yummy!), a hearty breakfast in the mornings with decent quality coffee (a rarity in most hotels) and tea, local ale and a nice wine selection in the bar, and a comfy bed – what more could you ask for? A lovely family run hotel that I would highly recommend, and look forward to returning to again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in the Buttermere room and found it comfortable with one double bed and two singles in the other bedroom, one standard bathroom.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and offered good advice on where to go for scenic walks. Margaret is an absolute gem.
The menu was small but appropriate for a quiet time of the year. The food was homely and of a good standard, we both recomend the hotpot if it is available. We chose to eat there for all of our 3 evenings.
We chose not to use the pool, it was busy at times with prebooked swimming lessons, a timetable was clear to see. We were surprised that the spa treatments were not readily available on site and although there is an arrangement with a local beauty company this is not well advertised. We were told that the hotel management have only been in place since October and you can see that Ali is painting, waiting, tour guide, bar man, manager etc he has lots to do but it is evident that he is doing his utmost and it would be a pleasure to go back and see his ideas take hold. Good Luck to the team x

Room Tip: Buttermere has a good view but it is upstairs so not suited to the elderly or disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0ngneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We booked the Ennerdale apartment and were very impressed with the accomodation, it was very spacious and modern with lovely views. We particularly enjoyed the spa bath (pity the water wasn't that hot though!) Complimentary coffee and cake served on arrival was a nice touch - cake was delicious! We had dinner twice in the hotel and were very impressed with the food. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: We were very impressed with the Ennerdale apt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
21.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embleton Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embleton Spa Hotel

Address: Embleton, Embleton, Cockermouth CA13 9XU, England (Formerly Derwent Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range: £90 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embleton Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an 18th-century Lakeland farmhouse, Embleton Spa Hotel is a relaxed, informal hotel with delightful en-suite rooms, suites and apartments. The Embleton Spa Hotel boasts on site swimming pool, steam room and gym. Each contemporary room/apartment features en suite bathrooms. Most have stunning fell views across the valley. All rooms offer high quality 100% Egyptian cotton linen and large, soft towels. Free Wifi, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, Hair Dryer and Iron are also provided. A laundry service is available.We can accommodate a cot or an extra bed for children in most of our rooms. Many of our rooms also accept dogs. Please inform us when you booking and we will do our best to accommodate you.Using ingredients from local farms, our expert chefs serve traditional Cumbrian food. Enjoy your meal in front of an open fire, or on the terrace looking out over the fells. All rooms include full Cumbrian breakfast. Ideal for exploring the beautiful Lake District, Bassenthwaite Lake is just 3 miles away. Keswick and Cockermouth are just 10 minutes away by car.Leisure facilities include a pool, steam room and gym. Use of the pool, steam room and gym are included in room rates. The pool and steam room are available subject to a timetable, as they are also used for members and classes at certain times during the day. The gym is available all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Embleton Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embleton Hotel Embleton
Embleton Spa Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing