We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the little things that ruin the experience....”
Review of Embleton Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embleton Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The first impression was amazing! - great rooms, great views, space...
However, our much awaited fmaily vacation went downhill due to a few little things:
- we clearly indicated that we'll be 6, but there were beds enough only for 5. My daughter compalined that she was cold the whole night as the blanket was too small.
- children were looking forward to the swimming pool, but it is on quite a tight schedule and they could enjoy it only at a specific time.
- what was worse though is the fact that when we wanted to try out the jacuzzi/shower, the water was barely warm ( probably a reflection of too many people using hot water at that specific hour?)...so no spa for us
- we had to wait for our dinner to arrive for more than an hour, which is probably OK in an adult world, but our children certainly did not appreciate that.
- I had to wait 30 minutes to check out

All in all, we would have absolutely loved it IF not for seemingly little things that matter.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 308worldtravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Embleton Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and felt that it was a prime location for visiting the lakes without being in the centre ( too many tourists).
The first night we had our three course meal ( can't remember what we had... Slept since then) but we remember having the balmoral chicken.... OMG it was scrumptious chicken and haggis mmmmmm.
The room was clean and tidy but little moan mattress very soft. The bathroom looked as if it had only just been refurbished and needed the finishing bits sorting!!
About 0600 in the morning your wake up call was the A66 but we got used to the traffic noise.
Mags and all the staff were more than helpful and the cooked breakfast was lovely with proper bacon and sausages.
Just a little note to the staff and owners ... If you had written the specials on the board in the morning we would have stayed for dinner another night and tried the balmoral steak.... I'm sure it would have been fab

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SammLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by friendly staff, we were shown to our room and then offered complimentary coffee and cake in the bar which was a lovely touch. We stayed for 3 nights and included in the package was a 3 course evening meal from the alacarte menu and we were not disappointed, the food was so nice, we booked a table for the following evening. The rooms were cleaned daily. The hotel is in a fantastic position set back from the A66 and great for visiting, Keswick, Cockermouth which are both 10 minutes drive away. We went on lovely walks around Lake Buttermere. We would definitely return to this hotel, as we had a fantastic welcome and lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights & got a upgraded room without any drama or fuss whatsoever which was so refreshing compared to a lot of other hotels we've stayed at...( Top marks) the room was a apartment really as it had a separate bedroom,living room,kitchen & a shower & jacuzzi bath in the bathroom which is top of the range...the view from the room is also fantastic .having a spa onsite is also a massive bonus & gives the hotel that extra special touch...the food was very good & is the biggest burger I've ever had in my life & tastiest ...the breakfast is scrummy & very filling. A special mention must go to Margaret as she was lovely & welcoming to us & couldn't do enough for us, as were all the staff at the hotel,you all made our stay so lovely. We would most definitely stay here again & will be highly recommending the Embleton spa hotel to all our family & friends..So keep up the excellent work guys your doing a fabulous job...Thank - you..Mr & Mrs D

Room Tip: Choose the Ennerdale room...fantastic views & everything you need & very large with separate...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 133MrsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here after finding a good deal on the Internet. We were given an upgrade on our room because it was available. The view was beautiful. The staff were really helpful and friendly and breakfast was great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arg222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights, bought a deal from the wowcher website as a short break for myself and my boyfriend - we certainly were not disappointed! The three course menu was superb, a good choice of dishes with locally sourced produce - the garlic mushroom starter was to die for and the burger I had was immense! My partner had "Chicken Balmoral" - chicken stuffed with haggis wrapped in bacon, he said it was delicious - on one of the nights I had lamb cutlets which were lovely. Our hotel room "Derwent" was a good size, it had a beautiful view of the hills and sheep in the nearby fields, the room was very clean and had a good powerful shower. The pool was a good size, not overrun with guests and the water was warm - the only down side is that the showers in the changing rooms were freezing cold! We were given a timetable of when the pool was available for members to use it - this was fine as we didn't go there to spend all of our time swimming and the pool was available the majority of the time. The gym was a good size and well-equipped with different machines & weights. The hotel staff were all very friendly & could not do enough for you, in particular a lady called "Mags" - very good at her job. As part of the deal we were offered coffee and cake on arrival but as we checked in quite late, Mags suggested we had dinner and she could give us our cake and coffee in the afternoon the following day - a wise choice!

Overall we had a really enjoyable stay at the Embleton Spa Hotel and would definitely recommend to a friend - if we visit the Lake District again we would definitely book another short stay here!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Abbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just what I would expect
They couldn't have done more to make our stay better. Including making sure we were off to our meeting on time.

Breakfast was brilliant and tasted fresh and local. None of your tesco value sausages. Hash browns to die for.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
21.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embleton Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embleton Spa Hotel

Address: Embleton, Embleton, Cockermouth CA13 9XU, England (Formerly Derwent Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range: £93 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embleton Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an 18th-century Lakeland farmhouse, Embleton Spa Hotel is a relaxed, informal hotel with delightful en-suite rooms, suites and apartments. The Embleton Spa Hotel boasts on site swimming pool, steam room and gym. Each contemporary room/apartment features en suite bathrooms. Most have stunning fell views across the valley. All rooms offer high quality 100% Egyptian cotton linen and large, soft towels. Free Wifi, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, Hair Dryer and Iron are also provided. A laundry service is available.We can accommodate a cot or an extra bed for children in most of our rooms. Many of our rooms also accept dogs. Please inform us when you booking and we will do our best to accommodate you.Using ingredients from local farms, our expert chefs serve traditional Cumbrian food. Enjoy your meal in front of an open fire, or on the terrace looking out over the fells. All rooms include full Cumbrian breakfast. Ideal for exploring the beautiful Lake District, Bassenthwaite Lake is just 3 miles away. Keswick and Cockermouth are just 10 minutes away by car.Leisure facilities include a pool, steam room and gym. Use of the pool, steam room and gym are included in room rates. The pool and steam room are available subject to a timetable, as they are also used for members and classes at certain times during the day. The gym is available all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embleton Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embleton Hotel Embleton
Embleton Spa Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing