We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at last”
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn

Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Embleton
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our aim is to offer a relaxed,welcoming village pub with great service,ambience and creatively home cooked food,produced in our kitchen. Enjoy the atmosphere of a classic English inn with a real log fire crackling away on a cold winters night. Settle down with a pint of our local ale or whatever your favourite tipple is. Dogs are allowed in the bar making us a perfect for all those enjoying a good country walk with your four legged friend. We also offer bed and breakfast in our double or twin room and enjoy a full English breakfast to start the day a head.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food at last”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Have eaten here a few times over the last six years and have seen landlords come and go. At last this pub seems to have found owners that actually care about their business and customers. Really good and filling food and warm welcome. Hope it will be a success, it should be based on what I've seen.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank janetandmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleNev, Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Many Thanks for your review.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    41
    11
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polmont, Falkirk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were looking for somewhere to eat just outside of Cockermouth and had seen the very positive reviews of the Wheatsheaf so decided to give it a try. The service was friendly and the menu had a good selection of dishes - something to suit everyone. I opted for a chcken dish with a bacon, white wine and cheese sauce and my husband ordered chicken tikka masala. I was going to order us a portion of chips to share as both of these dishes were served with rice. The waitress said there was no need for any extras as the portions were very generous - she was not joking!!!!! When the meals arrived they came accompanied by a huge ashet of home made chips for the table as well as baby boiled, potatoes, broccoli and carrots. There was enough food to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. The food was also beautifully cooked and we were all very happy. My dad's fish was the size of a whale. When my sister and her family stopped off for a break in their travels we knew just where to take them and returned happily the next night. The food was just as good as before - everything seemed to be home made and was piping hot. It was superb value for money. Hope to return again in the future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElsieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We initially set out to eat in cockermouth but could not park with current roadworks. So decided to find somewhere on way back and came upon this pub, i thought oh no pubgrub not what i wanted but there is a really good menu, i had seafood grill, salmon, haddock, swordfish and 4 huge prawns, the side dish was about 10 new potaoes, mixed veg and buttered carrots (all really tasty), my husband had a beef roast, and it looked like he had the joint as slices were so thick. Really nice food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fionawarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food for walkers.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We've been walking in this area several times and have always enjoyed eating in the Wheatsheaf. After a day's walking you need a good square meal and the present incumbents certainly provide this. A good choice of menu, generous portions, piping hot and reasonably priced, what more could you want! We visited twice this week and were well satisfied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamw0rth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleNev, Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Many thanks for your review.
Walkers are always welcome in our bar for food/drinks, we hope you enjoyed your time in the lake district
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Cannot fault this place. We stayed at Winder Hall just down the road and sampled the many alcoholic beverages on offer. You must try the Scrumpy Jack!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing