We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent food”
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn

Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Embleton
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our aim is to offer a relaxed,welcoming village pub with great service,ambience and creatively home cooked food,produced in our kitchen. Enjoy the atmosphere of a classic English inn with a real log fire crackling away on a cold winters night. Settle down with a pint of our local ale or whatever your favourite tipple is. Dogs are allowed in the bar making us a perfect for all those enjoying a good country walk with your four legged friend. We also offer bed and breakfast in our double or twin room and enjoy a full English breakfast to start the day a head.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent food”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visited this pub restaurant as we had family visiting, the service was excellent from the start, really friendly. Dogs are welcome in this pub, as it caters for the 'Fell Walkers' visiting the area.
There is ample off road parking and should the weather be good, a pleasant beer garden overlooks the lovely Fells, near Bassenthwaite Lake.
We ordered a variety of meals from the menu, the Roast (lamb, beef, turkey) were exceptional value at £9.95 and were of a real quality! The gammon steak was equally well received and the scampi was again 5 star.
I would recommend this pub ( good choice of local beers) to anyone visiting the area!
I will be a regular visitor to this pub from now on!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisle88, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments.
We hope to see you again soon at the Wheatsheaf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    41
    11
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent night, good food, good staff.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We turned up at the Wheatsheaf on spec and we're absolutely delighted. They moved us upstairs as a stag party was arriving (who, incidentally, we're no bother). The meal was excellent, great portions and the puddings were brilliant. Coupled with the welcome, we will return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisle88, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many Thanks for a lovely review.
Were glad you enjoyed your food.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Friendly Service 10 out of 10”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have eaten here several times fab food fab family run pub which has been needed locally staff are all friendly helpful polite and approachable we would highly recommend

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rude Owners”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A group of five of us visited this place on Sunday 17th August at 7:50pm. No staff on at the bar, so we had a look upstairs to see if there was any tables and by surprise there was a four table and two table, so we headed back down stairs to wait by the bar for someone to serve us where there was also another four table.

A middle aged lady with black hair walked past us without a smile who we were informed was indeed the new occupier. She looked us up and down and walked into the kitchen, a few minutes later she arrived back and asked what we wanted. We asked if she was still serving and she nodded. She then said 'how many for?' obviously by looking at us there was five of us standing. We then replied 'table for five for food?' her reply was no we have no room. There was a a four table next to us that could have had a chair put on the end and when we suggested that she said no. We also sated there was tables free upstairs as we had seen them and again her reply was no. This is not how you get custom, and if you want returning customers you should at least be more polite with customers. The attitude was horrendous and she is a very unfriendly women.

I would advise to skip this pub and nip across the road to the Derwent Water Hotel where we greeted by friendly staff who accommodated us, also the food is utterly FAB at the Derwent Water. We where told by another customer at the Derwent Water that your face has to fit to be able to eat at the Wheat Sheaf. With occupiers like her id dread to see what your face has to look like to fit!!

So yes I will not be returning to the Wheat Sheaf inn, hopefully a new set of occupiers will soon take over!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank HD892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisle88, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are sorry you had a bad experience at our restaurant.
Unfortunately we do have busy periods and if you turn up without booking we will sometimes be unable to cater for your party.
We cannot keep everyone happy, but do try our very best.
Everyone is welcome at the Wheatsheaf... and that is why people just keep coming back.
We hope you enjoyed your meal at the alternative restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food at last”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Have eaten here a few times over the last six years and have seen landlords come and go. At last this pub seems to have found owners that actually care about their business and customers. Really good and filling food and warm welcome. Hope it will be a success, it should be based on what I've seen.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank janetandmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleNev, Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Many Thanks for your review.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing