We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Town Barton

Town Barton
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doddiscombsleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Town Barton
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed one night here with our six year old. It is a perfect location for us near friends. We were made to feel very welcome and our room was very good. We would recommend and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedroseUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Sa very charming old manor. Spacious, clean, beautifully decorated room. A very nice touch - complimentary cherry!

Room Tip: Room 6. Very spacious, beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aiste T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Went to the exhibition biennial Doddiscombsleigh Art Exhibition and stayed overnight at this B&B on the recommendation of the adjacent Nobody Inn. Basically the old manor house with the most recent addition being (we think) Georgian. Perfect quiet and rural setting, ideal if you like being left to yourself - affable host Nick did precisely that. Room 5 was HUGE, tastefully decorated and dotted with interesting pieces of furniture. Mattress in the four poster was very comfy. Breakfast option is either continental style left in your room to self cater or a stroll through the garden to the Nobody Inn for a full English. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms are not en suite - specify bathroom if you want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thinkaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here more by chance in that the neighbouring Nobody's Inn was full. The house is privately owned and in beautiful surroundings. Our Room (No 6) had a view of the moors and the Church, tastefully decorated with "teapig" teabags and ground coffee along with fresh milk and a fridge. Even a glass of sherry on arrival. A lovely quiet location with a very pleasant host. We would thoroughly recommend this house and will be back as we love the area

Room Tip: Beautiful big room with great views and great facilities. Lovely ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaug57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Beautiful old manor house that is beautifully presented. The room we had was large and beautifully decorated. We tried both the breakfast at the Nobody Inn, which is a short walk from Town Barton, and the continental, both of which we excellent.

Town Barton is not the easiest place to get to as the roads are very narrow and windy and not for the faint hearted! If you are looking for nightlife this is not for you. If you want beautiful old manor house, a lovely pub (fabulous food served at the Nobody), great hosts and beautiful scenery this is the place for you. We will definintely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cate17uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We have just returned from an excellent stay. The house itself is tucked away next to the church. On arrival our large room was immaculate and very well decorated. The extra touches are what makes a stay here so good: biscuits from a local lady who bakes, two types of ground roast coffee, fresh milk in the fridge. They have a 'special relationship' with the Nobody Inn which is a great pub with rooms and lovely food too. You can choose to have breakfast at the Nobody Inn if you want a full English. It is 150 yards across the field and the provide wellies and a torch if required! We decided not to take that option and had a continental tray in the room. Not your usual fare: fresh honey from a local hive, local preserves, great bread and muslie. We have booked our next stay already!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HectorColumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Set in delightful country side, great restaurant 150 yards away.

House itself is very elegant and the room was huge and elegant.

We had a great stay there.

Bonus...the owner runs a boutique wine operation. Residents get a 10% discount!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taktak60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Town Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Barton

Address: Town Barton Town Barton None | Nr Exeter, Doddiscombsleigh, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Doddiscombsleigh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Doddiscombslei...
Price Range: £38 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town Barton offers four well appointed rooms in a historic manor house situated in rolling Devon countryside at Doddiscombsleigh.Town Barton is situated in its own grounds adjacent to Doddiscombsleigh’s parish church and The Nobody Inn, in the Teign Valley. Early references to the house date from Domesday and in 1241, was the manor house of Sir Ralph de Doddiscomb.Ideally situated for many wedding venues and events in and around the Exeter area. Biking, fishing, riding, horse racing, golf and forest walks are all available close by and Dartmoor and the coast are within easy reach.Only three miles from the A38 and four miles from the A30, Town Barton provides quiet spacious accommodation, off the beaten track, both for business travellers and those with other onward destinations - deepest Cornwall, the Eden Project, Padstow, the Scilly Isles or Plymouth and the Continent.All the rooms are en suite with televisions, free wi-fi access and facilities for preparing a continental breakfast and hot drinks. Two rooms are on the ground floor with one step into the bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Town Barton Doddiscombsleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing