We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B and B”
Review of Shute Cottage B&B

Shute Cottage B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doddiscombsleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shute Cottage B&B
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here 17-19 May nts inc. The facilities are excellent, venue peaceful and idyllic, location quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was superb. The owner is friendly and helpful. Shute Cottage B and B provides superb value all round.

Room Tip: The Barn has a fridge and cooking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed in the lovely barn conversion which is really pretty and fitted out to a very high standard. The kingsize bed is very comfortable and this is a great place to stay to really recharge your batteries! You can choose to have breakfast in the B & B, which we did and it was superb. The owner is very friendly and lent us guides to the local area and recommended places to visit. The cottage is situated in a very quiet lane surrounded by fields and next to a stream. A short walk down the lane is one the best traditional pubs I have ever visited, with a great welcome and excellent food. We spent a really lovely weekend exploring the local area and we will definitely be going back. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights in the barn conversion - nicely done, fresh and clean with nice bathroom, free-view TV and kitchenette...and with original barn features (exposed stone wall, beams etc), and most comfortable bed we've ever slept in! We didn't want to leave!

Excellent location with stream running in garden and pony's in the fields outside...wonderful for walking or for a Wedding at the Great Barn our primary reason for going...no problems with Taxis as per previous comment. Great pubs nearby.

Delicious breakfast...would like to return for longer.

There is no mobile reception but that's half the beauty of going into the sticks...and the owner will happily make a call for you or you can walk up the road 50 metres to get reception easily.

Highly recommend. Thank you Carol for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeaandBabyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife and I stayed in the barn at Shute Cottage for 2 nights to attend a wedding at the nearby Great Barn. The barn at Shute Cottage has a comfortable king size bed, a kitchen and a bathroom with shower, we slept well and breakfast was good . The owner is friendly and helpful and the location is peaceful, a little stream running through the grounds is often the only sound you'll hear.

I'd stay here again and would recommend it to people trying to escape to the Devon countryside for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here in October 2009 (not 2011 as I've had to put for the date!) for two nights whilst attending a friend's wedding in nearby Ashton. We found Shute Cottage online and, based on it's proximity to the wedding location, booked a two night B&B stay. We drove down to Devon from the West Midlands early in the day, spent the early afternoon in Dawlish and arrived at Shute in the late afternoon. The lady owner was extremely friendly and had upgraded us from the in-house double room to the barn-conversion annexe for no additional cost. The annexe included a self-contained kitchen and dining area with appliances. The bed wa a very comfortable king size, and the ensuite bathroom was a wet-room with power shower.

We'd tried to arrange taxis from Shute to the wedding venue in advance of our arrival, and had had no joy. The owner did her utmost to also try and arrange us a taxi, but all taxis in the area were booked so we drove there and back. Because of this, we left the wedding early (as the roads are narrow and not lit). Upon arrival back, we were met at the door by the owner, asking how our day went and offering us some beer since we were back early!

All-in-all, our two day stay at Shute was very enjoyable. Whilst not being ideally located for easy access across Devon, it is a wonderful little B&B in a beautiful part of the world.

One small word of warning (not about Shute, but about the area): Doddiscombeleigh is located in a valley, and quite a steep one at that. The road in is a bit hairy, driving out is an experience too! There is little to no mobile phone coverage in the village, and Freeview TV coverage was (at the time) non-existant (although Shute used FreeSat, which was nice).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shute Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shute Cottage B&B

Address: Shute Cottage Ashton Lane, Doddiscombsleigh EX6 7RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Doddiscombsleigh
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Doddiscombslei...
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Shute Cottage B&B Doddiscombsleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing