We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOST EXCEPTIONAL HOTEL”
Review of Dreamland Dooars

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lataguri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dreamland Dooars
Ranked #6 of 11 Lataguri B&B and Inns
Kharagpur, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MOST EXCEPTIONAL HOTEL”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

we booked 5 rooms of this hotel for 3 days after seeing the review report here, this hotel itself really a dreamland. no other side tour is required for one day , you can enjoy in this hotel through out the day.there r boating, swimming (with proper swimming costume) , garden , park, fishing etc..the most important thing is in that jungle no one is having an idea of such a beautiful hotel with an excellent service.Rooms are very big , neat nd clean toilet , with lcd tv,freeze,tea/ coffee maker, only they have used more mattress on bed for comfort but those who r having spondylytis , they may face some problem.Here breakfast is complimentary, one thing is that it is excellent providing a to z types of food.Beaware of the receptionist Mr.Ayan , this person is horrible, Book this hotel from kolkata office, ask for MRS. CHATTERJEE, she will book the rooms nd help you a lot to get the best rooms in best discounts .If you face any problem with the hotel reception call to kolkata office and talk to Mr. ARKA who will help you a lot. Once again thanx to Mrs. chatterjee and Mr. arka for helping us. we will surely again try other hotels of dreamland group.

Room Tip: choose the jungle facing rooms , choose 2nd nd 3rd floor rooms. All the rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samrat1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
3
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Took 3 rooms, reasonably priced and well appointed as they are new. Construction of some other rooms still on. Location is great - right opposite where a trail to the forest starts. We saw peacocks and fireflies (at night) and it was beautiful. The staff are polite and try their best, but there are a few things you will need to check when you get your room - geyser was not functioning in 2 of our rooms, but we didn't miss it as the climate was muggy. The bed is like a hammock - pathetic if you have a back problem, so remove the first mattress. Food is so so. Breakfast is complimentary. Electricity comes and goes so be prepared!
It seems like the go to resort for company conferences and if there's a huge party of 50-60 folks then the staff are scrambling around to take care of them. Also, not sure how it was allowed, but they had blaring music on one night, which not only disturbed us a bit, but I am sure the animals would have been unhappy too...but all in all a decent base for Gorumara Wildlife Sanctuary.

Room Tip: We had 402, 403 and 404 - great views and nothing to complain about! If you like to sleep on a hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pakhibagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
440 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,203 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were very apprehensive about the location in general and about this trip overall,in the initial period. But on hindsight, this was a great holiday experience which we thoroughly enjoyed. This trip was made in February 2013, when there was still a little nip in the air.

We had traveled by the Shatabdi Express to NJP which reached late in the evening , and the hotel authorities had arranged transport for us from NJP. The route through Siliguri initially,then through forest areas of North Bengal, and finally tea gardens of Malbazar are fantastic,especially at night. We saw a huge bison while on our way.The drive takes about 120 odd minutes from NJP Railway Station,as the roads are empty after 10pm. We reached in the dead of the night.

We were greeted cordially at the reception even at that hour with a cool refreshing drink.The approach road to the hotel is through a part of the Lataguri Forest area, and thus quite desolate at night and scary too. Most of the hotels in this area are on the highway,which one have to leave behind to come to this part of the forest area,where this particular hotel is located. Just beside this one is another hotel from another group, which also has hotel in Mandarmoni and other places.

Rooms were very neat and tidy and all linens,towels etc were very clean ( see pic). This hotel had a elevator, but it wasn't working at that time .
[ We were again accompanied by the same co-owner in this trip, who was with us during our Mandarmoni trip - see my that trip . So we had the best of service this time too ]

We had diner earlier,and were tired too. So we retired early. Next day we woke up early to the sounds of the forest and chirping birds.The view from the balcony was marvelous,especially the Sunrise from the back of the forest was too good ( see pic ).

Food through our stay was exceptionally good and the spread was decent too. We had asked for room service,as the elevator was non-functional and the dining space/restaurant is at the ground floor. The entire campus of the hotel is sprawling and there was lot of constructions going on at the periphery and back, during our visit.At that time swimming pool was not there too,but who does swimming when you visit a forest resort ?!

The walk in the lawns,the venture outside hotel area to see the forest road which goes into Lataguri Forest etc are memorable experience. In the evenings, there isn't much to do,and the owners had arranged musical programs for our entertainment.

They had also arranged for a early morning forest tour on bullock carts for us. Enjoyable but you would be lucky to catch some wild animal.

See the accompanying pictures and you will surely like this place,and visit once.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Shourjendra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The hotel is a 2-3 hr drive from bagdogra airport, The resort is newly build and serene. Just opposite one of the trail sites for Safari. It is off the highway hence very silent. The food was very good. Has conference facilities with good generator backup. As it is in forest area outside there are a number of insects but the rooms have mosquito repellents and the no insect troubles until you do not leave the balcony door open.
Rooms are equipped with Cable LCD Tvs, AC, Geyser.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 911Ankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hotel is new calm and quite and as always the food is excellent,there is a swimming pool and the landscape is quite good.The hotel is quite big with a big lobby.The bed and furnitures are new the rooms are well kept.Room service is good,and the view of the forests is clear as it is just opposithe the forest and in front of the hotel is the forest road,the hotel arranges for permit to visit the forest at stipulated times.One should be careful not to venture out in the late evenings on walk it is likely to invite danger,close to the hotel there is a village in the forest known as KALAMATI now it requires permit to visit the village.Ideal time for visit is SEPTEMBER TO APRIL though there are plenty of a/c room with generator back-up summer afternoon are hot but it changes with a little shower.

Room Tip: All forest facing rooms from 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 12345125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lataguri
12.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
9.1 mi away
The Journey's
The Journey's
#2 of 4 in Jalpaiguri
2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aranya Jungle Resort
Aranya Jungle Resort
#1 of 21 in Lataguri
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Resort
Lake View Resort
#11 of 21 in Lataguri
5 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Reserve Gorumara
The Reserve Gorumara
#1 of 4 in Gorumara National Park
110 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Riverwood Forest Retreat - Dooars
The Riverwood Forest Retreat - D...
#1 of 2 in Dakshin Dhupjhora
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamland Dooars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamland Dooars

Property: Dreamland Dooars
Address: Kalamati Road, Purbo Lataguri | Dist.Jalpaiguri, Lataguri, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Jalpaiguri District > Lataguri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lataguri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringe of the Gorumara National Park. The exotic view of natural Fauna & Flaura, naturally located forest with diversity of Wilderness all around. One can study the large label of distribution of Shrubs & Herbs, insects like butterfly & many more. While driving through the base of the forest, one can feel the calmness & something about to happen anytime during the Safari inside the forest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing