We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great food!”
Review of Derwentwater Arms

Derwentwater Arms
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Calver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Derwentwater Arms is a warm & friendly Pub / Restaurant set high in the village of Calver it has great views of the surounding peaks and edges.It is set back from the main road in the 'old' village, a real hidden gem.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mostly great food!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Four of us visited, and two had the beef and ale pie (declared to be the best pie both people had had for years) - packed full of meat and very tasty; one had haddock and chips which was also good, and I had the duck breast with rosti in a grand marnier sauce - but the sauce covered the bottom of the entire plate and was far too overpowering and sweet unfortunately. Agree with the comment about the door on the ladies' toilet - made us jump each time it slammed shut! However, the service seemed good, and pricing was really good for the quality of the meals too, at around ten pounds for many of the mains. Will definitely be back for the pies!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MancKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    59
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a good visit”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner have been here a few times over the last few months and the chef is fantastic, really excellent food and the service was excellent too, the young girl behind the bar and waiting on was very friendly and looked after us well, all despite the fact I believe the pub is in the middle of a take over, as we were told by a couple of local diners, the two of them have been mainly on their own everyday and the pair are clearly exhausted, which is a shame really. Our last visit was a little different, we spent bank holiday sunday in the area and popped in for a meal, I noticed a new man behind the bar, unfortunately he was sweating buckets and was obviously very stressed out barking orders at the other staff, I asked an elderly gentleman waiter who he was and was informed he was soon to be the new landlord.. honestly we were abit shocked as the bloke didnt look like he had a hard days work in him and didnt seem to really know what he was doing, thankfully the rest of the staff were there to help him out otherwise we probably would of walked out, I Hope they keep on the old staff and chef as we love coming here and we dont want it to change too much.

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pub was really quiet for a bank holiday , but fish dish ordered was excellent plus well kept peak ales

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ok food, service and environment...”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Food is ok here, been a number of times but the wait for service.. Also the ladies loo has no closer on the door, slam, slam, slam, slam...

Helpful?
Thank Hungrydavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food but shame about the service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

visited because of previous good reviews. the couple running the pub seem very lacking in customer service and obviously have a lot to learn if they want people to return. the food however was very good and good value. it was a shame it was let down by very slow service no smiles or a friendly word and please get rid the sarson vinegar bottles!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonnebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Derwentwater Arms also viewed

Calver, Hope Valley
Stoney Middleton, Hope Valley
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Calver, Hope Valley
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Derwentwater Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing