We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lobster”
Review of Fjorubordid

Fjorubordid
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stokkseyri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$90
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At the seashore the giant langoustine makes appointments with mermaids and landlubbers. He waves his large claws, attracting the desire to be in the company of starfish and lumpfish. The village´s corrugated iron houses, located just above its harbour, smack of ocean fragrance and seahorses. The soup is magical. It is suitable for numerous occasions and happy moments on ordinary days, but Fjöruborðið takes no responsibility for consequences or stirring adventures that could result from ingesting it. It has a will of its own and, as such, it is risky for those who don't want to venture beyond the average. This is the most famous langoustine soup in the Republic of Iceland, prepared by handsome cooks who step naked out of the ocean at Stokkseyri with their catch.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious lobster”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant at the seashore in Stokkseyri Very romantic & cozy atmosphere. I always order lobster soup it is served with bread & two kind of dipping sauce, YUMMY !

Helpful?
Thank Helga J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    127
    46
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this small township purely for this restaurant and we weren't disappointed! We ordered the three course lobster menu plus an extra soup starter between two and there was plenty of food. The whole meal was delicious and well worth the 12,000 krona.

Helpful?
Thank Sam1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Arguably our best meal in Iceland”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As mentioned in my previous reviews, dining in Iceland can get pretty expensive. This restaurant is not an exception. In order to have a full meal per person, the prices were way out of our reach. However, we managed to find a reasonable solution to this issue. We split the Three Course Lobster menu and oh boy, was it worth it. Delicious lobster soup, delicious lobster with potatoes and veggies and delicious choice of dessert. Everything was delicious. And it is the only word that comes to mind.
I have to absolutely disagree with the previous reviewer regarding the speed of the service. We were in rush to bring the car back to Reykjavik at the end of our trip and we were out of the restaurant within an hour. That's considering we really took our time to enjoy the meal. On top of that I had a glass of local beer Skjalfti, which can also be tasted in Micro Bar (Reykjavik).
Overall, I have to say that this was one of my most pleasant culinary experiences in Iceland.
The only issue would be - location. Unless you're visiting the town of Selfoss, there is no real excuse to pass by Stokkseyri. However, I truly believe that this restaurant alone is good enough of an excuse.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6shot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really slooow service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The food was good but the service was really bad. The service staff seemed to be quite young and more interested in chatting with each other than doing their job. Once we got seated we waited first 20 minutes even to place the order (I had to go to the counter and ask for it). We offer three course lobster menu. Waited another 30 minutes to get the starter which was a lobster soup. Main course and dessert came quite ok. But again we had to wait for 30 minutes to get the bill. And we were only ones left!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PauliinaHKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious lobster”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This restaurant is known for it's lobster and deservedly so. This was one of the best meals we had in Iceland. Simply presented a dish full of lobster tails (langoustines) in garlic and butter - delicious!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Jane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fjorubordid also viewed

Eyrarbakki, South Region
 
Eyrarbakki, South Region
Selfoss, South Region
 

Been to Fjorubordid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing