We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mums 70th”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rainham
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mums 70th”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I would just like to say how fantastic our evening was. We booked a table for 12 for my mum in laws 70th on 23rd Feb 2013.
We were greeted by friendly staff in the restaurant bar area. we had a couple of drinks before we were seated ( which the staff didn't mind that it was 15 mins later than we booked).
We have a fantastic big round table so we could all talk to each other, rather than having people stuck on ends of tables etc.
The waiter we had was exceptional, he remembered all our drinks all eveing, we wasn't rushed at all. The whole atmosphere was very good, the restaurant was fully booked too, but that made NO difference to the service.
The choice of food was remarkable. Each course we had was devine, and very good portion sizes etc. We are ALL going back again very soon.
We all thoroughly recommend The Manor for any kind of function. In fact we are going to book our wedding here for next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heidibarker75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    49
    20
    11
    13
See reviews for
58
47
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I decided to try the Manor as a Valentine treat and what a treat is was !!! From the minute we walked in we were looked after. We had arrived early so went to the bar for a pre-dinner tipple. Everywhere was immaculately clean and we were asked if we would like the menu to have a look at before being shown to our table. The place was full so had a really good atmosphere. We were shown to our table which was a small table for two in the cornder. The choice for starter main and dessert was excellent. When the food arrived it was lovely and could not fault a thing. All staff were very attentive but not over the top. We were not rushed between each course which made a lovely change. Would most definately recommend and will be going back in the near future. When we went to pay the bill we asked if 10% could be added for the service, however there credit card machne was unable to add this to our bill so was unable to leave a well deserved tip !!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Been hear a few times for Sunday lunch.

Good service friendly and fun staff.

Food good, well priced.

Nice Sunday luch choice.

Clean, smart and well layed out place.

I would not go back though as the now don't take American express, for anyone that collects air miles, like we do it's very important to collect them, so we missed out big time, shame!

But if you not an American express customer and you want a nice meal... GO THERE!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveshoppingKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

The food in the restaurant has never failed us, and we have visited often. We would go bi-weekly if it wasn't for the ambience...there isn't any. Decor is drab and lighting much too bright, I think even if they turned down the lighting of an evening it would improve the atmosphere. Staff are always pleasant and helpful.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

stopped for two nights just b&b rooms etc brilliant could not find any better if we tried the only thing i did'nt like was the coffee it was like COSTA COFFEE mud.this is the second time we have stayed there in the last twelve months

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny2165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Recently visited this restaurant with some friends, We always try and go to a local restaurant for a Christmas meal and we were not disappointed. A good selection of starters, mains and delicious puddings. Wine either served by the glass or bottle. Food very well cooked. Staff were very pleasant. Considering I hadn't been for a few months with my family - the Head Waiter and Staff still remembered me.
We will certainly go back with our families in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STELLAB830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed here in December 2012 for our second stay, we have had an excellent meal both times, very impressed with the chef, service in the restaurant was outstanding, rooms are very nice, near to London and local attractions, whats not to like?

Room Tip: The penthouse is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markwilliambowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainham
2.1 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hornchurch
218 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
933 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
81 reviews
17.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
2.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Berwick Pond Road, Rainham RM13 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Rainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rainham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the charming Essex countryside, The Manor is a wonderful setting for your memorable wedding. The contemporary, elegant venue has a warm, inviting atmosphere, perfect for your big day. The Manor is one of the only venues in Essex licensed to hold civil ceremonies outside. We have a wonderful selection of versatile function spaces to hold your ceremony, including a marquee which can hold upto 500 guests, glorious gardens and a versatile terrace space. We can offer ceremony-only packages at a discounted rate if you arrange your big day between Monday and Thursday. The private dining suite is perfect for small, intimate events, seating up to 22 guests for a wonderfully private event. We offer a fantastic range of wedding packages to help you plan your big day, your way. Any guests wishing to spend the night here can enjoy a luxurious night's stay in one of our well-appointed, stylish, en-suite bedrooms. For more information, please get in touch with our team today. We look forward to helping you create a truly memorable wedding. • Licence to hold Civil weddings on site within picturesque gardens • Package and bespoke deals to suit any requirements arranged with our dedicated wedding coordinator, making the planning an enjoyable journey! • Picturesque gardens and terrace area exclusive to your wedding day only! • Stylish on site accommodation for you and your guests! • Flexible choice of menus devised by our talented chefs, making your wedding breakfast a meal to remember • Option of extending the space with a stylish Marquee for larger groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel & Restaurant Rainham, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing