We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good good, service mixed and rooms decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rainham
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good good, service mixed and rooms decent”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I stay here regularly on business as its handy for dagenham. The rooms are fine, good wifi and dinner is always delicious.
Breakfast isn't as good and why no fruit!!!
Service is mixed and often I struggle to communicate with waiters who don't have English as their first language
Best option in the area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    49
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
56
46
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I regularly lunch with friends at the Manor Restaurant. The food is always good and varied and well presented. Lunchtime menu is reasonably priced and it is so nice to have tablecloths and proper white napkins. The staff are friendly but professional and nothing is too much trouble. I happily recommend anyone to go there and know that they will get looked after.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We took 25 elderly people for afternoon tea at "The Manor Hotel" The sandwiches, scones and cakes we delicious served with a non stop supply of tea or coffee, but more importantly to us was the way the staff made everyone feel so special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I booked via the hotel directly as the hotel sites said no rooms available. Reasonable price which included breakfast. My partner and I stayed here yesterday night. The hotel is located in a quiet rural area in pretty grounds. There is plenty of car park space. On arrival we were warmly greeted by a lady at reception who booked us in and explained where everything was. The room was a tad small but sufficient for our needs. The hotel supplies towels and toiletries, plus tea and coffee making facilities. There was air conditioning and a table fan. We used the fan almost continuously as the room was stuffy and the sash window didn't stay open (we propped it up with various items)! Our room overlooked a pretty garden area on one side and the air conditioning units on the other. We didn't hear any noise from them luckily. There was a bar, lounge and restaurant by reception with friendly staff. We sat outside in the sunshine at the front of the hotel. We both had tasty evening meals and the portions were large. For breakfast this morning he had full English and I chose an omelette. Very nice. Again the waiter was friendly. Checkout this morning was smooth and the gentleman friendly. Only a couple of gripes.............There was a 13th Birthday party celebration going on in the garden from around 7pm with music full blast. Bearing in mind our room overlooked it we opted to go to the cinema! By the time we got back all was peaceful again. If I stayed there again I would ask for a room away from the garden area. The window (see earlier comment). Petty things I know - there was no hairdryer, although there was an iron and ironing board. There was no bath mat so we used a towel. Neither of the bedside lamps had working bulbs. Bed was very creaky. However, taking into account the whole experience we would definitely stay here again, and recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the garden where parties are held.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaycee-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night. The hotel looked nice on arrival however once we checked into our room we found it was very small. When returning to our room after The function we attended we were extremely disappointed to discover a function going on directly below our hotel room. The music was still blaring at 1:30am. We phoned the hotel reception several times to enquire when this would end but got no direct answer. Eventually it ended at approximately 2am but we were subjected to another hour listening to drunken antics outside
Our window. Before booking this hotel i would find out whether the hotel is hosting a function and if so I would avoid!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frannychina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stone
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Don't be fooled by the location of this hotel out in the middle of barren Essex east of London, its gem. We needed a hotel for an overnight stay visiting relatives in North Kent and the price via Laterooms fitted the bill.

The building itself is very a very smart in small but well kept grounds. We arrived quite late and the night porter was very helpful as were the bar staff. The interior has been decorated in a very modern style and the upkeep is excellent, the room was well appointed and spotless as was the bathroom (not spot of mould that is soooo common)

There was a private party on which was quite loud but the music finished as promised on time and we got a great nights sleep in a huge comfortable bed. Only short coming in the room was the TV which was so small (??15inch) for the size of the room and was difficult to see properly from the bed.

Full English breakfast which was included was very good and again all the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigfortunata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have, as a couple and as a group, visited the restaurant now on more than four occasions and have never been disappointed. The have catered for my gluten free wife and her friend and the meals have always been of London restaurant standard. Attentive and professional staff. Would recommend highly especially for sunday lunch.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imbiber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainham
2.1 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hornchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
6.3 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Rainham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
17.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
6.6 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Berwick Pond Road, Rainham RM13 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Rainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rainham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the charming Essex countryside, The Manor is a wonderful setting for your memorable wedding. The contemporary, elegant venue has a warm, inviting atmosphere, perfect for your big day. The Manor is one of the only venues in Essex licensed to hold civil ceremonies outside. We have a wonderful selection of versatile function spaces to hold your ceremony, including a marquee which can hold upto 500 guests, glorious gardens and a versatile terrace space. We can offer ceremony-only packages at a discounted rate if you arrange your big day between Monday and Thursday. The private dining suite is perfect for small, intimate events, seating up to 22 guests for a wonderfully private event. We offer a fantastic range of wedding packages to help you plan your big day, your way. Any guests wishing to spend the night here can enjoy a luxurious night's stay in one of our well-appointed, stylish, en-suite bedrooms. For more information, please get in touch with our team today. We look forward to helping you create a truly memorable wedding. • Licence to hold Civil weddings on site within picturesque gardens • Package and bespoke deals to suit any requirements arranged with our dedicated wedding coordinator, making the planning an enjoyable journey! • Picturesque gardens and terrace area exclusive to your wedding day only! • Stylish on site accommodation for you and your guests! • Flexible choice of menus devised by our talented chefs, making your wedding breakfast a meal to remember • Option of extending the space with a stylish Marquee for larger groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel & Restaurant Rainham, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing