We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely worth the drive.”

Joyce Country Sheepdogs
Book In Advance
US$11.85*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An authentic insight into hill sheep farming and rural Irsh life with working sheepdog demonstrations. Interaction with puppies and sheep shearing demonstration during high season. This is set against some of the most breathtaking scenery in Ireland. Rest room facilities available along with picnic tables for guest use. Scheduled demonstration times are 11am, 1pm and 3.30 pm Monday -Saturday, however alternative times are available by prior arrangement.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth the drive.”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

What a thrill to watch Fly, Bonnie and Jill work their magic as they herded their flock around the awe-inspiring terrain surrounding Lough Na Fooey. In advance of, and during the demonstration, owner, Joe Joyce, shared information on the history of the breed, the training process, as well as the unique nature of the individual dogs, with respect to how they used their keen intelligence. We left feeling inspired, not only by the magnificent dogs, but also by the symbiotic relationship between man and nature.

Spending time with Joe and his dogs (and the sheep, of course !) added an extra dimension to our trip that turned a lovely day of sightseeing into a truly memorable time that we'll remember for years to come.

Helpful?
3 Thank TravelPamSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Connemara Must-See Attraction”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you are within 50 miles of Finney, in the Connemara region, make sure you don't miss a remarkable demonstration by Joe and his sheep-herding border collies. The trip to Joe's sheep farm is spectacularly beautiful, and you will fall in love with his amazing dogs. He explains how the dogs are trained and then gives a wonderful demonstration of their abilities. His love for his dogs is obvious and his ability to train these dogs is even more impressive. This was the highlight of our most recent trip to Ireland. Loved it!
Check out his website: www.joycecountrysheepdogs.ie/

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepy Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sheepherding demonstration was entertaining & educational”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We followed signs to this attraction which is located on the herder's farm. He breeds and trains the dogs and recently started the demonstrations. It lasted for approximately 2 hrs, was fun and engaging and very personal (there were about a dozen people there for the demonstrations). He also is on YouTube. No separate bathrooms but visitors were welcomed into the home if necessary.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If it's good enough for Owen Wilson, it's good enough for me!”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

After two nights in Clonbur it was time to move towards Westport for the Grainne Mhaol musical. On the way I stopped at Kinny to see Joe Joyce's Sheepdog demonstrations on the tranquil shores of Lough Na Fooey. I learned enough to know I never want to be a hill sheep farmer but I was blown away by how the dogs were able to make the wild sheep behave like pet lambs, just through eye contact. It was interesting to hear that Joe's sheep and dogs had been used for the Marley and Me movie with Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson and after a whole lotta hugging I was tempted to take one of the pups on the bike with me. Really recommend this as a stop on the way through this beautiful lake-laden area. Cheers Joe!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Indiana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip - great for young kids!”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Just back today from having spent a lovely hour or two here with our 3 kids( ages 4,2 and 6mths) and thoroughly enjoyed it! The majestic setting alone is reason enough to make the small diversion off the beaten track, but the kids were delighted to be greeted by 6 little puppies running around the car and 3 donkeys to pet! Joe was happy to let them rove around the small yard and his daughter Keelin played with our daughter for the entire time we were there.

Joe is a lovely host and his talk and demonstration were an enchanting and fascinating glimpse into hill sheep farming and what the life is like - and of course the dogs were brilliant performers! Joe will happily show you his snaps with Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson from the Marley and Me shoot at the end...

We left with 2 sobbing kids strapped against their wills into the backseat - always a sign of how much they enjoyed something...

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sapper18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joyce Country Sheepdogs also viewed

Leenane, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Joyce Country Sheepdogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing