We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where you want to be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Sandino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Puerto Sandino Surf Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where you want to be”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

If you plan on coming to Nicaragua make sure you take some serious time at PSSR. Perfect location, right in front of an awesome beach break about 15 feet from the front steps. Lotts of different breaks for all tides that you can guarantee Josh will have you on. And as you've most likely already read, PSSR happens to be blessed with two of the best cooks in possibly all of Nicaragua. Luis and Norma cook up some amazing local dishes with awesome attitudes and smiles. The Tona is cold and there's a really good secret drink to be had, if you let Josh know I'm sure he can stir it up for you. Awesome people, good vibes, great waves, and really comfy beds;)

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
6
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Good times, great waves, great food great guides.........!!!!!!!!
Josh and Bri do a great job. If there was waves to be ridden we were on it...
Jimmy drives the boat to all surf breakswhich is great. I was lucky enough to get a good swell at Sandino, but even if your trip does not coincide with big swell do not dispair there are so many other great spots very close by. Louise and Normalinda cook up a storm with great authentic and healthy food. As i work in the private boat industry i only usually have very short notice when i can make a trip. This was not a problem for Josh, and i arrived the same day i called and everything was great! I would highly recommend PSSR if you are looking to do a surf trip in Nicaragua. HAPPY DAYS

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was a fantastic, super mellow surf camp. The location is perfect, with plenty of breaks to walk to, drive to, or take a short boat ride to puerto sandino. None of the breaks are ever too crowded, and there are always enough waves to go around. They have some super fun rental boards if you don't want to bring your own. The camp has everything you need after surfing 9 hours every day: Extremely large amounts of tasty food with lots of beer, a pool, some hammocks, old surf movies, an entertaining monkey, Brie taking a nap on the couch, and that terrible ring-hook game. If you dont feel like sitting at the camp, there are plenty of places to go see, like the city or the volcanoes. You can also pick up some sketchy nicaraguan fireworks to shoot off. All of the food was amazing (except the beets and stuff), and it seemed to get better every meal (the beets and stuff got worse though). In ten days, we never had the same meal twice (We had beets and stuff at every meal). The camp is very safe, and you don't have to worry about things being stolen inside of the camp. Most of the locals there seemed pretty friendly and cool.
My only complaints are: uncomfortable beds, bathroom doors that don't close, and the constant smell of burning trash. So, if you can look past the weird beds, people walking in on you pooping, and terrible smell, it is a great place to be. If you like good waves, good people, beets, and having a good time, this is the place to be. Its almost like riding a dragon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Super awesome fun at PSSR! This is actually my first surf trip and my first time in Central America. The food is super fresh and healthy! Very delicious! The surf is really fun too. Right out in front of the house is a super fun spot, especially in the morning and evening times. Puerto Sandino, which is reachable by boat is a hella fun wave, very long rides! The staff here is awesome too. Jose, which is the security guy, makes sure the place is secure so that you do not ever have to worry about any of your stuff getting stolen. Josh, our guide, is really awesome to be around and is very knowledgeable of all the breaks here. He definitely keeps you stoked the whole time and helps you get some sick rides. I definitely want to come here at least twice a year. We are staying for a week but I feel like I never want to leave lol! I want to thank all the people that work here for making this trip fun, welcoming, and safe. Greatest experience ever!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I spent an awesome week at the Puerto Sandino Surf Resort in Miramar, Nicaragua home of the offshore winds. I surfed to three straight days at reeling Puerto Sandino, a left hand river mouth point break with ridiculously long sand bottomed waves. Besides Puerto Sandino, a short boat ride away, there are at least three other high quality spots within walking distance of the hotel especially Punta Miramar, a ledgy barreling left that wraps around a small rocky point. At least as good as the waves was the staff, who were kind and friendly, Every meal Luis and Normalina served was better than the next. The rest of the staff Jose and boat driver Jimmy made everyday a great time. Josh the manager has the place wired and will hook you up with cold beers, great waves he even took me into town to watch the Euro Soccer games Espana emaorior. Do yourself a favor andcome experience the great waves and excellent service of the Puerto Sandino Surf Resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2012

From the time I was greeted at the airport by Jason, the owner of PSSR, until I left to go home I felt like I was on the trip of a lifetime. All of the staff were very polite and always had fresh food cooking. The fellas were very knowledgeable of the local breaks and tides, so we traveled to some uncrowded breaks and caught it firing daily. I can't thank Josh, Brie, the personal photographer, Jason, Kendall and the very humble staff for providing me such great personal service and making it the best surf trip ever. See yall next June!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

you get to surf at least 2 to 3 times a day, eat 3 amazing nicaraguan meals a day, and four surfing trips. what more could you ask for? the staff is really nice, and nicaragua is very cheap and affordable. I'm getting ready to come back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrenmjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Sandino
19.9 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
22.3 mi away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#12 of 15 in Leon
121 reviews
9.5 mi away
Somar Surf Camp & Lodge
Somar Surf Camp & Lodge
#1 of 1 in Salinas Grandes
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
SOLID Surf & Adventure
SOLID Surf & Adventure
#2 of 6 in El Transito
94 reviews
23.4 mi away
Nayal Lodge
Nayal Lodge
#2 of 11 in Las Penitas
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramar Surf Camp
Miramar Surf Camp
#1 of 2 in Puerto Sandino
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Sandino Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Sandino Surf Resort

Property: Puerto Sandino Surf Resort
Address: Calle Principal Miramar, Puerto Sandino, Nicaragua (Formerly AST Puerto Sandino Surf Resort)
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Puerto Sandino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Sandino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive and a la carte Nicaragua surfing experiences. We are the best value in Nicaragua. Great staff, accommodations, and waves! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing