We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing beachfront surf resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Sandino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Puerto Sandino Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Relaxing beachfront surf resort”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This place offers guests a great experience. The sounds of the ocean provide great background noise as you sit on a hammock overlooking the waves. There is a great pool to take a break from the waves and escape the heat. Surf lessons are available and helpful for beginning surfers. The staff are friendly, knowledgable, and hospitable. The rooms are clean and have AC. The food is delicious! If you're looking for a quiet, beautiful surf spot this is it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdkalinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
6
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sag Harbor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place is amazing on all fronts. The food was excellent, location was superb, and the people were the icing on the cake. If you're looking for a surf trip where you feel like your in a different country and not at home, this is the place. Its in the middle of a beautiful fishing village were nobody speaks english and they have very little access to the outside world. PSSR is 20 steps from the beach with 180 degree views of the beautiful Pacific ocean with sounds to match. When it comes to surfing, Josh and his crew know where and when to go. You will have no problems being put on a wave and if you don't want to surf Josh is prepared to show you what Nicaragua has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Everything about this surf trip was amazing. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The house and the pool are great. The food was some of the best I have ever had while traveling. The company and staff are friendly and care about your experience. The waves were also unreal. There are a couple of nice reef break right outside the house and the infamous freight trains is a short boat ride away. I can't wait to go back again later this year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange park, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Outstanding trip. Great surf, even better food. Josh and his crew really know the area and put me on the best waves around. There is a reef right out front that we surfed and then there is also freight trains that was a 5 minute boat ride thar we also surfed every day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whip96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The resort is a lovely and safe open air building located directly on the beach. The manager, Josh, arranged our transportation from the airport in Managua so all we had to do was enjoy the ride and before we knew it we were swinging in the resorts hammocks listening to waves with a cold beer in
hand. Every day since then has been one lovely surprise after another. Josh and the resort crew know all the good surf spots and are excited to take you there. When the wind and tides aren't suitable for surfing Josh has been exceptional at organizing day trips. We've seen lagoons, open air markets, fishing spots, volcanoes and other points of interest that really highlight the beauty and uniqueness of Nicaragua and it's people. When you get home the lovely staff have a delicious hot meal ready for you as you enjoy the fiery sunset stretched across the sparkling Pacific Ocean. Next year I'm going to bring down a board to keep here since the resort has a board storage system. Now it'll be even easier than it already was to get to this Amazing world class location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulcreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just got back from a whole week at PSSR. Found the camp randomly through word of mouth and other traveler's reviews. Did not disapoint. The best part of the camp is not even the accomodations or the food which are by all standards absolutely fantastic but truly the staff who will go light years out of their ways to please you. I have simply never experienced such a highly customized experience! The only 'negative' part of all this if you can call it this way is that you end up getting attached to the people you spend all day with making it even more difficult to leave everyone behind when returning home.

Will definitely make it a point to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My father and I just returned from our first visit to Nicaragua and the PSSR surfing resort. What an amazing experience. To start with the house is located in a great location right on the beach, providing for awesome sunsets every night and the sound of the waves crashing. The staff at PSSR was nothing short of spectacular, they made us feel right at home and helped make this trip what it was. Thank you so much Jared, Jairo, Jimmy (el capitan), Jose, Paulo (master chef) and Valeska. We can't recommend this resort enough, if you are coming to Nicaragua you have to check this place out!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Sandino
19.9 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
22.3 mi away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#12 of 15 in Leon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
9.5 mi away
Somar Surf Camp & Lodge
Somar Surf Camp & Lodge
#1 of 1 in Salinas Grandes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
SOLID Surf & Adventure
SOLID Surf & Adventure
#2 of 5 in El Transito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
23.1 mi away
El Cardhu Del Mar
El Cardhu Del Mar
#2 of 10 in Las Penitas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
22.3 mi away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#3 of 11 in Las Penitas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Sandino Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Sandino Surf Resort

Property: Puerto Sandino Surf Resort
Address: Calle Principal Miramar, Puerto Sandino, Nicaragua (Formerly AST Puerto Sandino Surf Resort)
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Puerto Sandino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Sandino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive and a la carte Nicaragua surfing experiences. We are the best value in Nicaragua. Great staff, accommodations, and waves! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing