We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food!”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Playhatch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I went to The Crown with friends for the Sunday carvery. Slightly more than other places at £13 but definitely worth the money! The meat was succulent, full of flavour and cooked perfectly and all the veg and roast potatoes were cooked to perfection too.
Only downsides are the drinks are quite pricey and we did have to queue for a while to get served our carvery as it was very busy.
Would definitely go back and will recommend to friends

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Hermy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    159
    43
    18
    13
See reviews for
99
321
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The rooms are separate from the pub so were quiet. Very well appointed room, all the expected conveniences of a hotel room. We were attending a nearby event so did not have evening meal, breakfast was great, nice setting, with a bit of character.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParcyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpfull, the steaks were cooked to perfection to the way we ordered, The chef changed the dressings to our requirments, Very good cuts of meat, and nicely presented hot meals, The real ale tasted as it should be, We have eaten here before and will definatly return, We think the barn area is the best place to get a table.

Room Tip: Get a table in the barn area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

As a fellow South African I will rave about the amazing steaks and wine... it takes me back home!!

The service is always top notch and the staff are very friendly and accommodating as well as knowing their menu very well.

The steak is always a high quality cut and is cooked to a professional standard of your request.

The prices are a few quid more than your average pub, but the quality of the food and overall experience is definitely worth it!

Ideal setting for a family dinner or romantic occasion. I visit about once a month and it's always a pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahHarrisWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch ,great menu ,guest beers and wine list. Recommend the meat platter for sharing the boerwors was stunning, in all the platter was very well cooked with super sauces and flavors. Definitely can't wait to go back for dinner ! Excellent well presented pub/restaurant .

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I booked a one night stay through groupon for our first wedding anniversary, which included a 3 course meal, and bed and breakfast. When we arrived Saturday lunchtime the Car park was packed and the pub very busy, which is always a good sign. We were seen to immediately and shown to our room. Very impressed! A self contained little lodge which feels really secluded and had lovely shabby chic decor. Our meal was lovely and although it was included in our package, the prices without this were reasonable for the portion size and quality of the produce. The staff were happy to oblige when my husband asked for staff to put a Bottle of champagne in our room while we were out, and put it in an ice bucket for our return which was a nice touch. Overall I would say it represented excellent value for money, and we will be returning with or without a groupon deal in the future

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Visited here for dinner with a party of ten for a birthday treat. A welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, excellent service from all the staff that we met. Extensive menu offering a wide range of dishes. Food and drinks were very good indeed, all served smoothly and efficiently. Prices reasonable. Looking forward to going back here again soon.

In summary, very good food and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChampions11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playhatch
0.8 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
7.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: Foxhill Lane | Playhatch Nr Reading, Playhatch RG4 9QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Playhatch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playhatch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 17th Century country inn with an excellent restaurant close to Reading and Henley on Thames. Set within the grounds of the Crown, the well appointed contemporary rooms offer a relaxing and peaceful nights sleep with the added advantage of an excellent renowned restaurant and bar just a few steps away. All rooms have full en-suite facilities and large flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Playhatch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing