We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised much,delivered little”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Playhatch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

When we arrived the pub was full and convivial. Our table wasn't ready, despite our booking-there were only two of us....Unfortunately the food is "prepared" by someone who has neither a love of or interest in food-not a chef. Ordered Thai fishcakes with wasabi dressing-what arrived were potato cakes with mayonnaise dolloped on top- whoever dished these up had never eaten Thai-these were pre-prepared potato cakes. When this was drawn to the attention of the waiting staff we were told that other customers had complained about the spice in the fish cakes, and by the way they had run out of wasabi so had just brought out an equivalent of Hellmann's as the accompaniment..... Main course sea bass with crushed potatoes and fennel and cucumber salad.....ok-ish but expected more for the price-huge bit of cold cucumber on the plate beside warm food, would have been better as a side. Guest ordered Thai curry-disaster but told that that's just the way the Crown chooses to offer their curry-huge pile of bland basmati with poppadum and mango chutney-not very Thai....opted for cheese board in place of dessert-cold bland served with old crackers and mango chutney.......won't be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

When we arrived, our table wasn't ready and were advised to have a drink at the bar. Why should we pay for drinks when the restaurant can't organise itself properly? The standard of the food was unacceptable. My friend and I both had the 'Thai' fishcakes to start with. They looked nothing like Thai fishcakes and didn't taste like them either. They were a strange shade of green, came with large dollops of mayo on top and were placed on a bed of limp rocket and a large slice of cucumber. We complained .To be fair though, the cost was taken off the bill.

My main was a Thai veg curry, served with yellow basmati rice that had no flavour at all, a popadom and mango chutney!! I had to complain again and was offered a free dessert. By this time our evening was in tatters and we were on the verge of going home and getting a takeaway. My creme brulee was passable but clearly straight out of fridge as it was well chilled.

The manageress was apologetic and listened to our complaints, but I will not come back again. The food was very bad and it ruined our evening.The standard was not what you would expect from a professional kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Mac080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Ate here with friends recently and we were all quite Disappointed. This review is just to highlight the shortcomings so improvement can be implemented.
It was lunchtime and not so busy, infact only another table of 4. The welcome wasn't the friendliest baring in mind I'm spending £90.My girlfriend had Pork belly which was 90% fat( a bit stodgy) our friend had half a chicken which was probably cooked the previous day and reheated an was as dry as the Sahara. The peas had been nuked in the microwave and were like bullets. On a good note we also had a well done steak( which you cannot go wrong with) that was ok. And I had a homemade steak pie which was good. But with a drink each £90 seems like we were done over.:(
Could of gone 2 miles away to a small local restrauant and had a Fab meal for the same money. You could not class the workers in the kitchen as Chefs. At best mediocre cooks. Won't ever go back sorry. Try to take this onboard and improve.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank uktrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was my third time of staying here , nothing has changed excellent through out . Room are very good, clean and we'll kept. The pub and restaurant I could not fault ,will defiantly be going back. Outstanding for what we paid

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. You won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulannette20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel on a groupon. It was for one night with dinner and breakfast . It is a very nice old coaching inn in a little village. The location is great for visiting little towns and villages on the Thames. The restaurant is very good pub food. We had three courses and all were very good. The service is excellent and the staff are very attentive. The rooms are in an annexe at the back of the hotel and are all very modern and nicely decorated. it has a lovely shower and a king size bed. In the summer the outdoor area will be lovely for a few drinks. Breakfast the next morning was very nice. The only drawback is that it is really all about the food and we wanted a few pre dinner drinks but there was nowhere to sit in the bar as all the tables were set for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnfredRuislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend on 15th January as a late valentines break. Nadia was so accommodating as were all of the staff, nothing was a problem, the food was great and so was the wine. The room was absolutely gorgeous. Can see ourselves becoming regulars!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Called in for a late Saturday lunch. Had a very enjoyable 3 course lunch with wine, worked out about £30 a head, which for setting, service and food we all thought quite good value. Generous portions, a delicious steak. Will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playhatch
7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
641 reviews
1 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
591 reviews
4.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
13.2 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
6 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Foxhill Lane | Playhatch Nr Reading, Playhatch RG4 9QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Playhatch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playhatch
Price Range: £118 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 17th Century country inn with an excellent restaurant close to Reading and Henley on Thames. Set within the grounds of the Crown, the well appointed contemporary rooms offer a relaxing and peaceful nights sleep with the added advantage of an excellent renowned restaurant and bar just a few steps away. All rooms have full en-suite facilities and large flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Playhatch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing