We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish gastro pub”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Playhatch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
748 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Stylish gastro pub”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

As you enter the 16th century Inn, low beams and an earthy decorated interior greet you with style and panache...you know you have found a nice place to stay. The accommodation is a courtyard of purpose built, Eco friendly chalet style rooms. Each has a private outside sitting area to soak up the sun. Beautifully furnished inside, oozing a quality, with big showers, big fluffy towels and lots of hot water.

You return to the pub to eat....the evening menu had classic pub grub, but with a South African twist. I had Borewart sausages to start and steak/ale pie. The sausages were 100% meat, while the pie was honestly the biggest I've ever eaten...the steak chunks were huge and fell apart with tenderness. Unfortunately it lacked that really authentic pie taste. My wife ordered roasted butternut squash but it came stewed, not roasted and was rather insipid. Service was brilliant, quick, efficient and not intrusive.

Morning breakfast service didn’t work. A solitary waitress gets you a drink and takes your cereal, full-cooked or eggs breakfast order. Then you sit there for over half an hour waiting for food to arrive. No toast (that comes with the main meal) or anything to eat until your order arrives. When my eggs did arrive they were fine, but just-warm, not hot!!

This is a stylish gastro pub that offers a great evening food and accommodation package at a sensible price. You won't be disappointed (apart from the long wait at breakfast)...go visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank machinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    166
    44
    18
    13
See reviews for
102
337
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night on a deal through secret escapes, very good value for money there is no restrictions on the menu other than fillet steak which wasnt an issue for us, portions are of a very good size and very tasty food. The rooms and pub are decorated to a high standard and it is set in a very peaceful location. There is alot of outside space to sit but was raining during our stay. It is located very close to Reading and Henley On Thames which is very nice.
There is an information booklet in the room but doesnt have any information as to what there is to do nearby and how far away things are etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 1night DBB at The Crown that we booked through secret escapes website. It fantastic value for money, the pub is lovely and the rooms are beautifully equipped. We enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal with delicious South Africa wine. The English breakfast was amazing and I'd really reccomend a night away here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A friend and I went for a quiet drink in the countryside, it was certainly a quiet drink but sadly not really a pub that welcomes drinkers its very much a restaujrant so if you want food i am sure its perfect for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faceyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It was a warm March Sunday with the family. Well cooked traditional lunch with a good choice. Recommeded if you are in Reading area although not exceptional. Prices and portions good pleasant gardens friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the Crown at Playhatch for two nights while attending a conference at the University of Reading at the end of March 2014. I was really pleased with my room (Room 5, "Hampton") - it was very tastefully decorated in a shabby chic style, with an excellent shower and very comfy bed. The Inn has plenty of free parking and the grounds are well cared for, which gives the whole place a sense that it is very well looked after.

As for the restaurant, I had breakfast both days at the Inn, and this was plentiful and delicious. I also had one evening meal in the restaurant and, having recently been to South Africa on holiday, I was pleasantly surprised to find a South African bias to the menu! I had boerewors to start (South African sausage) followed by a delicious rich and creamy seafood pasta dish, washed down with a couple of glasses of a nice rose wine. The prices were pretty good too.

A few very minor quibbles, but nothing so serious as to detract from my 5-star review:
1) I'm not used to sleeping in a room with a ticking clock, so I did find the large clock in my room a bit disturbing.
2) The breakfast menu, though delicious and served in large portions, was very heavily egg-based! Apart from the cereal option (cornflakes or weetabix) and the full English (with fried eggs) the only other options on the menu were omelette, eggs benedict, and scrambled eggs. Might be nice to have more variety - fruit, yoghurt, muesli, that sort of thing? That said, my colleague asked if she could have a bacon sandwich and the chef happily obliged.
3) I had to request internet access through my TV and was advised this would cost £2 - no biggie for me as I was away on business so I could claim this back on expenses anyway. However, I was not actually charged for the internet, and neither was my colleague in another room who did the same. She even queried it when she checked out and was told not to worry about it. So is the internet actually free? If so, advertising it as paid-for would probably put some people off using it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I love this restaurant because of the food and the atmosphere. The menu has a variety of choices, catering to different tastes and I have always had a good experience with the food. It tends to get very busy but if your table is not ready you can wait at the bar. The atmosphere is normally buzzing as it is a very popular restaurant and the service is always good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice6234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playhatch
7.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
606 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
524 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
207 reviews
20.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: Foxhill Lane | Playhatch Nr Reading, Playhatch RG4 9QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Playhatch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playhatch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 17th Century country inn with an excellent restaurant close to Reading and Henley on Thames. Set within the grounds of the Crown, the well appointed contemporary rooms offer a relaxing and peaceful nights sleep with the added advantage of an excellent renowned restaurant and bar just a few steps away. All rooms have full en-suite facilities and large flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Playhatch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing