We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desa Motel(Pantai Tengah)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Resort(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camar Resort Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
203
191
50
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
191
50
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstengah beachsandy pathminute walkwatermelonacross the roadalun alun spaclean roomsdirect beach accessbudget hotelmini fridgeduty free shopnoodlesbasic amenitiespeaceful stayhustle bustleswimming poolbeautiful beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed there in November and extended our stay from 4nights to 8! That's how good it was. The hotel is located in Pantai tengah, which is just couple of minutes walking from the busy Pantai Cenang. The beach is so much better than cenang, not many jet skis and vendors and you are practically alone in this tropical paradise. It is very nice to swim, there are a couple of palm trees for the shade and all just two minutes walk from the room. Between the rooms and the beach is a small forestlike area, whic makes you feel you are in the middle of the nature, with all the birds and squirrels. The room was completely new, very nice design, with a tv, fridge,water heater and a nice terrace, wifi is provided in the common area and also a computer. There is a wide selection if english books and national geographic magazines.
Besides all this the price is very affordable, especially for Langkawi and this area. It is sorrounded by many if the best langkawi resorts and restaurants, there are couple of cafes, shops and many breakfast options (which is not provided). And as said, the busy cenang is just couple of minutes away.
Another wonderful thing are the staff. Incredibly friendly, very pleasant to talk, very knowledgable. We even forgot something at the resort and they sent it to us to Borneo in one day wihtout charge just being very friendly again. That really does not happen every day!!! Would recommend it to anyone!!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Mojca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. And, thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Hugs and kisses to the cutie-pie, 1-tooth-boss!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here on 19-21 Nov, well the place is clean and so to the room. The interior & exterior was well maintain. Overalls I was said is good as no disturbance. It like Free & Easy, once U check in, is all yours. If you feel bored just 5 minutes walk to Cenang beach. I would suggest it will be good if the garden to be provided water tab for washing when back from beach. Will visit again and this place will anticipate yours need no matters you travel in Family or Single.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leecy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We thank you for taking time to write us a review.

Once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

Perfectly adequate for our needs - a friend and I were travelling in Malaysia above shoe-string budget but not luxary. Clean, cool, good shower, beds were firm but it all was fine and served as somewhere to rest and recuperate. A little out of town and not on the beach. The beach is a peculiar mix of water sports and places to lie and relax - it didn't feel like it quite knew its audience. Would recommend the accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleRejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for taking time to write us a review.

Once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

we stayed for 2 nights here at RM120 & RM100 per night (2nd night discounted!) in one of the 'beach facing' rooms, queen bed. was not really beach facing, but facing some foliage. and required some 5ish min walk through some patch to get to the beach (although it did not exactly claim to be located on the beach) which is fine. the path, if spruced up a bit, can be very nice. saw the owner stating the path is on someone else's land. but IF they are able to work out somehow to spruce it up nicely so that i did not need to walk barefoot with extra caution, that wud be superb

apart from the points above. the place was veryvery nice for the price. clean. well maintained. away from the crowded chenang beach but not too far out. and pantai tengah was very nice. nice owner. nice bathroom. good sized room. worth every cent

we actually initially signed up to stay at the chalet next door (at RM120/night) but it was so bad (!!) we developed a headache that we went to seek another place to stay the same night. thank god we found Tropical Resort. sceptical at first due to similar price. but was left impressed.

recommended!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panaroL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you... we will strive to be better.

And, as we say, "the best is yet to come."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed at this resort in September 2012. The hotel is a great location but really needs redecorating.It could be so nice.There is no pool or tea and coffee making facilities. The TV was ancient.
The short walk to the beautiful beach is totally littered with rubbish.No one seems to be disturbed by this.i would have thought that someone would be assigned to collect it !
The linen and towels were so old I would have thrown them away years ago.
The entrance to the resort is lovely and the chalets could be made so nice with a bit of effort.
The property has such potential.It is sad to see it let go.
After two days we moved next door to Frangipani which is worth every extra cent.There is no litter there !! It was so clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geraldine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback.

First and foremost, allow us to extend our sincerest apologies. It is indeed unfortunate that your experience with us wasn't a pleasant one.

That being said, we would like to point out we never claimed to have "a pool or tea and coffee making facilities."

Also, let us explain about the "short walk to the beautiful beach is totally littered with rubbish.No one seems to be disturbed by this."

Fact is, that land doesn't belong to us. Furthermore, we'd like to point out the "rubbish" that you meant were in fact: fallen dried leaves, twigs, small branches, animal droppings and grass.

Yes, admittedly the linen and towels have seen better days, but, to be fair, why didn't you mention it to me when I came round, to one of your rooms, to look at the bed that was allegedly broken?

Everything would have been sorted out without the slightest bit of fuss.

Interestingly you stated "..after two days we moved next door to Frangipani which is worth every extra cent." Our records showed that you booked through a third-party, 2 twin-sharing-rooms for 2 nights and left after those 2 nights. And, the every extra cent was in fact 25,000 extra cents.

Finally, thank you for stating that "the property has such potential."

And, the truth is that we are trying to live up to our potential. We are in the process of upgrading and renovating, and to keep costs down, we have had to do them in phases, and at snail-pace.

The good news is that 3 double-deluxe-rooms have recently been renovated and are ready for occupancy. But, the bad news is that we have another 7 to go.

Once again, we are deeply sorry that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews