We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget resort with non-budget service level.”
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

You're welcomed by a very charming receptionist man who speaks good English and can arrange anything for you (he made also phone calls for me when I was asking for attractions on the island). Rooms were clean and spacious, with both fan and AC, although we had some problems with hot water in the shower. Electric mosquito repellent device was provided free of charge with replacement "tablets".

The resort is located near the Pantai Tengah beach, which is much quieter than the nearby Pantai Cenang, and it's also lighter on shops and restaurants. So you'll have tonwalk a bit (1-2 km) to get to most shops. There are somemsmall minimarts and few restaurants closer, though.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sathamoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

Before coming to Langkawi we had a few bad experiences with accommodation in Malaysia, so I didn't expect much from this hotel. But when we arrived, the place was great.

The room was spacious, the bathroom was clean, and the room service was really meticulous. We were very satisfied with the everyday clean up. And the beach was just 3 minutes away from the house.

We asked a few other hotels in the area for the prices, and at the time the Tropical Resort was indeed the cheapest option. I am absolutely glad we stayed there and I will recommend it to my friends who visit Langkawi.

The only thing we lacked was laundry, but that's a pretty common thing in budget accommodation. And there are not so many cheap cafes around Pantai Tengah, so you better go explore other areas nearby for dinner.

Keep it up, guys! I hope the service remains as good as it is in the future.

Room Tip: We had a room which was facing the ocean (although we couldn't see the ocean cause of trees). It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for the positive review.

We believe in the power of the "understatement."

We aren't the best... and, we know it. But, compared to what Langkawi has to offer, especially in this price range and a tad higher, we are, without a doubt, right up there.

At any rate, service-wise, we will always try to aim at the sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Only few minutes walk to the less crowded beach.
The receptionist was nice and attentive. Room is big and clean, bathroom a bit small than expected but hot shower is working although not so powerful shower.
Free wifi on the lobby.
Location is great, nearby resto, cafe, spa and you can rent car/motorbike at nearest shop to look around the island.

Room Tip: Makesureyou get the rooms that near lobby so you'll be able to access the wifi from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vayastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for the review.

For the moment, we are only offering Free Wi-Fi in and around the reception area. Although, you can actually access the Wi-Fi in some of the rooms and on the verandah of all garden-facing rooms. It's an ongoing process.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Very nice, quite and clean place with great location. (2 min to the beach and 10 min to local "kaoshan rd") We have spend 4 nights there and it was the best pleasent stay during our 11 days travel accros Malay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vladimir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for taking a few moments of your precious time to write us review.

We greatly appreciate it.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed at Tropical Resort for 2 nights and it was one of the best experiences I have had in this price range. The rooms, bathroom and surroundings were spotless. It is a 2 minute walk to the beach that is not over crowded with a great view of the sunset. Due to some change in plans we tried to extend a night but unfortunately there were no rooms available and had to stay at another place for almost twice the price but nothing close to Tropical Resort.

Thanks to Shukri and staff for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for taking time to write us a review and a candid insight into the "theory of relativity."

Sorry we couldn't accommodate your request for an extension due to unavailability of rooms. It is one of those days when everybody, independently but yet collectively, decided to take a holiday.

Hope you found the jacket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Great for the price, which always makes me smile when you read some of the less favourable reviews on here! Some people expect WAY to much for 100 MYR ........

It's clean, pleasant and the team on reception can't do enough for you, we really really had a great time here, and the recommendations on great local places to eat were all brilliant ... Even for the budget conscious :)

Room Tip: It is really worth upgrading to a 120 MYR room, all recently refurbished, we were lucky enough to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback, in spite of your busy travel schedule.

Enjoy the rest of your holidays.

Once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Normally I do not bother too often with writing an online review, but I feel that the Tropical Resort really deserves a few minutes of my time...
When we arrived, there were rooms available for our first and third night on the island, but not the second unfortunately.. Not only did the manager help us by calling all hotels he thought were recommendable, but he also asked us if we wanted to stay in the other hotel for the full 3 nights, as it would be more comfortable for us. This kind of service at the cost of your own business is very rare!

We stayed at the hotel for our first and third night anyway and this place is by far the best value for money on Tengah and Cenang beach (as we found out visiting ever other hotel for our second night). The prices are very fair for staying on Lankawi and the rooms are in a very good shape and include aircon, fridge, tv (3 channels only) and a newly tiled bathroom with hot shower. The whole room was spotless by the way. It is a mere minute walk to the beach and many small restaurants are closeby. It is not on the bustling Cenang beach, which some could mark as a downside, but for us a bit more quiet was a nice extra and you can walk into the busy area within 5 minutes.

The service was great during our entire stay and the hotel probably has the nicest manager/owner you will ever find.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the beach are a bit more quiet and private, but if you are close to the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it.

We will strive to be even better.

Once again, our heartfelt gratitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
541 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
65 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range: £60 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing