We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good”
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Certificate of Excellence
Yutz
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All good”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in the comfortable deluxe room set in a nice garden setting. It's only a couple of minutes to the beach and the main shopping / dining area while being in a quiet location - supermarket, scooter rental, breakfast joints and restaurants all within minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    170
    45
    9
    9
See reviews for
80
224
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auvergne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A simple double room and bathroom. You can walk straight from your room, down a short track to the beach. Free WIFI is available around the reception area. The staff were extremely helpful, but not much English spoken ( which we liked!) Great value and we thought it was lovely, but it is not the place for you if you want all the entertainment/facilities of a big hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe, facing towards the sea, no view but it looked over gardens rather than other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Tropical Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My trip to Langkawi was undertaken in mid-June'13 and reviewed soon yet coz of there's no possibility for rewiew correcion on this source but rather delete it was completely removed.

So as for Tropical Resort it's a beautiful place with nice bungalows in a garden and Wi Fi zone to the library either quite near the other hotels and restaurants with different Asian cuisines, SPA, shops or nice quiet seashore on a straight walk way as well.
It was also car/bike rental points of service and travel agencies in quite a walk way as well.

The rooms were clean and comfortable with all the necessary conveniences like air condition, fan, frige and TV. It was even antimosquito gadget provided with a stuff.

The rooms were cleaned every day with attentive stuff and no inconvenience was caused by that action.

Special thanks to Mr Shukri (the gentlemen on reception) for advice in docs Malay translation, Mr KK (with travel agency) for a nice trip over the island with guide assistance and also Azahar (navy man before and taxi driver for a moment) for efficient recommendation and personal help with business and private matters.

Actually the place for trace leaving to mind for a nice sweet memory.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimble689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for the compliment. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again one day to Langkawi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is run by a family and the rooms are really nice and clean! They do not have food option but its ok as the main market- Pentai Cenang is walking distance from it! The library area is very nice! Wi-fi is very good though it won't reach the room.

The location is nice as it's away from the hustle bustle market and has the beach! I fell in love with their 3 kittens!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tushita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. I truly appreciate your kind words regarding our accommodation.
p/s. The kittens also miss you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I can't believe how cheap it is to stay here, we were given a sea view chalet which was a very short walk to a beautiful beach (littered with loads of plastic but I assume that's been washed up by the sea and there's nothing tropical resort can do about that! anyway, it doesn't spoil it :)) and the room was modern, clean and comfortable and even has a fridge. my husband got stung by a jellyfish and two of the staff drove us to the hospital, they honestly could not have done more for us - so friendly and they went out of their way to help us! even loaning him a mobile phone so we could call a taxi to bring us back from the hospital. since then they have all been asking how he is, they're so nice :)

we loved staying here and can't wait to come back for one more night at the end of the week :) I wish we could stay longer here, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violetmacaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us .We would be delighted to welcome you back in your next visit to Langkawi, we have really enjoyed having you with us and would like to thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a budget hotel. So our expectation was a clean hotel with a nice bed! We got it!! Only if the shower is strong and wash basin is a bit bigger i would rate this 5/5.
Medium sized clean room with comfortable bed and ok bathroom. Hotel positioning was nice as it was very near to tengah beach. Also many restaurants were available within 2 minutes walk.
As we were travelling with kids, friendly reception staff provided us hot water kettle proactively. Also the garden inside the resort is properly maintain. In summary neat and clean.
If you are looking for a budget hotel you can stay here.
I would suggest the hotel authority to take care of the bathroom shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank war_rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This resort is just what they say about themselves, basic and clean. Location is great just a few seconds walking distance to the beach. The surrounding garden is indeed very refreshing. Staff are very helpful and cordial. Just one problem was that the shower has irritatingly low pressure. Other than that I must say it's an excellent choice in Langkawi for budget travellers. We truly enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pushpita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Property: Tropical Resort
Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing