We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bunk Inn Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camar Resort Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Molek(Pantai Tengah)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
NR Langkawi Motel(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$33
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambong Ambong Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pari-Pari Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuuka Villa(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cactus Inn(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
204
194
50
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
194
50
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstengah beachsandy pathminute walkwatermelonacross the roadalun alun spaclean roomsdirect beach accessbudget hotelmini fridgeduty free shopnoodlesbasic amenitiespeaceful stayhustle bustleswimming poolbeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, a very short stroll to the beach. Rooms are clean and functional. The staff are also very accommodating to requests. Would recommend to friends. There are multiple eating options near by. And just around the corner from Babylon suger, best bar in langkawi

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank blair p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for a week at Tropical Resort and would definitely return.

It's a great location - just a couple of minutes walk to a quiet beach and 10 minutes walk to the centre of Cenang - and just opposite was a well-priced duty-free shop and a fab Indian restaurant.

The room was basic but comfortable and clean (though a few pictures and a splash of colour wouldn't go amiss!) and there was a fridge and kettle, a good hot shower and a comfy, but firm, bed.

Breakfast was good (including eggs cooked to order) but got a bit a bit repetitive over a week. But the breakfast staff - the two Rs! - were really charming and helpful and made us a local option (nasi lemak) one morning and also got chilli for our omelette when we asked. Rosli was particularly helpful and his English was excellent.

We were lucky to have Room 18 which gave us a glimpse of the sea and the distant sound of waves when we sat outside in the evening. The plants were beautiful and really well looked after and we saw loads of colourful birds at dawn and dusk.

Would we stay there again - no question!

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 18 have a glimpse of the sea and great fro bird-spotting!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our stay at tropical demonstrated why they are so highly rated at trip advisor! The staff is great, and very friendly. They graciously accommodated our slightly specific requests for breakfast. The rooms are not fancy but clean and well maintained, and totally worth the price. The property is located just a short walk from the beach, restaurants and stores. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssgupta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed here after reading the many 4 and 5 star reviews here and Tripadvisor but I have to say that I disagree. This is truly an average property.

Location: You need a car to get to town and food, it's not central.

Rooms: No decorations, TV that got 3 channels (none in English), bathroom and shower combined ie no curtain or separate space. The AC unit was very loud and started dripping large amounts of water onto the TV below it. Our friends in another room had the same issue. Bed very hard.

Service: The owner is sweet but the only one who really speaks English.

Gardens: Very pretty but mosquitoes everywhere! Lots of cats though, which I like!

Overall, for the price, I don't think it's worth it. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The resort was easy to find thanks to the map i was given by the Car Company, Just on the main road that skips the busy part yet has some lovely shaded roads and convenient shops and stores in what must be arguably one of the better beaches of the island.The rooms are nice and large with all basic amenities with Kettle TV (four inane channels) and are clean and smell that way too! beds are comfortable not fantastic and they have a broom that helps you sweep the beach sand out . Breakfast is 12RM which i had on the last day but if you look around down the road you have 10RM buffets going too besides the Breakfast Cafes. The staff are happy to look into minor glitches like my shower had and assist you with free local calls and places to stock up the small fridge they have in the room. Duty free shopping is across the road....Langkawi is a duty free paradise! The beach nearby had para sailing jet skis and banana boat rides but the sea is gentle but look out for sharp hermit crab shells. All in all a great value for money place and great location so slip off to Kuah or any other place besides being 10 minutes from the airport. If you are there on the weekend expect a beach party too...

Room Tip: There are only two, three rooms that look out through a narrow gap in the thicket at the beach, so they are forest facing or building facing...maybe the one next to the dining area gets the wifi signal?!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RideIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews