We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean, basic accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for one night in February, room was great value for overnight stay. Staff were warm and friendly. The resort has a more of a nice motel feel its - close to beach and good local restaurants. Breakfast was good fresh cooked to order.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelmick51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    169
    41
    9
    8
See reviews for
76
220
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Lovely on the beach,clean but basic accommodation with helpful friendly staff.Free hire of beach towels,beach mats,good library,excellent breakfast cooked to order from 7 till 11 am.The wild life is fascinating with hornbills paying nightly visits to the resort.Sunsets were awe inspiring and we would recommend this resort.Local cafés,duty free and fruit and veg man mean you don't have to stray far.No pool but who needs one with beach on band!

Room Tip: Facing beach if you like evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I just got home after 2 weeks spent at Tropical Resort with my husband and son(age 5).

good parts:
-as mentioned before, the resort is close to the beach
-good value for the money
-located in pantai tengah which is much better than cenai(quieter, nicer beach, cleaner water)
-mr rusli(hotel manager) was extremely nice helpful and did much more than the job required, for example gave us a list of the medical clinics in kuah when my son got sick
-15% discount for all the spa treatments at alun alun(tried it, liked it)

bad parts:
-mostly I was very disappointed with the cleaning: the bathroom was filthy and smelling of urine when we checked in, the toilet bowl was never cleaned properly, the floor wasn't mopped, all the sheets and towels were stained and grey at the best; we ended up buying cleaning products and doing all the cleaning ourselves
-wi-fi is useless in the room, you can only use it in the reception area, I can't understand why the management wouldn't invest in another router
-first row rooms( street side) are very noisy
-useless flat screen TV in the room, only 2 Malay channels; cable would have been great, especially for my son that kept asking for cartoons, why invest in flat screen TVs if there's nothing to watch?
-extremely hard pillows, seemed to be made out of cardboard, it was impossible to use them, we slept on our towels.

The resort seems perfect for a short stay, in this case most of the aspects above wouldn't be a problem.

I think that, for a future trip to Langkawi, I would consider spending a little more money and choosing a different resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElenaPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 10 nights at Tropical resort in March 2014. the accommodation is very clean and comfortable it a few minutes walk to Tengah beach which is lovely. .Breakfast is on a pleasant terrace. Rosil and Razaimi are two lovely guys who serve your breakfast. They are so such nice people and so helpful and have lots of knowledge about Langkawi that they are more than willing to share..A real asset to this resort.Thanks to both of you for the chats,advice and information Pam and Dave x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bulgaria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Mum and my self stayed here for 2 weeks, returning again for another 2 days after our trip around Malaysia.

WOW can not praise the Tropical enough.

So peaceful, clean and just a short walk to the beach. It is set in beautiful gardens which attract lots of wild life.

Breakfast is simple but very nice. The staff and that is ALL of them, reception, cleaners and breakfast waiters and cook went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The owner was a lovely guy who always had time for a chat. We were called the Two Queen's, and was treat like one.

A special thank you to Rossielee what a very very nice guy you are ,you will be in my heart for a long time.

GREAT PLACE please please go here xxx

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaynebulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was looking for a suitable accommodation in Langkawi for my parents(in their 80s) and myself. Managed to get 2 rooms for 2 nights. We didn't expect anything. Our stay tuned out t be more than just wonderful. The beach is only 5 minutes walk from our rooms(NO NEED TO WALK ACROSS ANY ROAD). Customer service I good.

Breakfast is simple but again...this is Langkawi and don't expect a full buffet spread. It is the rooms conditions, ambience and quiet surroundings that make this place special. Pantai Tengah in general is quieter and much cleaner than Pantai Cenang. Good for a relaxing weekend escapade.

Room Tip: Choose room 13 and 14, nearer to the beach and a quieter spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 days and 3 nights, and would happily stay again. The resort itself is peaceful and tucked away from the busy Cenang beach vibe. My room was clean, bright, had A/C, a mini fridge, a good bathroom and a front porch with two chairs to lounge on. The beach was a 2min walk from my room too. Essentially everything I needed. The staff here are always smiling and so lovely they will go out of their way to make your stay a good one! At breakfast every morning, the staff remembered my name. Their kindness and hospitality saw everyone enjoying breakfast and starting their morning with a big smile on their faces. One of the staff members hopped on his scooter to buy more eggs for my omelette because the remaining ones weren't fresh enough! Granted it doesn't have a restaurant, there are so many to choose from within walking distance anyway! It's a 10min walk to the centre of Cenang beach. Thank you Tropical Resort for making my trip so wonderful!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feliciaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Property: Tropical Resort
Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing