We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambong Ambong Langkawi
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Camar Resort Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tropical Resort(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desa Motel(Pantai Tengah)
US$23
US$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Resort(Pantai Cenang)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
614
53
2
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
53
2
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantsteep hillmobile phoneyoga retreatishan spabedroom cottageyoga decklocal breakfastbeautiful rainforestdusky leaf monkeyscocktail partypool villaspecial thanksandaman seacontinental breakfastwonderful staynearby restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Thank you is not enough you made our special holiday even more special, your attentive manner was awesome you could not do enough to please the guests our suite was out of this world, our anniversary meal on our private balcony was unforgettable a big thank you to Nissam for making that happen.
Again a big thank you to all the staff we will be back
Jean and Andrew Howcroft

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hi (Tripadvisor does not allow us to use names), we really enjoyed having you and making your anniversary an event to be remembered. Ahmad and I, Anna and her team wish both of you many more happy occasions in future.

Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great boutique hotel! Beautiful rooms on the hillside jungle 5 minutes walk from the beach. Staff were amazing and attached Japanese restaurant and spa were also great. Quite a steep walk up to rooms, but didn't bother us at all. They give you local mobile phones so you can call for the shuttle service whenever you want.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Awesome

Thank you for the review..

Even though almost all our guests enjoy the tropical jungle experience, they enjoy the view as much and after a great deal of vacillation, we have decided to trim some of the trees so that every room will get a good view of the sea and not just the higher rooms.

The decision wasn’t made lightly because many of the trees are also home and for some, especially the leaf - eating monkeys , a source of food .The expert who is advising us assume that even if we made a mistake , the growth in the tropics is so fast that within 6 to 9 months new replacement branches would have grown back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I would highly recommend this resort!
I stayed here with my family over Christmas 2013 and we had such a lovely time.
Anna and her staff made sure we had a wonderful Christmas with a Christmas Eve cocktail party (with complimentary christmas headpieces for everyone that were left on our beds that afternoon before the party), as well as, a bottle of champagne and gingerbread men delivered to each room on Christmas day.
We had 3 rooms for 4 nights. 2 suites and 1 cottage. All had beautiful views of the water and trees.
The rooms were clean, spacious and very relaxing. The suites each had an outdoor wooden bath in the open living area / balcony. Very relaxing and peaceful.
While the resort is located on a hill, they provide a mini shuttle to transport people up and down if needed. Anna provided each of the rooms with a mobile phone so we could call the shuttle when needed.
The hotel is located across the road from one of the beaches.
There are also restaurants walking distance (5-10mins).
The main town centre is about 20-25mins walk - all flat and very pleasant to walk to.
The Japanese restaurant at the bottom of the resort was great too!
The spa service was great. Each family member got a free 30 mins massage. I also purchased another package and it was divine!
Everything was amazing.
Thank you Anna!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We have a very international guest list and in recognition of that Anna likes to mark all the major cultural and religious events with a small, but appropriate, celebration as a way of saying ‘thank you’ to those who stay with us. Actually any excuse for a party will do, so annually we would have events for the new year (two: Gregorian and Chinese), Idil Adha, Deepavali, Thaipusam and Christmas. It’s great fun and guests enjoy as much as we do.
The shuttle service is available from 8 am to midnight every day. Most guests enjoy walking up most of the time, except late at night after an evening on the town.

Thank you for a great review and shall we keep a room for you for Christmas 2014?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spent 3 nights on top of Paradise Hill.

What can I say? Nothing beats waking up to a view of rainforest and the azure Andaman sea beyond.

Breakfast awaits - fresh fruit, Danish and jam. Eaten on your private, massive, open-air covered lanai COMPLETE WITH A WOODEN TUB!

I ask: Can anything be more relaxing than a tucked-away wading pool, shrouded by banana trees and fan palms, with only the sounds of distant monkeys rustling the trees and soft meditation music twinkling in the air?

The answer: no. nothing is more relaxing.

Oh, you want a beach? 5 minute walk to a lovely quiet beach.

Hungry? Try Sheila's - just around the corner and sit in the garden.

too tired to walk up the hill? They will drive you at a moment's notice! Even at midnight!

Ladies and gentlemen: This is no joke. This place is amazing. But 'shhhh' because it is Langk'wowi' best kept secret.

Amazing helpful, warm staff - helped arranged any island activities and gave insider tips to the best beaches and 'must sees' on the island.

Can't wait to return to Paradise in the forest.

Room Tip: the suites at the top of the hill are truly luxurious and have the best views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Anna is away on a short (and much needed) vacation. So she may not have seen this review, because I know she will be thrilled to bits. It will make her (and the staff ‘s) long hours and meticulous attention to detail worth every bit of the effort put in.

As the owner, I am equally thrilled that our little venture into the highly competitive tourism business is well appreciated.

Thanks for a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ambong Ambong for 2 nights last week. The whole experience from start to finish was totally amazing. We had looked to book a 4* hotel on Langkawi for our short break. We are SO glad that we found Ambong Ambong. It is just out there on its own in terms of an unforgettable experience and we will most definitely be back at some point in the future. A big thank you to everyone involved in the running of Ambong Ambong for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sizzol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed the Ambong-Ambong experience as much as we enjoyed looking after you.

Come back again for a longer stay soon or may be, even join one of our retreats to be totally invigorated in body and spirit.

Thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews