We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here. You'll love it (and go to their sister restaurant SUGAR too)”
Review of fatCUPID

fatCUPID
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Cuisines: Malaysian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in the beautiful grounds of La Pari-Pari, fatCUPID is tucked away down a quiet lane off the main Pantai Tengah strip. Owned and operated by three cousins, the restaurant features recipes from their family's rich Nyonya heritage, incorporating dishes learned from their Grandmother, and some Aussie favourites that are a reference to the cousins' shared experiences living in Australia. Great for a laid-back breakfast or lunch, and a fantastic intimate venue for a quiet, cozy dinner.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eat here. You'll love it (and go to their sister restaurant SUGAR too)”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is an excellent place to eat, great food, friendly staff, great snacks, nice hip furnishings and an extremely cool sundown cafe (Sugar) where you should definitely go too to watch the parachuting tourists narrowly miss the church tower above you :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rtdeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    219
    48
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“friendly dinner experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

fatCupid is not difficult to find but it's better if you have a car otherwise you may need to have a little walk. We went there with our daughter she was a little bit grumpy that day since she didn't get any rest after a mangrove tour at langkawi but staffs there were very nice and we were recommended the lagsa and hamburger which we finished in 10 mins. will def go again if we visit langkawi again, which we surely will do...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalafa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mosquito madness, but great first impression”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We went to fatcupid for drinks and dinner, because of the great reviews. Unfortunately we fled the scene after two drinks and some snacks, because of the huge amount of mosquitos. Despite all the candles and mosquito repellent, we were severely under attack. The food tasted great, so maybe a daytime visit is a better idea.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dorien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic all-round service, as well as delicious food!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

A friend and I went to Fat Cupid for dinner our first night in Langkawi, as we'd read the reviews and also been to their sister restaurant 'Sugar' on the beach that was very nice. It was delicious, local food. Then (perhaps because it was low season) they offered for us to come and hang out at their salt water pool the next day. We actually did this for the next two days, it was so nice! They gave us towels, brought our drinks orders to the sunbeds and were super friendly. They also gave us information on Ko Lipe (the Thai island where we were going next), helped us locate an ATM and currency exchange, recommended a place for a massage and even ordered an early morning taxi for us to the ferry pier. They really went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and get the most out of our stay, even though we weren't staying guests. Absolutely recommend visiting this wonderful oasis if you get the chance.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit hard to find in the dark.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Once you spot there sign and follow the path for 150m going past the green hotel on route it worth the effort. Excellent food and excellent staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed fatCUPID also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to fatCUPID? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing