We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hidden gem!”
Review of NR Langkawi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NR Langkawi Motel
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money hidden gem!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked NR via online after reading the reviews and stayed here for 2 nights. NR is something like a budget chalet run by a local malay family. There is 9 rooms in total and each come with their own attached bathroom, water heater, fridge, closet, LCD TV, ceiling fan and aircond. There is also a shoe rack next to your door and a tea table with 2 chairs for you to chill-out or have a smoke outside each room. The best thing is the cleanliness of not only the rooms but also the surrounding and each room has stunningly fast Wifi coverage. The owner is always ready to help with a smile and she even offer to arrange the island hopping tour for us with a cheaper price. NR is located slightly hidden away from the busy Pantai Tengah that is a plus point where you can have peace and privacy. You can find food all around NR as right in front there is a Malay restaurant that serves affordable malay food & BBQ seafood until late at night, right behind NR there is the Eagle View Chinese seafood restaurant that we had dinner there twice due to it's finger licking good food, and across the road in the morning there is a Nasi Lemak stall. There is also a motorcycle & car rental shop directly in front in case you need transport throughout your stay in Langkawi. All and all NR is the best budget motel we have ever stayed in with no complains. 5 star without a doubt!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PanDalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
37
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The only reason we booked this hotel was because every other hotel at Pantai Cenang was fully booked on new year's eve, but for a 1-star motel, this place is definitely worth it! It's very clean, decent comfy beds and it even has a local restaurant just outside! Only problem is it's location where you would need a car to get to the more happening Pantai Cenang. Owners were friendly and very helpful. If you like quiet places slightly away from the life at Cenang, this is decent enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XinYing312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The owners (motivated no doubt by their lucrative business venture) are friendly yes and nice people, but that is not why you came to Langkawi. Long walk to beach here where are many hotels better and many priced less. NR Hotel comprised of about a dozen rooms in a single-story L-shaped building constructed around the owner's house: open your windows and look into theirs. Carpark right on top of you. Rooms tiny. With bathroom floor space little more than one-square meter -- terrible ventilation and humidity in that bathroom. No breakfast, no hotel infrastructure whatsoever. This is not a b&b. This is not a destination hotel. It is a mighty hike to town. New, and we are certain the tripadvisor reviews in time will balance out as more people experience this place in context.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was an inplanned trip to Langkawi.
We found NR resort via the road sign near to Laman Padi. The moment we stepped into this small motel, I feel home. The three young lads overseeing the motel were friendly and very helpful. The first motel was fully booked on our first day. The young worker was willing to go extra miles, helping us to look for available room around.We found a room to settle down our first night.

Inspired by his sincere help, the next day we decided to stay at their one and only left wooden hut. In fact, we were hesitating at the beginning since it has no aircond. Surprisingly the hut is pretty cold at night except some mosquitors.

They have a simple and peaceful garden. Free coffee and tea all day long is surely a plus in this pricy island.

Would be back again....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cls00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

For the money you can't go wrong. It was a nice sized room with aircon and a fan. The bed was large and comfy, there was a fridge to store your own drinks. An amazing little local restaurant (Mangga) is only a very short walk away. Beach is also close enough to get to. Ideal place if you intend to spend the day on the beach and then pop back to your room for a freshen up before heading out at night. Just remember it's not going to be super luxurious for this kind of price but for what yo pay you can't do much better in this area.

Room Tip: The rooms are all set around a courtyard so I guess they are all fairly similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefchrisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maseru, Lesotho
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Place is quite new and very clean. The hotel is located in a quite area, but the main beach is in walking distance. Would stay here again.
There are also some nice places to eat close by - we loved the "sun cafe", the French bistro and the Istanbul kebab house. Very good place for a sundowner is the sugar cafe. Very nice atmosphere!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 350stefank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We turned up on the day we needed accomodation and were offered a better price than online.
Clean and spacious rooms overlooking a courtyard. Quiet location as it was set back from the road.
Five minute walk to a great beach, far quieter than pantai cenang.
Excellent restaurant at entrance of motel. Good laundry service just across the road.
Really friendly owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
0.3 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
11.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,343 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NR Langkawi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NR Langkawi Motel

Property: NR Langkawi Motel
Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — NR Langkawi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your NR Langkawi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NR Langkawi Motel Pantai Tengah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing