We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NR Langkawi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NR Langkawi Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean and basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to go with NR langkawi after several reviews.

It's about 15-20 minutes walk to the main strip and the mall. Along the walk there's a few food places and bars.

Hotel is clean. Spacious. Very basic. Fridge , coffee and tea with water boiler. Air conditioned and water heater works.

Nothing much to rave about. Nice family owns the place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chetwynd, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

A very sweet Malay family runs this small motel in its central location in Tengah. Rooms are clean and quiet with AC, hot water, TV (no English channel), fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Friendly cats from the family and neighbouring properties pop by for pats too.

We stayed here under the recommendation of Dorothy from Langkawi Yoga while we were attending a weekend-long retreat. It was close to walk to the yoga centre at Ambong Ambong, beach (7-10 minutes), there's a great, cheap restaurant next door for delicious local dinners, and all other shops and needs are close by.

Make sure your windows are locked. We checked on our last night and they weren't - totally our fault for not securing first thing. Luckily nothing happened.

Would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheri_connolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Nr Motel is very clean and comfortable. Just off the main road, but very quiet.Rooms do not have English TV channels. Free WIFI everywhere.Free bottled water and coffee & tea facilities in the room. No dining area, but lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked NR via online after reading the reviews and stayed here for 2 nights. NR is something like a budget chalet run by a local malay family. There is 9 rooms in total and each come with their own attached bathroom, water heater, fridge, closet, LCD TV, ceiling fan and aircond. There is also a shoe rack next to your door and a tea table with 2 chairs for you to chill-out or have a smoke outside each room. The best thing is the cleanliness of not only the rooms but also the surrounding and each room has stunningly fast Wifi coverage. The owner is always ready to help with a smile and she even offer to arrange the island hopping tour for us with a cheaper price. NR is located slightly hidden away from the busy Pantai Tengah that is a plus point where you can have peace and privacy. You can find food all around NR as right in front there is a Malay restaurant that serves affordable malay food & BBQ seafood until late at night, right behind NR there is the Eagle View Chinese seafood restaurant that we had dinner there twice due to it's finger licking good food, and across the road in the morning there is a Nasi Lemak stall. There is also a motorcycle & car rental shop directly in front in case you need transport throughout your stay in Langkawi. All and all NR is the best budget motel we have ever stayed in with no complains. 5 star without a doubt!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PanDalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The only reason we booked this hotel was because every other hotel at Pantai Cenang was fully booked on new year's eve, but for a 1-star motel, this place is definitely worth it! It's very clean, decent comfy beds and it even has a local restaurant just outside! Only problem is it's location where you would need a car to get to the more happening Pantai Cenang. Owners were friendly and very helpful. If you like quiet places slightly away from the life at Cenang, this is decent enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XinYing312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
221 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The owners (motivated no doubt by their lucrative business venture) are friendly yes and nice people, but that is not why you came to Langkawi. Long walk to beach here where are many hotels better and many priced less. NR Hotel comprised of about a dozen rooms in a single-story L-shaped building constructed around the owner's house: open your windows and look into theirs. Carpark right on top of you. Rooms tiny. With bathroom floor space little more than one-square meter -- terrible ventilation and humidity in that bathroom. No breakfast, no hotel infrastructure whatsoever. This is not a b&b. This is not a destination hotel. It is a mighty hike to town. New, and we are certain the tripadvisor reviews in time will balance out as more people experience this place in context.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was an inplanned trip to Langkawi.
We found NR resort via the road sign near to Laman Padi. The moment we stepped into this small motel, I feel home. The three young lads overseeing the motel were friendly and very helpful. The first motel was fully booked on our first day. The young worker was willing to go extra miles, helping us to look for available room around.We found a room to settle down our first night.

Inspired by his sincere help, the next day we decided to stay at their one and only left wooden hut. In fact, we were hesitating at the beginning since it has no aircond. Surprisingly the hut is pretty cold at night except some mosquitors.

They have a simple and peaceful garden. Free coffee and tea all day long is surely a plus in this pricy island.

Would be back again....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cls00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
0.7 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.5 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
11.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
7.1 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NR Langkawi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NR Langkawi Motel

Property: NR Langkawi Motel
Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — NR Langkawi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your NR Langkawi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NR Langkawi Motel Pantai Tengah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing