We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Bunk Inn Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NR Langkawi Motel(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$33
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Molek(Pantai Tengah)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camar Resort Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambong Ambong Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Pari-Pari Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lot 33 Boutique Hotel(Pantai Tengah)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Resort(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cactus Inn(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
385
688
261
105
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
688
261
105
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden villaoutdoor showerprivate beachsalt watersaltwater poolbeach frontegg stationsea viewfamily roomdeluxe roombreakfast spreadwithin easy walking distancecenang beachsun loungersrestaurants and shopswater sportslovely beach
Filter
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in late March. The location is a 15 min drive from the airport and is right on the waterfront with the rooms a 30 second walk from the beach.

The resort has 2 pools and plenty of deck chairs around the pool/bar area and also along the shore overlooking the beach. The rooms were a bit dated and could do with a refurbishment, but were clean and spacious. Only one thing i would prefer is if the air con wasn't pointing right onto the bed as it gets cold.

The staff were friendly and the in house meals were great. We had an early check out on the last day so missed the breakfast... wish i had known about the breakfast to go option! I did mention an early departure but didn't specifically ask about breakfast.

Overall enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Falcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

You were pleased with our location that is a15 minutes drive from the airport and you found our room clean and spacious which was only 30 seconds away to the beach front. We have met your expectations with two swimming pools and plenty of deck chairs around them as well as at the beach area. Besides, the meals were great and the staff friendly, while plans are underway for a renovation soon.

We thank you for selecting our resort and we are earnestly looking forward to your return in not too distant a future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I went to Langkawi on a solo trip for 5 days and stayed at this resort. I enjoyed it thoroughly. The rooms were a good, big size. Waking up each morning with the ocean on your door step and having meals at the hotel restaurant that overlooked the beach. I found myself spending a lot of my trip at the hotel as there was so much to do there. Beach, water sports, pool bar, amazing band each night, great food, gym and a beautiful view of the sunset and sunrise. The staff are so pleasant and try to do everything they can to make your stay pleasurable. I would definitely stay here again. Amazing resort within walking distance of spas and restaurants!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marzie_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We booked a deluxe room for 3 nights in March 2013 and had a nice relaxing time. We arrived at midday (after arriving from the Lanai 2 hotels down the road) and they let us check in straight away which was great.

The room was very nice - big & modern with a separate dressing area & nice bathroom. The air conditioning seemed to be really struggling & on the first night (after being on for 6 hours the room had barely cooled down) we let reception know on our way out in the evening & they said it would be looked at. When we returned later reception told us no problem but the room still didn't feel cool. Thankfully the next morning it felt cooler - might have just taken that long to cool the whole room.

We were very close to reception & near the pool & pool bar. The pool was surprisingly small but nice. The beach is nice sand but is a steep hill down to the sea - this was a bit disappointing having come from the cheaper Lanai resort down the road where the beach is really wide & flat.

The food at the beach bar is actually quite bad & I am quite easy to please. We tried it twice but gave up on our last day & went to the Indian restaurant next door which was really nice. there is also the boat restaurant which is a 5 minute walk away which does lots of cheap Asian foods.

I was really looking forward to a massage at the hotel but when I enquired at reception they made a phone call to someone & was told the lady is away for 3 days - this seemed a bit odd as the hotel has spa in the title.

The breakfast was included & was very nice in a lovely area next to the beach - a nice selection of food including an egg station.

Places to go:
Boat Restaurant over the road - cheap Asian food good for lunch
Beach Garden Resort in Cenang - one of my favourite places - lovely cocktails on the beach.
Brasserie Bar in Cenang - 2-4-1 cocktails 4pm-6pm - definitely do this it's so cheap 18 ringitt for 2 cocktails on the beach -lovely setting.
Baan Thai restaurant - really nice food right next to Brasserie.
Oasis bar on the beach - lovely beach setting again.
Orkid Ria in Cenang - very popular seafood restaurant

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thwaitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for selecting our resort considered to have a big modern room with a separate dressing area including the bathroom to your liking which is close to the reception and pool bar area and a small but nice swimming pool. The air conditioning that took a bit longer to cool has already been rectified and replaced.

Although the sand of our beach is nice, due to the natural conditions of the sea with low and high tide constantly changing within a day, the contour of our coastline varies dramatically from low to sloppy. Perception on the wideness of the beach will depend on the time one see’s and experience it at that moment.

While the breakfast was considered to be nice with a good selection of food and a separate egg station that met your expectations, your negative comment on food served at the beach bar has been seriously taken into consideration by the Chef who faces a real challenge to satisfy all types of taste buds of many nationals. We are constantly gauging our food quality to meet the satisfaction of all guests.

Our Spa which is always open is being serviced by masseurs on call for the time being while we are in the midst of selecting the best candidates for permanent employment. Regrettably our receptionist had erred in handling your request to have a massage in-house. We apologize for the mistake by our staff.

We trust your stay had been an enjoyable one and not marred by our short-comings and we certainly look forward to your return to a new experience in not too distant a future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Well located as its at the bottom end of a couple of miles is hotels, shops, bars and restaurants, while being a very peaceful place to relax.

The rooms are a little tired but are spacious and cool (once you get the aircon working!)

The staff are lovely and very helpful and the hotel restaurant is great for local or international cuisine.

The hotel manager is very friendly and is always present to engage the customers.

For spa treatments, I recommend leaving the complex and going to the cheaper but equally as good spa's on the road outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamahsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

It delights us that you find our resort charming while the location is peaceful and relaxing yet near to the shops, bars and restaurant outlets. You liked the spacious room and found the lovely staffs very helpful and a great restaurant that caters for local and international cuisines. We will be embarking on the third phase of our room renovation beginning next month in April.

I thank you for your kind words to me as a Resort General Manager whose duty is to ensure guest happinness from arrival till departure. To achieve this he has to be guest friendly so as to gauge guest expectations and satisfactions in conversations.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again here at our charming resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a room at the far end of the hotel next to the salt water pool. We arrived at the hotel just after 9am and didn't expect our room to be ready but it was! Our first impressions with the lobby was that it was a bit tired and dated but the staff were friendly,welcoming and helpful. Our room was large with plenty of space for clothes in the dressing room. The bed was comfy but the bathroom was old and needed work. The bath tub looked dirty when I went to have a shower so I cleaned it myself with face wipes which came up grey with dirt! Not great!
The view from our room was lovely straight out to sea.
Breakfast was good, there was plenty of choice, lots of fresh fruit, an omelette station, pancakes and pastry's and much more. We had lunch a couple of times which was really good and couldn't fault it. The fresh pineapple juice is addictive!! The bar area around the pool was ok, but wasn't particularly comfy to sit at.
Although the parts of the hotel could do with updating, it was still a relaxing place to be with the private beach.
We never had any problems with the service here, they were all very friendly and quick to help.
The hotels location was good as its out side the main touristy bit, but close enough to walk in 15 min walk or you can get a cheap taxi. So its quiet in the evenings. There are few places to eat just outside the hotel. In particular the Sun Cafe across the road was excellent!
We also like the fact that the hotel recycles and is making an effort to inform the guests to do the same.
The 3 star rating is for the property overall, but I would give the staff and service a 5.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayHighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

We acknowledge with great satisfaction the compliments bestowed on our service staffs not only for their friendliness and helpfulness in the welcoming upon your arrival but also by other service staffs throughout the Resort during your stay. You appreciation on our strategic location that is 15 minutes walk or cheaply by taxi to the main tourist vicinity is second to none.

You were satisfactory happy with the large room that has a good view of the sea and a comfortable bed with a spacious wardrobe. You seemed very relaxed in the overall concept of this Resort with the comment that the building needs a bit of updating are being attended to in our maintainence schedules. Corrective action on the chambermaid for being careless in not maintaining a clean bathtub has been addressed.

It is heartening to share your enjoyment on our good food especially during breakfast with vast choices of selections. Being a ‘Green Resort’ it is encouraging to get recognition support for our recycling efforts not only for ourselves but also for guest participations as well. One of our boastful highlights is in the bar stools that are made out of recycled bullock cart wheels. Cushions are being looked into for comfy.

All in all, our sincere thanks for selecting our property for your holidays that we believe were truly well spent and to know that you had a enjoyable time too in our Reort in particular and Langkawi in general. Meanwhile we welcome you to a warm return soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews