We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Camar Resort Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambong Ambong Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$211
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Desa Motel(Pantai Tengah)
US$23
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Resort(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sunset Beach Resort(Pantai Cenang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,498)
Filter reviews
1,498 results
Traveller rating
383
688
260
105
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
688
260
105
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden villaoutdoor showerprivate beachsalt watersaltwater poolbeach frontegg stationsea viewfamily roomdeluxe roombreakfast spreadwithin easy walking distancecenang beachsun loungersrestaurants and shopswater sportslovely beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
745 - 750 of 1,498 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I visited the resort with my family of two sons and my grand children. The resrt was ok nothing great .I have visited resorts world vide and also Goa but any ordinary resort in Goa are better than this resort. The swimming was too small .though they had two pools but it was definitely not to the standard. I wonder how it got an award
from trip advisor..
The food was very sub standard and hardly any choice for vegetarians.Luckily there are two restaurants just outside the resort 'Sagar' and 'Tulsi' which served
excellent food.
The worst part is that on the beach there is warning of jelly fish and advised not to swim .Hence there was no joy of swimming in the beach as there was always a fear of jelly fish which can cause you death if it bites you.
The staff was good and cooperative but they were not very conversant with English language.
I would not recommend Langkawi for a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frangipani_Langkawi, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Anil K,

We apologize for not meeting your standards during your stay at the hotel. We thank you for sharing your constructive comments regarding the resort and we shall use them as points to work on.

However, we are surprised to hear your comments regarding the swimming pools too small and about our staff having insufficient English language skills as it is the first time that we are hearing about it. The award from Trip advisor was under the Travellers Choice category for Malaysia’s top 25 Rest and Relaxation resorts in Malaysia. We are sorry that you feel otherwise.
As for the jellyfish warnings, it is our duty to inform our guests whenever there are high numbers of jellyfish in the sea. This is something all resorts in Langkawi face seasonally. We do not want our guest’s vacation to be marred by painful stings or hospitalization.

Regarding the vegetarian meals, we are currently in the progress of expanding our vegetarian menu as we are aware of how hard it is to be a vegetarian travelling on the go. We are thinking of adding options such as chickpea burger and Portobello mushroom burgers with spiced yoghurt sauce and caramelized onions and salad as additions to our vegetarian options.

We are sorry that Langkawi and our resort did not meet your expectations and we do thank you once again for which we will use to better ourselves so that we can provide a better holiday experience to our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were a little surprised at the amount of Arabic holiday makers staying in Langkawi, many chatted with us, quite a few seemed to be on their honeymoon. The Frangipani Langkawi Resort proved to be very popular, although meal times stretched the staff on wet mornings as we all seemed to hit the restaurant at the same time.
The rooms were quite clean and tidy; the whole place looked like it has had a facelift recently. This is perhaps one of the cheaper integrated resorts on the island, but was fair value for money.
The restaurant served excellent lunches & dinners - breakfast was a little ordinary!
The resort has a recycling program that is very noteworthy, we actually met the gardner who showed us around the "back end" of the property with so much pride! Absolutely fantastic. This then flows across to the restaurant as much of the produce comes from their own organic gardens.
The staff are all part of a program that rewards recycling and going those extra steps for their work roles. Again this is obvious in the general attitude of almost everyone you chat with; from the General manager down. A very different stay that was enjoyable; the beach front with the para gliders sailing past was a great place for an evening drink!

Room Tip: Possibly worth paying a little more for one of the beachfront villas; however we really didn't spend a lot of time in our room. The overall experience was fine in a standard room really!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were looking for somewhere to relax by the beach and have access to some nature experiences as well as different culture. This was perfect for us. The green commitment at the hotel was a plus for me too. I loved the frangipani and lemon grass in the gardens used for tea, organic ingredients; not to mention the clean, peaceful atmosphere, recycling, low energy use and onsite water treatment. We upgraded to the beach view villas which gave us a magnificent view over the water from our porch, especially at sunset. (The jet skis and para sailing were bearable in the bay.) Having our own private garden shower was special though simple. We found the staff very friendly and happy to provide for us. The restaurant, bar and surrounds were what I imagine an island resort to be, relaxed, breezy and some outdoors. The tours service provided friendly advice that suited our needs exactly. All this and a short walk to the restaurants, bars and markets of Pantai Chenang. We would go again!

Room Tip: The Beach view villas or even other rooms near the salt water pool
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This place is just like heaven. It is one of the best hideaways when you are stressed and tired.
The resort is an Eco-resort. The garden and sea view villas are set in a palm garden. there are several other threes and flowers. There are many birds, even the great horntails fly around in the gardens. The resort is quiet, has it's own clean sandy beach. The bungalows are clean, nicely furnished using local decorations. Each bungalow has it's own littke terrace and a littke garden around it, so You can have some privacy. There are rooms available too. The rooms at the swimming pool, have a great view to the sea. The place is for people interested in nature. It is good value for money, but not too posh. Here You will find interesting guests who seek relaxation, absolutely nice and chatty staff. The breakfast has different styles, continental an asian. If you love organic exotic fruits, vegetables and herbal teas, this is the place to be. The ressort is using fruit and veg from their own gardens. Guests can visit the gardens ad have a walk around. The going out area (chenang) is 10-15 min walk or short Taxi trip. All in all, this was our second time, but for sure not our last one.

Room Tip: If You are interested in a bungalow with a sea view, please be aware, that the resort offers two different categories: "sea facing villa" and "beach facing villa". We booked sea facing and thought we will be in the bungalow in the first line, closest to water. But sea facing means the villas in the second line. You can see the sea, but it is in the second line, placed between the bungalows of the first line. The closest to water is in first line and is "Beach facing villa"
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneymoonMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at the Frangipani for four nights in mid-October 2013. The area is a short taxi ride from the airport and the reception was quick and efficient. The bellboy showed me to my room and carried my luggage while explaining the services and amenities available at the resort. I had booked a garden view villa and the room/villa was just as promised; spacious interior, middle of the garden area and nice and quiet. The villa was clean and there was no sight of cockroaches or other bugs as reported by some other customers. The outdoor shower was a quirky addition. The restaurant was OK and the poolside/beach bar was very nice with friendly and attentive service. The resort is right at the beach and as it was off-season it was fairly quiet and finding a vacant spot with a beach chair and a parasol was easy. Weather didn't really co-operate during my stay but that's hardly the resort's fault though. The gym is quite basic with spartan equipment and no air-conditioning so running on the treadmill was a bit like running in the sauna.

Overall it was a very pleasant long weekend at the Frangipani resort; I would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews