We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Camar Resort Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tropical Resort(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambong Ambong Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desa Motel(Pantai Tengah)
US$24
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Resort(Pantai Cenang)
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,500)
Filter reviews
1,500 results
Traveller rating
384
688
261
105
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
688
261
105
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden villaoutdoor showerprivate beachsalt watersaltwater poolbeach frontegg stationsea viewfamily roomdeluxe roombreakfast spreadwithin easy walking distancecenang beachsun loungersrestaurants and shopswater sportslovely beach
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,500 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in the standard room for 2 nights. I observed double standards service to foreign tourists and local tourists. Restaurant staff were not friendly. Average facilities. Local tourists better stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_FA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frangipani_Langkawi, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Mr_FA2013,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us a year ago.

The standard room category was changed to deluxe since November 2012 so I am surprised that you are referring to the room you stayed in as a standard room.

Our top customers are from Malaysia and many of them are repeat guests. However, I would like to apologize if our staff came across as prejudiced towards local guests. I will bring this up to our Resident manager so that he can brief the staff of this incident.

Thank you for the constructive comments and we shall use them to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 days on beach villa. Resort is quite ,clean and big. Location is just walking distance from main market and cenag beach. 10 mins walk. There are lots of eating options just nearby as well.
The resort beach is superb with beautiful views. Breakfast deck is literally on beach. Feeling wonderful in morning. Two pools are clean. Small jacuzzi pools also nearby.
The only low point is the rooms look a bit bare and can do with some renovation. Although they were clean and outdoor shower is something unique. Hotel spa ,gym,shops are in state of run down.
Overall a great option for a peaceful getaway.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank NiharikaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frangipani_Langkawi, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Niharika Jain,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here with your family. Our resort is indeed popular with families and couples alike.

Thank you for your constructive comments and we will utilize them to continue to improve ourselves to provide the backdrop of a perfect holiday of our guests.

We do hope you come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

POSITIVE:
we stayed in beach villa that was right at the beach
peaceful beach best if you want to relax and spend quality time with your loved ones
friendly staff
hygienic room and bathroom
breakfast was good
drinks were average but having them right at beach was wonderful

NEGATIVE:
no free water for drinking in room service. need to buy water bottle
spa facility was not available the time we stayed at the resort
no wifi in the room and was available only near the reception
no much options for vegetarian in food.

Room Tip: try to book beach villa as it is right at the beach and will make your stay wonderful beach is peaceful
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imsharmanitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frangipani_Langkawi, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear imsharmanitin,

We are pleased to know that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments. The sea view of the beach villa is lovely indeed.

Regarding vegetarian options at the restaurant, we have a total of 17 vegetarian items on our menu. Also, kindly note that all sandwiches and wraps can be made vegetarian or vegan if you let our waiter’s know that you have special dietary needs.

Kindly be advised that we do provide two bottles of complimentary water daily. However, bottled water from the room service menu is chargeable.For massage therapy, please make a booking at the lobby reception area as opposed to the spa reception area.

For your kind information, complimentary wi-fi is also available at the restaurant and bar area.

Thank you for your constructive comments and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Just come back from a 2 week stay at this resort, not very impressed.
On arrival the reception was not very inviting, very dated and in need of a make over, reception staff was not very friendly, she clearly did not enjoy her job.
Bungalow was average, bathroom in bad need of attention, in fact it was that bad i wouldn't even use the bath, had to shower outside every day in the out door shower area.
Breakfast selection was very poor, eggs from the egg station were awful, paid a lot of money just to have stale cereals and toast!
This place is very over priced for what it is, i would not recommend a stay here, we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travelsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frangipani_Langkawi, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear luv2travelsurrey,

We apologize for not meeting your standards during your stay at the hotel. We thank you for sharing your constructive comments regarding the resort.

Even if most of our reviews complement our staff on their friendly and helpful demeanour, we do apologize if the front office staff in question did not make you feel welcome upon your check in. There is no excuse for bad service and I have had a meeting withal the reception team to make sure that it does not happen in the future.

We shall also pass your comments on the egg station and breakfast spread to the head chef.

We strive to improve our service and facilities in light of your feedback so that we can provide the backdrop of an enjoyable holiday for our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here in Beach view Villa for a week, the location, the grounds and staff were all good.
The bar at the pool was great, but looks a bit dated would be good if that gets a makeover maybe with some new chairs.etc The drinks were great as well we got served by Felix most times he was very good.
Whole time I was there I didn't know where the spa was, but prices were quite excessive compared to the main road spa's.
Food was good as well, buffet breakfast was delicious and fresh, well done on this.

More needs to be done re: Jellyfish sting prevention, some hotels have invested in stinger nets for their guests safety, also there needs to be a vinegar station by the beach as when I and others got stung only Lime's were offered by staff which felt largely ineffective.

Overall a very good stay and would definitely stay here again! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mileagehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews