We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In serious need of new management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charlie Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Right on Cenang's beach stretch, Charlie Motel occupies a piece of prime real estate.
What did management do with this golden ticket? Nothing.
The bungalows scattered on the lot have been nice but now need a serious clean up and updating.
The terrasse where palm trees grow is left uncared for. A small picket fence elthat has seen better days separate the motel from the beach.
At night the few benches are used by groups of people to drink until late at night. In the morning the leftover bottles of hard liquor and cans of beer are a sorry sight.
If you have kids you my ght want to check in somewhere else.
Under a new management the place could proper and shine. No doubt about that.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cool-les-baskets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

was traveled on 2011 with friends. have to admit the hotel condition is really bad but never expected too much. how much you paid how much you get. And we are all guys so don't mind about the hotel condition. but one thing most attracted was the beach. just walk out and reach the beach and there is a pavilion. every night we having beer at the pavilion there and feel free and relax. and there is the only point i can highlight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerrard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We were visiting the beach here and had been here the day before. Today they were burning trash right at the beach. We put out the fire with sand and water. There were a lot of evidence of previous burnings as well. The fire was right next to the chalets here and i wonder how people stand it. Someone actually said to us "it's for the mosquitos" when we were putting it out. The reviews are right about this place. It is pure horrible but they have tue property on a prime area of the beach.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MarilBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Unfortunately this hotel has not been very well taken care of. We had a sea view chalet which is very run down, paint peeling off walls, toilet didn't flush properly. The grounds are not looked after and alot of rubbish everywhere.
The bed was very hard and I am not sure what the pillows were made of, but they seemed like rock cakes. We had to buy insect spray as there were ants in the bed.
Although it says Charlie's Hotel and Restaurant, there is no restaurant here.
The only saving grace was the perfect location of the sea view chalet, with a nice view and nice sea breeze.
We definitely would not choose to stay here again.
Such a pity that a hotel with such a great location has been allowed to run down like this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loopy_lou_6530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed 8 nights with my wife and 3 kids. Wifi is only near the reception, but clean rooms, toilets okay, garden and beach is nice. They did repairs on three rooms while we were there, which is a good thing. Many budget travellers and locals come there and like it for the location and price. Hornbills, Ravens visit the garden and trees behind the large building in the back. Many other birds and some squirrel and some larger mammal that was not a monkey I think. Not a place perfect or spotless, but we liked it and stayed longer than planned.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank larsvilhelmsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is the first time our kindergarten teachers had a bad experience staying in the motel. At first check-in, there was nice view of beach with speed boat service and parachute. As we enter the room, not same like they said - no water heater, air-cond full of dust, smell badly, toilet flush broken and dirty, one of the door knob cannot be locked, television only have 1 channel and didn't provide kettle or small fridge. Some more the worst experience is one of the room there was a man peeping us while bathing. When we checked behind the toilet there was a chair. Furthermore, got one night there was a young snake inside the toilet. Just imagine how scary the place... This is the first and last we're there and no more through agent to go for a trip..

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cerdik_kindercare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

A family trip at a chalet in Langkawi turned disastrous when we checked into Charlie's Motel at Pantai Tengah. We were desperate for a short getaway and was excited to read that the rate at this motel was only RM91 per nite for a family room. We booked via agoda.com,my. However, the interior of the room, as someone wrote a comment on Trip Advisor as "EERY", that is particular true. Though we read the bad reviews of this motel via agoda.com.my, we did not expect the condition of the interior was THAT "BAD"....And so we booked 2 nights, BUT left on the 2nd night. Our room was No. 17. Will try and post some pictures (pictures speak a 1000 words) than trying to type out the EERIENESS in the stretch of rooms on this side of the chalet. Not too sure how the other rooms were. Or were we just unlucky??? Lights on ceiling doesnt have a cover/furniture & furnishings were run down/toilet is very eery - sink on tap has to be screwed at the top if u want to use the tap, drain in shower no cover, toilet flush tank broken (dangerous for kids), overall toilet condition - 0/10 a.k.a. VERY DIRTY!!!! Will DEFINITELY NOT recommend this motel to anyone if plan to stay in a NICE & CLEAN motel. The view of the sunset and beach was lovely though. NOTE : No fridge & kettle in our room as shown in the picture at agoda.com,my Thank God the bedsheets were clean. For internet, you have got to be really close to the reception area to be able to get connection. We are not asking for a 5-star treatment with the low rate that we paid but at least, the motel should have the descency to ensure that the room n toilet is clean. Once bitten twice shy...next time we'll pay a bit more and stay in other motels.

Room Tip: Probably the beach front rooms are cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AidaLangkawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
1.9 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
437 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
1.2 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#30 of 104 in Langkawi
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pondok Muara Chalet
Pondok Muara Chalet
#14 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
663 reviews
4.6 mi away
Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie Motel & Restaurant

Address: Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range: £17 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Charlie Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlie Motel And Restaurant
Charlie Motel & Restaurant Hotel Langkawi
Charlie Motel & Restaurant Langkawi/Pantai Tengah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing