We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful & Friendly”
Review of Hostal Mayito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mayito
Ranked #4 of 25 Playa Larga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful & Friendly”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I agree with everything said about Hostal Mayito and it fully deserves its excellent rating. Mayito and his family are delightful and welcoming. As they were full, we stayed in a neighbours (unused) house which Mayito manages and ate at his house. Food was excellent. I was there to fish and had a very average guide so Mayito too me next time, he would fix the guide and if necessary his son, Alejandro, a keen fisherman, would take me

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    36
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
154
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The food is excellent, the room was clean and spacious and the host and his family pay attention to their guests. Bikes were available for local touring and Mayito takes any who want to enjoy snorkeling in the pristine waters of the Bay of Pigs.
Top marks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had previously thought of using a Casa Particular instead of hotel for my annual fishing trip with pals, but as a couple of the guys were not sure about the chances of picking up food bugs, I proceeded to go with the local hotel. When I found that there was not enough space there for my whole group I was secretly quite pleased. Then we met Mayito, Norayda and Alejandro, and their fantastic place. It is difficult to know quite where to begin!
The food! What food! Cuban cuisine has generally been average, even in the better places we have eaten, but here at Casa Mayito it was superb! The breakfasts were amazing, more than enough for the group of fishermen who would be out in the sun all day, standing in the skiffs awaiting bonefish to cast at! There was so much choice - and variety. Evening meals were all that you could ask for! Several of the guys had fresh lobster most nights, and the fresh fish from the fishermen in the harbour was always the best!
The rooms were spotlessly clean...that is quite something to achieve with the way the group were always dashing about sorting out fishing gear, getting ready for a few beers and so on! Our clothes were taken away and washed and ironed (we didn't have a clue that this was a service that was offered!!!, and it was only about the third or fourth day that we realised it was happening!).
There was nothing too much for the family to consider doing for us! One of my group was badly bitten by the mosquitos and his eyes became severely swollen, so Norayda sorted out some cream to help him...no money was asked for for this service. Seeing as how difficult medicines are to come by in Cuba (according to most of our fishing guides) we were impressed.
My one real concern is that I want to return here next year on my trip, but the more reports I read, the more busy I guess the place will be! I had better make a booking very soon!
One of the group had a birthday during our stay. A wonderful cake was produced and we were entertained by a couple of local musicians. Wonderful evening!
The casa is ideally placed for fishing at Las Salinas or the new place recently opened - San Lazaro. The view out to sea as the sun rises in the morning is something to behold.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinCottis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We arrived at this casa and were lucky enough there was still availability as this place is highly popular and for a reason. The owners of the casa are very friendly and will help you with everything to make your stay in the casa and playa larga a great experience. The rooms are clean (cleaned every day), air conditioned, beds are comfortable, shower perfect (with warm water), a safety deposit box and above all excellent food for breakfast, lunch and diner. We can highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: A fourth room was being created at the time we stayed at this place and a sneak preview revealed thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caspar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My experience in this casa particular was excellent! I knew Mayito, Norayda and their son Alejandro... they're very kind and gentle and polite and can bring you to discover all the Cuba qualities: beauty, food, sports (diving, snorkeling, etc). The rooms, at the 1st floor, are everyday cleaned and have security box, bar, air conditioned and... a good bed. Between the 6:30pm and 8:00pm about take care of the mosqitos; close the windows! All Playa Larga is a very beautiful and quite area and you can relax to spend some time in sun bath on the beach, snorkeling, diving, bike riding, kite surfing or simply joining the food and drink, expecially the fantastic mojito that Mayito can do for you!
So please, if you go to Cuba, spend some days in this house!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It included an excursion to see the Bay of Pigs museum and other experiences and was in a good setting for beach walks and local birdwatching. We were offered and gladly accepted evening meals. The food was excellent. we are vegetarians and they coped with this imaginatively. The dishes were original, tasty and very satisfying.

Room Tip: Room at the front of house overlooking the road is good and has its own balcony/eating area. You ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viersen, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Playa Larga is a cozy place to stay and Hostal Mayito is definetely the best Casa in Kuba. It is close to Zapata N.P. which is worth to visit. The rooms are very nice, the bed is good, the food is great and with a huge variety each evening. They have their own vegetables and herbs in the garden which makes the difference. The Pina Colada was the best on our whole trip. We did a snorkel trip with Mayito which was marvelous. We enjoyed every minute at Mayitos Casa that we decided to come back in June this year. Thanks to Mayito and his wife for the fantastic time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MundM1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Larga
60.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
62.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#1 of 11 in Playa Larga
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Frank
Casa Frank
#6 of 25 in Playa Larga
226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa La Terraza de Mily
Casa La Terraza de Mily
#5 of 25 in Playa Larga
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal El Legendario
Hostal El Legendario
#3 of 11 in Playa Larga
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mayito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mayito

Property: Hostal Mayito
Address: Playa Larga; Caleton | Ciénaga de Zapata, Playa Larga 0000, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Playa Larga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Larga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Mayito is a modern style house located very close to the beach, in Playa Larga: one of the most beautiful places in the south of Cuba.The house rents two rooms for travelers, in the second floor with independent entrance and terrace with a lovely sea view. Both rooms have a private bathroom with cold and hot water, TV, fridge, air conditioning, fan and a double bed. Another bed can be added if needed. The owners of the house offer delicious meals at any time, laundry service, dance lessons, Internet access and all the information necessary about different places to visit in the Zapata Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Mayito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing