We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sylvia is gone” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvia's Nicholas New Clean Plates - CLOSED

Sylvia's Nicholas New Clean Plates
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sylvia is gone”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We read the reviews for Sylvia's and made a reservation, expecting incredible island cooking. What we didn't expect was that Sylvia retired and her restaurant closed months ago, There had been no update in the TripAdvisor listings and Yelp is as usual old information. The lady who took the reservation did not indicate this fact, instead offering to stay and make us chicken, swordfish, conch and lobster dinners.

The kitchen is now part of JuJu's Sputnik Bar, run by a very nice lady Juliette doing the cooking. Our order for chicken, swordfish, conch and lobster dinners became four types of roti, which is an island-style burrito, not at all what we expected. The lobster and chicken roti were the best of the four. The conch roti was very chewy (not pounded out well) and the salt codfish (not the expected swordfish) was extremely salty; neither was edible. JuJu is a nice woman...food more like lunch burrito.. very disappointed..

We had broken the first rule of dining - when no one is dining, go elsewhere. Aqua Bistro had live music, was packed and had fresh snapper, wahoo and tuna.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catticus_rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Caribbean - Family style food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

While on vacation in Coral Bay, St. John's Virgin Islands, my wife and I ate at Sylvia's Clean Plates after reading Trip Advisor reviews. The staff was friendly and inviting. My wife had the jerk grouper and I had the jerk shrimp and both were delicious, spicy, and authentic (not like Bahama Breeze). The sides were unique and tasty. We both had the peanut rice dish and it was full of taste and texture. I had the spinach and okra and it was excellent and well seasoned. My wife had the sweet potato stuffing it was good too. The atmosphere was what you would expect from a local island establishment. It was clean and very basic - no frills - and next door to the Donkey Diner ( haven't tried the Diner yet). My only complaint was the peanut side dish was not hot enough. If you want to try some real Caribbean food this is your place.

Helpful?
5 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

my teenagers said, 'this was the best meal i've had on st. john's so far!" excellent flavors, excellent service. you might miss it, b/c there is not a very big sign and the one main sign says, "sputnick" (which is the bar with the restaurant.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Island food, prepared & served by great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I can't say enough good things about Sylvia's, everything was great! They took us in (a large party) on short notice and were so accomodating.

I know a good bit about Jamaican / West Indian food because of my Husband's addiction to it and I have grown to crave it as well. Let me tell you, this young lady has skill and talent and it really shows in her cooking.

Miss Juju, who is very hospitable and proficient does a wonderful job managing the front of the house and makes great drinks from the Bar as well.

Give them a try for a authentic and delicious Island experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ShopN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Da Real Ting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had a party of 10 and wanted some real island food, so glad we tried Sylvia's. I knew we were going to be running later in the evening from beach hopping / snorkeling all day with 4 kids so I called ahead. Miss Juju ( who runs the Bar and is Hostess at night) answered and was so nice and accommodating.

We were greeted at the door and shown the the specials of the day. Miss Juju quickly answered any questions and got our drink orders. Let me tell you, that nice Lady makes a mean Rum drink - she does not skimp. We tried a bit of everything between all of us, everything was cooked to order and it was ALL excellent. We had kids eating Spinach and Okra!

I had the chance to spend almost a month in Jamaica after Hurricane Gilbert as a teenager doing volunteer relief work and got to really know the food and heart of the people of that island. When I tasted the Jerk Grouper I ordered it almost brought a tear to my eye, so long since I had tasted those wonderful flavors put together with such skill and love. I told Sylvia she comes from a beautiful place and her pride and passion really show in her food.

I tasted several entrees inc. Brown Stew Pork and many sides. You honestly can't go wrong, even the slaw was the best I ever had. Please do yourself a favor if you like authentic Jamaican - West Indian food and order a little bit of every thing. When I get back to St. John, I will be leaving more clean plates at Sylvia's restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank OldSchoolDropout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sylvia's Nicholas New Clean Plates also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing