We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwern Borter Country Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Rowen B&B and Inns
Walton on Thames, UK
2 reviews
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I where originally looking for a B&B, however as they were full they offered us "The Grooms" cottage for a couple of days. A lovely stay, quiet location, beautiful surroundings and our hosts Gary and Jo did everything possible to make our stay more enjoyable. Everything was clean and tidy and in working order. Flat screen TV and DVD with DVD's available to borrow up at the main house. Plenty to do in the surrounding area and lots of information provided in the cottage of local restaurants, pubs and attractions. Bikes, sauna and Gym all available. Also managed a horse trek which was excellent. Gary checking I was doing everything right (I was a little out of practice) and still managed to get some good cantering across the local countryside. A wonderful break and I hope to revisit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_WaltononThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    28
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Cottage was fine. Pretty location. Tranquil break. The problem is this. It worked out at £100/night, no Wi-Fi, limited TV channels, no phone signal, no phones, extensive 'dont do this or we will charge you' list, nothing within walking distance.

Given that you have to travel everywhere by car, and the cost, you may as well be in premier inn in nearby town, with facilities on hand and ability to park car any leave it.

Shame really. But too many downs for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
In September the cost for 4 people was £100 per night just £25 per person per night for a 2 night stay. Staying the week is £70 per night just £17 per person per night. We do have WiFi but need the wireless key which the customer did not ask for. If you prefer a budget premier in the middle of a town to the peace and tranquility of the countryside we are probably the wrong destination for you. But thanks for the review and the 4 star rateing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is now the third time I have stayed at the Cottages (In Ash cottage each time) and I am impressed at the accommodation. Providing you are aware of the nuances, you will be fine during your stay. I am form the North Wales area and this has now become my go to hotel when coming back to the coast. It is good value as self-accommodation means we are able to feed ourselves during our stay as opposed to having to eat out everyday.

The cottages can be cold as they are just old brick structures, so it should be noted that you should bring blankets and extra jumpers. The heating is very good when switched on, but this cannot be done individually for each cottage, although they do have a fan heater "fire".

The amenities are good, if a little dated. There are bikes, BBQ's, a small play area, gym and games room on site. We tend not to stay on site a great deal, preferring to venture out into Conwy, Llandudno and Colwyn Bay. A short drive will get you to wonderful Conwy.

I would recommend this place to families wishing to avoid a hotel stay. The flexibility having two bedrooms and a separate living/cooking space provides is well worth the cost.

Room Tip: Bring a jumper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr8kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My bf & I booked The 'Granary' self catering apparment for a 3 night stay. On arrival the main house (B&B) is very picturesque & the appartments are converted out-house style buildings set in a large farm style yard. From the outside everything looked promising, internally though it was a different matter. I can only speak for the 'Granary' building, but as soon as we let ourselves in we were greeted by a terrible musty, damp smell. The building has a spiral cast iron staircase leading to the mezzanine level sleeping area, this felt very unsecure & I am not the heaviest person at 9 & a half stones!
There was a small kitchen with cooker & sink area, this would have been fine had the 4 kitchen units not smelt really strongly of damp! There were plenty of dishes to use but everything that came out of the cupboards had to be washed prior to use as the smell from the cupboards clung to the dishes! On top of this the tea towel provided to dry dishes on was grubby :-( The living area sofa smelt very strongly of the same damp, musty odour & we could find no controls for the central heating for the 1 radiator in the kitchen. During our 3 night stay I can honestly say it was very chilly indoors, not what i expect from a holiday rental property!
The upstair sleeping space shared the same dank, musty smell as the rest of the ares as it is all open plan, the only saving grace was the white linen for the bed is independently laundered so it smelt fine.
Finally onto the bathroom which for my needs was fine. Although visually the tiling & skirting boards were poorly finished.
This property is set in a large yard & we had a look at the other facilities, horse riding, sauna, gym, games room, outdoor kids play area & laundry. I can imagine in it's day this would have been a lovely place, but sadly it is now run down & we did not encounter 1 aspect of the property that didn't share that awful damp, dank, musty smell. i appreciate out buildings & older style buildings are hard to heat but this place has such potential! Air out the properties before rental, heat them adequately to prevent that smell & take the trouble to clean them (the table place mats were grimy & there were loads of cobwebs from the kitchen & bathroom beams!). Also i have stayed in many self catered rental properties & it is customary to have perhaps some cooking oils or basic non perishable store cupboard ingredients such as spices etc, there was nothing like this provided.
We did not speak up at the time, as the confrontation would have ruined our holiday, but hope that for the sake of other guests you will soon improve your facilities.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank jills047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
I consider this review to be suspicious, we did not have a 3 day booking in August. Bearing in mind this cottage was booked solid back to back in August, doors windows being opened and closed as you do at home. Not aired, cold, damp, musty, no heating in the hotest month of the year? and no one said anything. The adjoining cottage and exact duplicate Stables gave us a terrific review in August
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have had a wonderful week in the Stables cottage and it was very hard to adjust to coming home! The area is just lovely and although we came without a car (which the taxi driver who drove us from Llandudno Junction station to Gwern Borter clearly thought was totally mad) we had no problem getting about. The number 19 bus served us wonderfully well both towards Llandudno and Betwsycoed. We spent two days walking in the woods and hills around Gwern Borter, and on other days went to the RSPB at Conwy Bay, to Betswycoed, the Great Orme in Llandudno and around Conwy Castle and walls. We visited the Water Gardens twice and had one meal at the pub in Rowen, but otherwise enjoyed self catering as we usually do. Two trips to Asda at Llandudno Junction were quite sufficient for two of us. We loved the Sauna (a mere £2 for a 'long' sauna), made use of the hire bikes and the laundry (why is using a washing machine on holiday far more exciting than using one at home!?), and enjoyed watching the ducks, chickens, goats and rabbits being fed. We borrowed DVDs four times from the free library and watched four films we'd otherwise perhaps never have encountered. We fell in love with Alfie the adorable Staffy who has a lovely gentle life in the grounds of the manor which clearly meets his special emotional needs!The Stables is quite small, but perfectly adequate for a couple, as long as you are okay with coming down winding stairs at night if you need the loo. Just go slowly and don't trip up your nighty! The owners were very helpful to us. We would really love to go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had gwern borter booked for us as a wedding present and it was absolutley brilliant! Great value for money, friendly staff, facilities were brilliant, and we may have fell in love with the resident staffy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadehousden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We could not fault our srtay of 4 nights and our American friend was in " raptures" with his stay. The location is initially a little awkward to find but this added to the magic when we did find it, it is the perfect rural retreat but within reach there is plenty to see and do.

The rooms are well furnished complimenting the property and in keeping with surroundings and the period of the building. Bedrooms do vary in size but this does not deter from the comfort and ambience of the rooms.

The owners go out of their way to be good hosts and make you feel you are staying in their home as friends. Breakfast is excellant with a good choice covering all diets and together with Gary and his partners local knowledge of the area and recommendations for dining out made this a relaxing and memorable break.

A big thank you for making us feel so welcome and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
0.6 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
3.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn Isa Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coed Mawr Hall Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
499 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sychnant Pass Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwern Borter Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwern Borter Country Manor

Property: Gwern Borter Country Manor
Address: Gwern Borter Manor Barker's Lane | Rowen, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foothills of the Snowdonia mountains in the beautiful Conwy Valley, close to the sea, there is a special place well known for it's peace and tranquillity. A place to relax and unwind or enjoy the many wonderful facilities that are found within the grounds and in the Snowdonia area. Gwern Borter Manor is a 4 star Country Manor House offering B&B the accommodation comprises of 3 double bedrooms including a Victorian 4 Poster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gwern Borter Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwern Borter Country Manor Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing