We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went in the Cottages - not a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwern Borter Country Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Rowen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2013

It was not great. The Cottages were OK, if a little outdated, but the general feel of the place was not greatly welcoming. There are signs saying things like dont do this or a charge will occur. The kids bikes are dangerous, as they have no brakes that work, and the playground is far from 'safe' - it is on CONCRETE! And when I went on the play park, which was wooden, and looked old, when I jumped to avoid a ball, it snapped as I landed. (I am a average 13 year old.) The Showers dont woork properly, and the heating is so minimal that it was really cold, and my Grandma really suffered. Will not visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkidmoreRH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

This review is written by a 13 year old child and much is simply just untrue. There are no signs saying extra charges for anything, some of the bikes provided FREE to the children are not in the best condition but for use in house only. None of the bikes have brakes ???? unbelievable. All cottages have baths with shower heads off the mixer taps which are a bit harder to calibrate that dedicated showers, but are quite efficient. Central heating is on timed morning and evening and all have independent heating controlled by the guest. About time trip advisor put an age limit on reviewers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

my husband and i have just returned from a four night new year break we had booked the granery but on arrival the owner had upgraded us to the stables which was bigger at no extra cost which was a really nice gesture. W e have stayed in the manor house before but thought we would try self catering ,the cottages are set in beautiful grounds and if your looking for a restful peace and quite break this is just the place !
Cottages are very clean , comfortable and warm (if a little dated though this did not affect our stay at all ) everything we needed was provided,
we will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffandjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

my partner and i stayed here for the nite,the owners were very nice showed us the property took time in telling us the history of the manor,beautiful manor very clean,very nice rooms the views were great,cosy dining room,excellent food,would definately book again,if ur lookin for some were to chill out highly recommended would be bookin again....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thanks for your comments hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The Manor is well furnished to a high degree and I imagine in summer could be a nice place to stay. All rooms were cold (heating only seemed to have been switched on when we arrived) and took two days to air through. On arrival we were told that the lounge did not have any heating as "they did not wish to waste money if people did not use it" (who would if it was cold!) People in charge showed total disinterest with their guests and only interest was shown when it came to paying.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Please go to our site and see the breakfast menu clearly offering a good choice of cereals. The central heating was on in the lounge and the guest was informed that if they wished to suppliment this there was a powerfull living fire in the hearth. This review has been removed from other sites as untrue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I where originally looking for a B&B, however as they were full they offered us "The Grooms" cottage for a couple of days. A lovely stay, quiet location, beautiful surroundings and our hosts Gary and Jo did everything possible to make our stay more enjoyable. Everything was clean and tidy and in working order. Flat screen TV and DVD with DVD's available to borrow up at the main house. Plenty to do in the surrounding area and lots of information provided in the cottage of local restaurants, pubs and attractions. Bikes, sauna and Gym all available. Also managed a horse trek which was excellent. Gary checking I was doing everything right (I was a little out of practice) and still managed to get some good cantering across the local countryside. A wonderful break and I hope to revisit again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_WaltononThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Cottage was fine. Pretty location. Tranquil break. The problem is this. It worked out at £100/night, no Wi-Fi, limited TV channels, no phone signal, no phones, extensive 'dont do this or we will charge you' list, nothing within walking distance.

Given that you have to travel everywhere by car, and the cost, you may as well be in premier inn in nearby town, with facilities on hand and ability to park car any leave it.

Shame really. But too many downs for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

In September the cost for 4 people was £100 per night just £25 per person per night for a 2 night stay. Staying the week is £70 per night just £17 per person per night. We do have WiFi but need the wireless key which the customer did not ask for. If you prefer a budget premier in the middle of a town to the peace and tranquility of the countryside we are probably the wrong destination for you. But thanks for the review and the 4 star rateing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is now the third time I have stayed at the Cottages (In Ash cottage each time) and I am impressed at the accommodation. Providing you are aware of the nuances, you will be fine during your stay. I am form the North Wales area and this has now become my go to hotel when coming back to the coast. It is good value as self-accommodation means we are able to feed ourselves during our stay as opposed to having to eat out everyday.

The cottages can be cold as they are just old brick structures, so it should be noted that you should bring blankets and extra jumpers. The heating is very good when switched on, but this cannot be done individually for each cottage, although they do have a fan heater "fire".

The amenities are good, if a little dated. There are bikes, BBQ's, a small play area, gym and games room on site. We tend not to stay on site a great deal, preferring to venture out into Conwy, Llandudno and Colwyn Bay. A short drive will get you to wonderful Conwy.

I would recommend this place to families wishing to avoid a hotel stay. The flexibility having two bedrooms and a separate living/cooking space provides is well worth the cost.

Room Tip: Bring a jumper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr8kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
3.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn Isa Country House
0.6 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coed Mawr Hall Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
507 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sychnant Pass Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwern Borter Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwern Borter Country Manor

Address: Gwern Borter Manor Barker's Lane | Rowen, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foothills of the Snowdonia mountains in the beautiful Conwy Valley, close to the sea, there is a special place well known for it's peace and tranquillity. A place to relax and unwind or enjoy the many wonderful facilities that are found within the grounds and in the Snowdonia area. Gwern Borter Manor is a 4 star Country Manor House offering B&B the accommodation comprises of 3 double bedrooms including a Victorian 4 Poster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Gwern Borter Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwern Borter Country Manor Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing