We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwern Borter Country Manor
Ranked #3 of 5 Rowen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just got back from a trip to North Wales and stayed at the magical Gwern Borter Manor. Excellent, varied and diverse furnishings reflecting the "Country Manor" theme/ambience. Slept in a bed fit for a king (or a nobleman perhaps). We would definitely recommend this as a special place to stay wonderfully managed/kept - the suit of armour in the breakfast room was a fantastic enhancement to the eating experience, food was all beautifully prepared and presented. All set in wonderful grounds with magical views of the Welsh country garden.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MatH178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very happy with our stay here, in a nice quiet spot, the owner is very nice, showed us around. Lovely room, beautiful furniture, four poster bed lovely and comfy. Good breakfast, choose what you want, set us up nicely for the day. Cannot fault anything, peaceful and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tabithaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed on 14th June 2014 - I did check previous reviews after booking our stay and was a little concerned by some of them. I am happy to say that our experience was all positive and very enjoyable. We booked the suite and it was lovely - some stupid earlier remarks about mismatched furniture, the suite lounge area was actually big enough to accommodate 6 adults if you are in a party - there is a green leather chesterfield settee and chair and green wicker furniture, large television/dvd player & Backgammon set. Glasses are located under the sink (clearly previous visitors couldn't be bother to look). Great varied hot breakfast, served timely and well presented.The owner was very pleasant and engaging - really fail to understand previous observations. Gardens are spectacular, with sitting for guests on the lawn. We will return.

Room Tip: Would recommend you get a price from laterooms and phone the owner direct - he might be willing to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I did check previous reviews after booking our stay and was a little concerned by some of them. I am happy to say that our experience was all positive and very enjoyable. We booked the suite and it was lovely - some stupid earlier remarks about mismatched furniture, the lounge area was actually big enough to accommodate 6 adults if you are in a party - there is a green leather chesterfield settee and chair and green wicker furniture. Glasses are located under the sink (clearly previous visitors couldn't be bother to look). The owner was very pleasant and engaging - really fail to understand previous observations. Gardens are spectacular, with sitting for guests on the lawn.
We will return.

Room Tip: Would recommend you get a price from laterooms and phone the owner direct - he might be willing to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I and Michelle would just like to thank Gary and his staff for a superb weekend. The manor, room, hospitality and grounds were exceptional, together with the superb advice for walking routes to the hills and Conwy. After a "Manor House Special" breakfast we enjoyed the gardens and "farm" - I haven't seen such an array and diversity of such friendly animals and pets. The manor has charm, atmosphere and a spectrum of historic and modern artefacts. I could probably say a lot more - anyway, thanks Gary and we look forward to future visits, Mike and Michelle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend and wished we had stayed at home . Did not feel very welcome . Not an ensuite bathroom ! Part of the bedroom cut off for a toilet and shower cubicle which had a bad odour of urine as it is carpeted. Moldy smell in the room and also in the wardrobe which we did not put our clothes in. I do have photos to show stains on the curtains and grotty furniture hotel inspector could have a field day here. Out of date milk was put to one side only to be put back on the tea tray. Breakfast cheap bread / cereals penny pinching is right . The owner not welcoming couldn't be bothered attitude. Sorry we had to hand over our hard earned cash for staying in a hovel. So glad to be home needs a good clean and a new owner. Must be mad staying second night.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

I am afraid what one appreciative customer sees as full of Victorian charm another sees as old furniture that needs bringing into the 21st century. In this case the customers comments on the grotty furniture the hotel inspector would have a field day with is a perfectly restored Victorian satinwood bedroom suite. (please go onsite and have a look at the furniture in the photos for the triple room) This response was stimulated because the guest was politely ask not to hang wet towels over the french polished wardrobe. The room has an en-suite shower not a bathroom as advertised. Large selection of cereals which are served to you at the table, no plastic butter or jam sachets or paper napkins, please see other comments on our breakfast. Sorry about 2 milks out of the 9 provided being out of date, chambermaid putting fresh on top has been brought to her attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Gwern Borter Manor is set in beautiful surroundings. We arrived 3 hours earlier than we stated we would arrive, and give Gary his due he dropped his outing with his niece to come and let us in. We stayed in the suite in the Manor house and paid £85 instead of £140 for the 1 night. We were shown the dining room and the suite but weren't told about the sauna and gym and there was no information about it in the folder. Glad we only paid £85 for the room. The lounge didn't have a relaxed feel to and appeared to be furnished with bits and bobs taken from here and there so didn't use it. The bedroom was cold as no heating was on. Gary told us it was on a timer, around 4pm, but by 8pm it was not on. I noticed the electric radiator was turned off on it's display panel so I turned it on. A little label over the radiator says not to adjust the radiator controls, but if I hadn't, the radiator would have stayed off. I did turn it back off before leaving. We were told that wine was for sale in the dining room and glasses were available. We brought our own wine and so went down to get 2 glasses but a sign said they were for use only if you bought their wine and there was a £2 corkage charge, so we used the teacups. Every other b&b we stayed in suppled glasses if you wanted, and none as expensive as this one, even at £85. The bed was clean and very comfortable but the quilt was very thin and no spare blankets to throw over. Also the towels in the bathroom were quite harsh and the shower temperature fluctuates if someone else is using water. Wouldn't normally complain about these things but for their pricing we expected a higher standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

A customer who left this morning told me about this review and how they nearly did not book because of it. They were astounded how anyone could not be delighted and hopefully will be putting on a review shortly. Incidentally they paid more than this customer and thought it great value. The showers has no connection with the water supply from the rest of the house it is a top of the range Redring dedicated shower. The quilts are the latest microfiber which are not as bulky but more efficient regarding warmth. The lounge suite is leather Chesterfield furniture with wicker games table, draughts/chess set, revolving bookcase, 42" TV with sky and DVD player, fantastic Victorian fireplace with a 3 kw living fire and great views. The normal cost this time of year is £115 not £140 but this customer came through an agent. The thermo dynamic radiators only activate if the temperature drops below 20 degrees which is pretty warm. This lounge is delightful please look on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rowen hotels
0.2 mi away
Glyn Isa Country House
0.6 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
0.7 mi away
Coed Mawr Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
YHA Rowen
YHA Rowen
#2 of 2 in Rowen
22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gwern Borter Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwern Borter Country Manor

Address: Gwern Borter Manor Barker's Lane | Rowen, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range: £79 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foothills of the Snowdonia mountains in the beautiful Conwy Valley, close to the sea, there is a special place well known for it's peace and tranquillity. A place to relax and unwind or enjoy the many wonderful facilities that are found within the grounds and in the Snowdonia area. Gwern Borter Manor is a 4 star Country Manor House offering B&B the accommodation comprises of 3 double bedrooms including a Victorian 4 Poster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Gwern Borter Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwern Borter Country Manor Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing