We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conwy Water Gardens

Conwy Water Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Rowen
Attraction details
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We decided to give it a try, mainly as it was my wife's birthday and the 'Dutch pancakes' looked good. Nice little nature walk and if you take your time and really look, there is lots to see. dragon flies, fish in the lakes, lots of birds. You also have the 'captive' animals and the Lewis pheasant took a dislike to my wife!., attacking the fence every time she got near. The fishing lakes looked fairly busy. The Dutch pancakes are the main draw and tasted so good. It does get busy though. A delightful way to spend a couple of hours and there is a small kids playground as well. They can also feed the ducks on the various ponds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gramps49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    41
    25
    10
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant couple of hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice way to spend a couple of hours there is no charge but we happily left a donation as the children enjoyed it

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aberdaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pleasant wander around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This venue is free to go around. There is a large fishing lake which was very popular when we were there and a nature walk which was very pleasant as it was a nice sunny day when we went. There are not a lot of wildlife but what do you expect for a free day out. We saw the Capybara but the otters were away, breeding apparently! There were chickens and geese wandering about and pheasants.There is also a Dutch Pancake House (again very popular) and a shop selling fish and their supplies and reptiles.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beagle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you are staying near Conwy visit the Water Gardens about 4 miles outside Conwy on the road to Rowen. There is a pancake restaurant as well as a walk around the gardens. Travel on to Rowen and stop at the Ty Gwyn Pub, a wonderful old pub with lots of atmosphere. The food is very good and reasonable. Also walk up the hill through the village, a delight!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kindom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We visited here as a couple last week. We wanted to make the most of the lovely weather and drive some where nice for a picnic, as we only live 30 minutes down the road.
We had looked up the website and browsed through leaflets, and were looking forward to visiting.
When we arrived we had a walk around the nature reserve, which was ok not brilliant, only a couple of animals/wildlife.
I know its free entrance, and what were we expecting....what is advertised!!
We were looking forward to the aquarium and the reptile house, well that was a disappointment as well, yes the fish were nice in their tanks but for the reptile house, it looked and felt more like a store cupboard, with only 2 reptiles in there.
We were shocked to find out that there wasn't a picnic area you could sit in, yes there were outside tables, but had to buy their food and drink!
We left and drove to Conwy Castle and had our picnic by the water, which was beautiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank claire j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conwy Water Gardens also viewed

Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Conwy Water Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing